What a Bargain: $2.00? Why not!

I’m not huge on the summer season.  It usually equals sticky, humid weather, unwelcome insects, and the inability to go anywhere without a crowd.  However, there is one thing I really do love about summer and that would be the ‘yard sale’.  There are good yard sales and there are not so good yard sales.  You never know what treasures you’ll find when you decide to pull your car over and take a peek at what others are parting with.

I normally look for toys and dolls at yard sales (surprise, surprise!).  My neck of the woods is filled with ‘new’ families, those with young children, so I usually don’t find a ton of things that are up my alley.   Yesterday, however, I stumbled upon an item that literally made me pause– a mint in box New Kids on the Block Stage.

If you were around in the 80’s and 90’s, you know exactly what I’m talking about.  For those who are younger, here’s a recap:  New Kids on the Block was a popular boy band between 1984 and 1994.  The group consisted of  Jordan and Jonathan Knight, Joey McIntyre, Donnie Wahlberg, and Danny Wood and was known for catchy pop songs, flashy outfits and hair, and awesome group choreography.  New Kids on the Block (NKOTB) was hugely successful and they have since reunited for various reunion tours, one of which was with another popular boy band, the Backstreet Boys.

Give ‘Hangin’ Tough’ a listen…

Or why not ‘Please Don’t Go Girl’?

Hasbro jumped onto the New Kids on the Block bandwagon in 1990 with well crafted celebrity dolls and an awesome ‘stage’ playset.

Back to the yard sale,  this stage was sitting in a slightly damaged box and marked $2.00.  Upon inspection, I noticed all the pieces were uncut and still in their bags.  The girl working the yard sale said her grandmother had dropped it off. It looks as if her before-mentioned grandmother originally paid $20.00 for the playset at a doll/toy show.  Needless to say, at $2.00, it was a steal.

NKOTB Stage- the box

NKOTB Stage- the box

The first thing I noticed about this set was that the stage pictured on the box was drastically different from what was inside the box.  The framework was the same, but the colors must have been changed after this promo shot was taken.

The Stage

You’ll notice that the pieces originally intended to be blue have been changed to bright yellow. I’m used to prototypes looking different than the final release, but it’s worth noting how different the color choices are between both stages!

I have to admit, I had trouble putting the set together.  I had to enlist my mother’s help to get this set put together properly.  I love the vast number of props this came with (ie: mics, mic stands, speakers, spots, guitars, keyboards, etc) and love, love, love the photos.  Better still, the photos of the boys clip on, so if  I wanted to ‘dress the set’ differently, I could print out my own photos and clip them on!

The Monster High Band

My NKOTB dolls are currently in a box (yes, I own them all in their ‘everyday’ look).  Instead of whipping them out and making a big mess, I decided to use what I’ve deemed as my ‘Monster High Band’ to show off this playset.  (From left to right, you’ll see G1 Ghoulia, DotD Frankie, G2 Lagoona, and DotD Clawdeen.)

On lead guitar, Frankie

Lagoona rocks on the drums!

Frankie and Clawdeen battle it out!

Rock on!

For $2.00, this set was a steal.  I can only hope that finding this so early on in the summer means that there are more awesome yard sale finds to come!

Do you have a favorite yard sale find?  Were you a NKOTB fan?  Leave a comment!

May 24, 2012. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. barbielea replied:

    Just amazingly cool, great pictures. Not that I`m disrespecting NKOTB or anything, but could you take their pictures out and replace them with others if you wanted to? I can`t quite tell from the photos whether this would be possible.

    Sadly, we don’t do yard sales in the UK – but we do have car boot sales and flea markets. I used to go a lot, but don`t seem to have time these days. I’ve got to start making an effort!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      The pictures of the boys are removable. The green things on the left/right/top/bottom of each picture are clips. Hasbro made it really easy to ‘dress the set’ with different images by sliding out the boys pictures and inserting your own pictures into the clips.

      These ‘car boot sales’ sound fun! I have a feeling I’d frequent them far too often!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

