Monster High Create A Monster Review

Earlier this week, I had a comment on one of my posts asking my thoughts on the Create A Monster sets recently released by Mattel.  Here’s a quick review of the Monster High Create a Monster line.

The Basics:

Let’s start off with the basics.  It’s clear that some people are confused by this new line based on some of the reviews I’ve read. What is this ‘Create a Monster’ thing?  The Create a Monster line is a similar to the ‘Muppet Whatnots’ I mentioned a few weeks back.  The Create a Monster line is a neat way to expand your Monster High collection AND create your own Monster High characters.  The gist?  You create your own monster with pieces from the starter sets or add on packs.

At the time of this writing, there are two starter sets available.  You will need at least one of these starter sets to use the add on packs (don’t worry, I’ll get back to those).  Each starter set includes one torso, two pairs of thighs, two pairs of bottom limbs, two pairs of upper arms, two pairs of lower arms, two pairs of hands, two outfits, two pairs of shoes, and two wigs.  You can choose to create one specific creature (ie: werewolf, dragon, whatever you set allows) or you can mix and match pieces to create your own totally unique monster.

A thing to keep in mind is that the starter sets only include one torso.  You have to choose what monster to create– you can’t make two dolls based on these starter sets!

Now that we got that out of the way, lets discuss the ‘add on’ packs.  They are exactly that- add ons.  Think of this like a role playing card game.  You start with a starter set filled with basic essentials and then expand your deck with ‘add on’ packs.

In the Create a Monster line, this means that the ‘add on’ sets do not include a torso, upper arms, or thighs.  ‘Add on’ packs are usually themed and include 1 doll head, 1 pair of lower arms, 1 pair of hands, 1 pair of lower legs, 1 pair of shoes, 1 outfit, 1 wig and an accessory.

So far, Mattel has released three expansion packs- a three eyed girl, a skeleton, and a bee girl.

The Pros:

I love the idea behind this set.  With shelves full of Frankie’s, Draculara’s, and the rest of the Monster High gang, being able to create a new monster on a whim is an exciting prospect.  For those like me, who photograph their dolls, this concept is great to adding to the uniqueness of photos.  Here’s a few more pro’s about this set.

  • The pieces go in nicely and fit snugly.  I haven’t had any problems with limbs being too loose or too tight.  The pegs that connect the limbs together seem thicker than a regular Monster High doll and don’t seem as fragile.
  • Pieces come out just as easily as they go in.
  • I love the new limbs in these sets.  The dragon, for instance, has scaley skin and wicked tattoos.   The face molds have unique ears, depending on what kind of creature it originally created.  An example is the skeleton girl from the expansion pack.  She doesn’t have ears at all.
  • It’s really fun putting these ghouls together and taking them apart again.  Seriously,  time will fly when you start playing with these sets!
  • There are so many options open to you when you have every starter and add on kits.

The Cons or the Less than Perfect:

Nothing is perfect and this set has a few flaws I feel I should point out.

  • The wigs don’t work very well.  Each head has a place where you can insert a pegged wig.  The wigs have a plastic rim around them, which is very noticeable on bang-less styles.
  • Along side that, the wigs don’t go down low enough.  The hairline is too high to look natural.  Styling is a must when creating your monsters hair style and you’ll have to work a bit to make these wigs look like they should.
  • It’s hard to attach the ears (for werewolves) to the wigs.
  • Labels on the low legs would have been nice for those dolls without fins on their legs.  It’s easy to put the right lower limb on the left thigh accidently.
  • The Skeleton girl seems the most fragile of all the ‘add on’s.  Be careful with her arms and legs b/c of the ‘boney’ nature of her.
  • The dresses work much better on these bodies, in my opinion.  The two piece looks look, er, odd when the starter body is pink and the add on limbs are blue.
  • I wish they sold a set with only an extra torso, upper arms, and thighs.  I have so many doll heads and limbs with no body.

Overall:

I really like these sets and the concept overall.  I hope 2012 holds more fun starter and add on packs. The biggest problem with the Create a Monster line is the wig issue, but Monique wigs made for 1/6th scale dolls look like they’ll fit these fine.

I love this new line.  It is tons of fun and one of the more creative Monster High products I’ve seen.

The Monster High Create a Monster line is a great idea and one that I hope continues for a long time!

So, there you have my thoughts… What are yours?

January 7, 2012. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

11 Comments

  1. Lola replied:

    I wonder if there’s some way to “cast” new torsos? I have never done anything of the sort, but I bet someone could use a torso to make a mold and cast some extra torsos. I don’t collect monster high dolls, but i do love the mix-and-match concept.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Good thoughts! I’m not talented enough to cast anything, though i’m sure we’ll be seeing that soon.

      I’m thinking the only way (unless Mattel comes out with packs of just torso’s, upper arms, and thighs) will be to frankenstein actual stock Monster High dolls. I hate taking limbs off stock dolls. (Geez, it took years to get over cutting their hair off for re-roots!) I still have yet to test if the limbs on the CAM set work with actual stock dolls, though.

  2. MHgirl replied:

    Thanks. Very helpful.

  3. The Dancing Hare replied:

    I saw these at the store and came so close to buying them, but I decided not to because the werewolf girl was green. That seems a really odd choice. But I can see how they would be awesome for customizers.

  4. littleroars replied:

    I really liked the reviw. I am a monster high fan too.
    I really want that set now

  5. C.p replied:

    U can buy smooth on casting set and it will work fine.

  6. Genny replied:

    My 8 year old daughter was so looking forward to getting these and I bought 2 different add on packs so that she could make more dolls and then be able to play with her sister but unfortunately because there are no extra thighs etc in any of the packs she is still only able to make the one doll. Very disappointed in this and as a result my daughter has probably only played with it once or twice! All that money I spent…absolutely gutted! x

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Sorry to hear that, Genny! I, too, have had my issues with pieces on CAM sets. I have a bag of body parts, but not enough of the middle bits to put them all together.

      The starter sets have recently (within the past 6 months) been coming with enough pieces to create two different dolls (aka both starter dolls). Unfortunately, there are also starter sets (like yours it seems) that still only have enough pieces for one doll, so when you buy the expansion pack, you do have to take apart that one and make her into someone else.

      Occasionally I’ve seen the starter sets get clearenced to half decent prices, so it might be worth it to keep an eye out for a starter set and then your daughter will have extra upper arms and thighs to use on the add on packs she received! eBay might be a good source for cheap pieces, too. Mattel used to sell extra torso’s, upper arms and thighs, but I don’t see them on the Mattel site anymore.

      Thanks for your comment!

  7. Magdalena Joubert replied:

    I would also love torsos, especially for the boys. Upper arms and legs are also hard to get a hold of.

  8. monster high in romana replied:

    This design is wicked! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

