Conventions, Oh My!

One of my favorite things is attending large conventions.  Although I have never had the chance to attend a real doll convention, I have gone to my fair share of anime and scifi cons.  My mother actually got to attend the Barbie Convention when it was in Chicago a while back.  She had a ball.   Next time, I’m going along!

Anyway, the purpose of this post is to spotlight a few 2010 doll conventions.  If you are running or attending a show that isn’t listed, leave a comment and I’ll add it to the post.

IDEX Trade Show– A World of Quality Collectibles and Playthings

Location: Orlando, FL

Date: January 28-31, 2010

About the Con:  IDEX boasts exhibitors from most major doll companies, including Alexander Doll Co. Inc, Berdine Creedy Originals Inc, Goodreau, Huckleberry Toys, JUN Planning USA, Maggie Made Dolls, and more.

The Dealers hall sounds phenomenal with vendors such as The Doll Peddler, Denver Doll Emporium, and Facets by Marcia.

Antinque Collectable Doll and Toy Show

Location: St. Charles, IL

Date: April 24, 2010

About the Show: Located on the Kane County Fairgrounds, this is purely a sale.  Walking the fair could take a few hours and I recommend getting there when the show opens to find the best deals.  If it’s raining, bring an umbrella.  The buildings are dry, but you’ll still need to walk outside to get to each building!

Tonner Collectors’ Convention

Location: Lombard, IL

Date: May 20-23, 2010

About the Con: So far in advance, I hesitate to write much here, but from all accounts I’ve read, this convention seems perfect for any Gene or Tonner collector.

Puddle- Pullip Doll Convention

Location: Elk Grove Village, IL

Date: June 5th, 2010

About this Con:  This convention is limited to 100 people and is in its 3rd year.  Inexpensively priced, it seems like a fun day trip for those who like Pullips, Dal’s, and other asian type dolls.

National Barbie Doll Collectors Convention

Location: Cleveland, OH

Date: July 21-23, 2010

About the Con: So much fun!  My mom attended a few years ago and had a blast.  This years theme is ‘Barbie and the Rockers’ which is sure to be out of this world!

Jemcon

Location: Manchester, NH

Date: September 24-26, 2010

About the Con:  Set your sails for adventure with this convention celebrating the 25th anniversary of Jem and the Holograms.  I attended this show when it was in Chicago a few years back and, while it was definitely in its infancy, I had a really good time.  Jemcon has a good mix of special guests, raffles, programs, and a nice dealers room perfect for any Holograms or Misfits fan!

Modern Doll Collecters Convention

Location: Winston-Salem, NC

Date: September 29- October 02, 2010

About this Con: I don’t know much about this con, but the souvenir doll is being made by Wilde Imagination, Inc, so I’m sure it should be fantastic!

January 12, 2010. Tags: . Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Robyn replied:

    Hi – found you on GoodReads and hope you can help…I have inherited a group of dolls (mostly Madame Alexander and Muffy – North American Bear Co.). I do not collect dolls and do not intend to start yet another collection. Do you know of any collectors groups I could post these to or shows in the CA area?

    Robyn Hawk
    robynahawk (at) yahoo dot com

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Hi Robyn.

      I would suggest searching the Yahoo! Groups for any aimed at doll collecting. This one (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/DollsForSale/) seems like a good place to list your items.

      Another thing I would suggest is Ebay, though I’d recommend picking up a price guide at your local bookstore so you know where to set your prices.

      As far as shows, I am in the midwest and am not sure of shows in the CA area.

      Thanks for peeking and good luck with your sales!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

