Dolly Report- Jem and the Holograms

As promised, I’ve started up my Dolly Reports!  What doll line graces us with its presence this week?  Jem and the Holograms!

Back in 1985, Hasbro had an idea for a doll line about a female musical group with truly outrageous fashions.  This group would soon be known as Jem and the Holograms!  To market their doll line, Hasbro used something that was very popular back in the 80’s– cartoons.

The Jem and the Holograms cartoon debuted October of 1985 and ran for 65 episodes! It’s hard to give a good description of the show (for me anyways!), but I’ll try!  The show follows Jerrica Benton, owner of Starlight Music and the Starlight Home for Girls, as she tries to outwit conniving record producer/rival Eric Raymond.  Eric is set on putting Starlight Music out of business and in order to do so, employs ‘The Misfits’, a wild rock group.  To combat ‘The Misfits’, Jerrica uses holographic earrings to turn into Jem, lead singer of Jem and the Holograms! Together with her friends Kimber, Aja, and Shana, the band has to outwit Eric and The Misfits, while dealing with their own obstacles!  One of the best things about Jem and the Holograms is that the storylines usually crossover into multiple episodes. Not to forget the music in the series!

The Jem Doll line is known for a few things. First off, they’re known for some truly outrageous fashions. Fashions are usually pretty flashy and bright. Secondly, they’re know for some wild hair. Jem/Jerrica has a mix of pink/white blonde hair, while her hologram friends have colors as out there as blue, purple, and bright red! Personally, I love the hair colors. It adds a neat element to the dolls! Last, the doll line is known for their facepaint and size. Jem dolls are taller and thicker than your typical Barbie doll. They have a different look and each has unique make up. Funnily enough, the make up doesn’t match the make up in the cartoons. It would have been interesting to see a doll that modeled the cartoon look.

The doll line ran through 1987 and grew to encompass a grand number of dolls, including two hologram, misfits, and Rio lines, secondary characters like Danse, Synergy, and Video, various playsets, including the Rock’n Roadster, and even Starlight girls Ashley, Ba-Nee, and Krissy! Prototypes for season three characters ‘The Stingers’ were created, but never mass produced due to the cancelation of the line. (Too bad, as the prototypes looked GREAT!)

This Christmas, I made it a goal to ask for more Jem and the Holograms dolls. You see, while I am a product of the 80’s, I only received one during their original run. That one being a first edition Jerrica/Jem with light up earrings. A few years back I found a Shana at a toy show. At JemCon 2007, I picked up my first Misfit, Pizzazz, and Jems boyfriend, Rio! My mom, who is fantastic about listening to Christmas/Birthday idea’s, ran with the Jem and the Holograms idea and ended up wrapping up a second generation Kimber and Aja for me!!!

My collection is not complete by far, but the fact that I have the complete Jem and the Holograms (minus season 2’s Raya) makes me pretty happy!  Next up on my Jem wishlist?  Stormer, Synergy, and the Rock’n Roadster!

Here’s a bit of photo-spam of my dolls!

There are some great resources for Jem info on the web. ‘Totally Jem’ is a great resources and still gets updated on a frequent basis!  And don’t forget the great, creative people who OOAK Jem dolls, like JemGirl!

Do you have a Jem collection or have fond memories of the cartoon/doll line line? Leave a comment and share!

January 8, 2011. Tags: . Uncategorized.

6 Comments

  1. .alex.press. replied:

    Jem was my FAVORITE. I was a little overboard in retrospect.. Wore the Jem wig at least twice a week, had the glasses, casettes… She’s truly outrageous!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I was Jem for Halloween when I was a kid. I *wish* I still had the mask and costume!!! You can never really go overboard with Jem!

      Thanks for taking the time to comment!!!

  2. Rodrigo replied:

    Hi
    I’m looking for Jem’s dolls to buy ,do you have any idea where can i find them? I’m from Brazil and they were never released in here and I’m always dreamed to have allthe Jem and the Holograms dolls because I LOVE the cartoon since I was 8 years old (now I’m 32 lol)
    Thank you

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Hi Rodrigo. Thanks for stopping by! I think most of us Jem fans are around 30 now! (Geez! I feel a bit old now!) 🙂 Your best bet is to keep an eye on eBay. Keep in mind that you shouldn’t just search ‘Jem and the Holograms’, but also try searching dolls by their name (ie: Kimber, Jerrica, Synergy, Stormer, etc). Sometimes you’ll get different hits with different key words. You’ll also find some on Esty, though less often.

      Good luck on your quest!

  3. Jo replied:

    Hi, I was wondering if someone on here could help. I am from the UK and I am in possession of some Jem items. We don’t have much of a Jem following over here so I’m not really sure if what I have got is of any interest to anyone? I am looking for some advise as what to do with them, how much to sell for etc.

    I have a 1986 Rock backstager with all the draws, clothes hangers and chair, A 1985 Jerrica doll and 3 outfits, several pairs of shoes, combs and a microphone.

    The Rock backstager has been stored in a loft for goodness know how long and so is a little scratched and the music cord is missing but inside is in pretty good condition as are the clothes and accessories. Jerrica has a small patch on her arm where some glitter/paint (probably off the speaker on the front of the backstager) has come off onto her but apart from that in great condition.

    I would be really grateful of any advise.

    Many thanks

    Jo

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I find the best way to judge what things are going for is searching eBay. You might also want to check the forum or facebook page for Jemcon, http://www.jemcon.org/. Prices for Jem items go all over the place, from what I’ve seen. Wish I could help more!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

