What? You’re a Doll Collector?

My mom is a collector of many things, nothing more so than dolls.  So, I, as her daughter,  had a bit of an unorthidiox upbringing living in a house with hundreds of eyes straring at you.  Or so I’ve been told.  It never really bothered me, the ‘eyes’ that people always say ‘creep them out’.  Too each their own, I guess.

Being the daughter of a doll collector is an interesting thing.  Inevitably, the doll collecting bug bit me.  I, a 20 something, have my own rather large collection lining the walls of my bedroom.  It’s definetly a conversation starter when meeting new people.  Most find it neat, the usual term being ‘unique’.  The doll bug has also given fed my brain quite a bit of odd ball facts to whip out if ever I need to.  How many 20 somethings could really tell you when and how Barbie came about or what Liddle Kiddle is or why Little Miss No Name is so sought after?  Well, this 20 something could.

It’s funny, I post pictures on flickr or get a doll restored and usually it’s assumed that I am much older than my 80’s trademark date.  Honestly, in collecting, age doesn’t matter.

The purpose of this blog is to document lots of things, mainly things that have to do with what I love– doll collecting. So, I invite you to stop by now and then to celebrate doll collecting with me, the daughter of a doll collector.  🙂

November 16, 2009. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Emily Hall replied:

    Oh no, it’s over! ;_;

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

