50th Anniversary Skipper on Barbie Collector

Hip hip hooray!  It’s 2014!  You know what that means?  It means Skipper is turning the big 5-0 this year!  Can you believe it?  In honor of Skipper turning 50, Mattel sneakily placed a 50th anniversary Skipper on their website.  (Big thanks to YouTuber Tina for the heads up!)

50th Anniversary Skipper

50th Anniversary Skipper

Skipper is currently out of stock on Barbie Collector, but retails for $39.95.  She uses a ‘New Repro Skipper’ headmold, which is very well done!  Skipper is dressed in her birthday best, a reproduction outfit from 1965, aptly named ‘Happy Birthday’.  If you feel like you’re having de ja vu, you aren’t!  We saw this fashion on the 30th anniversary porcelain doll, too.

Accessories

Accessories

Besides the outfit, this doll comes with a number of reproduction accessories, including an adorable birthday cake!

Skipper

Skipper

The fact that Mattel released this reproduction Skipper right out of the gate makes me very happy!  I have to admit, though, that I’m a little disappointed by the fact that this Skipper is in the Happy Birthday outfit. I guess it makes sense, but we’ve already seen this on an anniversary doll.  That being said, I love her cute little face!  I’m hoping we see more Skipper related merchandise as 2014 progresses!

What do you think of this 50th Anniversary Skipper? Is this enough?  Is it too similar to past releases?  Share your thoughts below!

January 15, 2014. Tags: , . Category: Articles and Doll Histories, Category: Uncategorized.

14 Comments

  1. April replied:

    I love her. I will have to add her to my wish list. I hope they release a bunch of Skipper stuff this year.

  2. Taswegian1957 replied:

    Oh, she is nice. I hope there will be some available here in Australia. That was certainly a very low key release by Mattel standards.

  3. Taswegian1957 replied:

    Reblogged this on Dolls, Dolls, Dolls and commented:
    Happy Birthday Skipper. Let’s hope we see more of you this year.

  4. betty replied:

    I really like her! I think I need this doll, do you know if it will be available in stores? I’m in Canada, so can’t order from the site without incurring huge shipping charges (that’s if they even ship international)

    • kewpie83 replied:

      It doesn’t say web exclusive, so there is a chance! I rarely see the collector Barbie’s at my stores, though. I’m thinking the best way to get this Skipper is online through other Barbie retailers or eBay.

  5. Christina Drumm Such replied:

    Hey, you mentioned me!!!;o) heheehe how cool!!! Well I am so happy that you now know about this awesome Skipper doll! I totally thought of you when I saw it! Make sure to let us know with one of your awesome reviews once you get her. (I hope you can get her!!!) Have a great day!!!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Yes, she’s totally on my ‘to buy’ list! Thanks again for the tip!

  6. robin replied:

    I’m very upset, I didn’t get one. She was my favorite as a child and I could not wait to get the new one. Here I sit without one. What were they thinking? I can’t even find out if they are making anymore.

  7. KatGurl replied:

    So I read a comment on another site that said the 50th Anniversary Skipper was released on Jan 3rd and sold out by Jan 6th! So then I wrote to them and this is what they replied:

    Thank you for writing to share your disappointment regarding our Skipper(R) 50th Anniversary Doll.
    We can certainly understand your frustration, and we apologize for the disappointment this has caused. Please know that Barbie Collector does not make a practice of intentionally disappointing our customers.
    At this time, we do not have any plans to produce more. We apologize for the disappointment this may cause you.
    We value you as a customer, and we are glad you brought this matter to our attention. Please know that we have noted your comments and will share this information with the appropriate persons in our company.
    Sincerely,
    Barbie(R) Collector Customer Service
    Mattel Direct, Inc.
    Phone: 800-491-7514
    Hours: Monday – Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m. Central Time
    E-mail address: customerservice@barbiecollector.com

    So if anyone else wants to write to them – maybe it will make a difference.

    I’ve been checking around to see if I can buy one anywhere but they are pretty expensive.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Great! Writing my letter tonight! Thanks for the info!

  8. Holly replied:

    I found two of these Skippers at my local Kmart this past weekend–if anyone missed out earlier it wouldn’t hurt to doublecheck your local Kmart shelves.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Really?! I never check Kmart for anything. I may have to stop in this week! I’m torn now, though, as I really would prefer the brunette…

  9. Skipper Highlight Reel- 30th Anniversary Skipper | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] reproduction Skipper came dressed in the 1965 Happy Birthday fashion, which we recently saw on the 50th Anniversary Skipper.  As this Skipper is made of porcelain, she is slightly more fragile than the traditional vinyl […]

  10. 50th Anniversary Brunette Skipper- Order today! | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] this year, Mattel released a blonde reproduction Skipper in honor of her 50th anniversary.  It sold out in less than a week, leaving many collectors empty […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

