Why Do You Buy Dolls?

Recently, I saw an article on Twitter that asked the question “why do I buy dolls”?  I pondered and pondered, but couldn’t come up with any real answer.  Is it because I was raised by a doll collector?  Because I tend to be one of those ‘children at heart’ sort of people?  Because I look back so fondly of my adventures that I don’t want to give them up?  Who really knows.  All I know is that I collect dolls because that’s what I do.  I can’t tell you why, because I don’t know.  I just do.

Recently, I went to a doll and toy show.  I ended up with some neat, inexpensive finds!  Aside from my totally awesome C-3P0 cork board made three years before I was born, I picked up a cute little dress for my previously naked Chris doll.  (Chris is Tutti and Todds brown eyed friend, in case you didn’t know.)  I’d bought Chris on Ebay and her clothes were just not  in good shape at all. The adorable Chris is now wearing Plantin’ Posies outfit I picked up for $25 complete!  A fantastic find, if I do say so myself.

I also found a My Little Pony case from year 2 of the MLP G1 line and picked up two ponies that are in pretty decent shape.  According to my mother, I actually used to own the case I picked up, but mine broke. I must have remembered somewhere in my brain because I knew I’d buy the case immediately after I saw it!

This weekend, I went off to shoot a promotional reel for a project I’m working on and mentioned in passing to an associate that I collect dolls and just went to a show and she said, “So you spend all your money on dolls, then?”  I was taken back by the comment.

Does collecting something mean you have to spend all your money? Is that what outsiders think about people who don’t worry about talking about their collections?  For me, that comment is totally off the mark. I actually don’t indulge as often as I’d like.  At shows, I’ll spend a decent amount, more than usual, but that’s a show.  I’ll buy a little more when something is right in my face and I can see it and check for its defects or perfections myself.

The rest of the time, however, I really don’t add too much to my collection.  Only a handful of things here and there.  My yearly goals is always to add at least three or four items to a collection myself and then I rely heavily on people who are kind enough to gift me items that expand my collections!

To my friend, all I said was that I didn’t actually spend that much on my collection.  Did she believe me?  No idea.  Regardless, it’s the truth.

Have you received the whole ‘So you spend all your money on dolls’ question before?  What was your response?  Or, can you answer the elusive question “why do I collect” in general?  Leave a response!

October 28, 2010. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

