Toy Fair 2012- Mattel, Big Chief, and Links

The toy industry gathered together in New York last week to show off their wares during this years annual ‘Toy Fair’. Although I didn’t attend (but plan on weaseling my way in next year!), attendee reports have been hitting the web at feverish rates. Here’s a quick run down of what we’ll be seeing from Mattel and some new Doctor Who tie in dolls from a UK based company.

Mattel: I think it’s safe to say that Monster High was the biggest draw in for the visitors to Mattel’s booth. Seen for the first time, con goers were treated to prototypes of new characters Robecca Steam, Venus McFlytrap, and Rochelle Goyle. Also on display were the Halloween dolls (Ghouls Rule) being released alongside Mattel’s first Monster High direct to DVD movie, a new male ‘Create a Monster’, basic Jackson, and the exciting ‘Create a Monster Lab‘ playset.

On the Barbie end, Mattel debuted the Photo Fashion Doll.  This doll is equipped with a digital camera that shows off the pictures you take on her graphic tee.  Pictures and a more detailed product description can be found here.

The last bit of news comes from MattyCollectors end– they days of hoverboarding are upon us! Everyone that has seen Back to the Future II will agree– if you take nothing away from the film but one thing, that one thing would be, ‘wow, I really need a hoverboard’.  Assuming Matty gets enough pre-orders, this 1:1 scale replica of the iconic hoverboard will be shipping out late 2012.  If I wasn’t sure this was going to be super expensive, I would so be on the list of recipients.  Unfortunately, I know MattyCollector  and don’t think this awesome prop will come cheap!

Links to Check Out:

YouTube video from Mattel Booth

ASM Toy Fair Coverage  (Mattel Folder -note: no Monster High shown)

Big Chief:  Big Chief is a company based out of the UK. They’re currently working on the Doctor Who Franchise.  I’m most excited about their 12″ Doctor, a limited release debuting sometime around April.  This action figured, modeled to look like the 11th Doctor (Matt Smith) looks fantastic, comes with many extras, and will have expansion sets available so you can easily change your doctors look without having to buy a new doll.  The doctor will be around $200.00 US.

Also exciting is there anime style 10th Doctor, modeled to look like David Tennant.  This 9″ figure will retail around $99.00 US.  I’ve already pre-ordered the 11th Doctor’s figure, but if I find this statue of the 10th doctor reasonably priced, this is mine!

Links to Check Out:

Idle Hands– Information and lots of photos of the Big Chief figures

Big Chief’s main page

Here are a few more links that  might come in handy.  Hopefully, next year I’ll be able to go in person and give you a real Toy Fair post with my own pictures and vids.

BestToysGuide Youtube video

AF Collector- Tonner Doll Booth (check their main page for more vids!)

AtamiDolls- Winx Club Dolls (check their main page for more vids!)

Time to Play- Jakks Pacific Booth (check their main page for more vids!)

Pop Culture Network- My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic (check their main page for more vids!)

Pop Culture Network/HeMan.org- MOTU Classics

PaulNomad’s Flickr set

What are you looking forward to picking up when these new toys hit store shelves?

February 19, 2012. Tags: . Uncategorized.

10 Comments

  1. The Dancing Hare replied:

    Wow, I love Venus. I hope she’s not too hard to find! I still haven’t found a Cupid yet!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Venus is my favorite of the new characters. When I saw her in the special, I knew she’d make an awesome doll!

      I haven’t seen Cupid in any of my stores recently. Finally found Skull Shores Draculaura at Target and Gil at TRU this week. Good luck on your search!

  2. Sharayah replied:

    All I can say is wow! Mattel is doing so many cool things with the monster high series!! So excited for all of them. I think my new fav is going to be Rochelle!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Rochelle is adorable. I love her wide eyed expression!

  3. Dollgirl4 replied:

    I love the new dolls! So cute! Did you know they are also realesing a basic Jackson? By the way, I’ve looked everywhere for Abbey Bominable. Kohls, Toys R Us, Walmart, the works. Do you have any suggestions for finding her under 25 dollars?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      It amazes me how poorly Mattel is at getting MH dolls on toy store shelves. My mom and I had pre-ordered Abbey mid 2011 from Mattel.com and eventually received it (around Oct, I think?). I haven’t seen an Abbey on the shelf at all, thinking about it. Sorry, I’m not much help. All I can say is keep on checking!!!!

      I’m looking forward to seeing the basic Jackson in person. Of his two personalities, I prefer Holt, but it would be nice to have a Jackson wearing something other than beach clothes!

      • Sharayah replied:

        How did you go about pre ordering Abbey? I have her (got really lucky on craigslist before xmas) but I would really be interested in pre ordering some of the new items ASAP. I’ve done a general google search for mattel pre order but no luck.

        • kewpie83 replied:

          Abbey had randomly popped up on Mattel.com one day three months before her expected release. I don’t think that’s a normal thing. I’m almost positive it was a fluke because I don’t recall any other Monster High doll going up on their site so quickly (or at all, really!)

          Angelic Dreamz (http://www.angelicdreamz.com/) usually has dolls up for pre-ordering, though I don’t see any at the moment.

      • Dollgirl4 replied:

        Ok, thanks anyway!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

