My Little Pony, G4 (2011-current day)

‘My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic’ was one of the premiere shows in the initial launch of Hasbro’s television station, ‘The Hub’.  I had low expectations, because none of the G3 cartoons ever kept my interest.  ‘My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic’ (MLP:FIM), surprisingly, blew me away.  I was a fangirl pretty much instantly due to the spunky humor and cute character designs.

With a new cartoon, Hasbro decided it was time to revamp their popular My Little Pony line yet again.  These G4 ponies are smaller and more compressed than usual, around 8 cm tall.  As far as individual ponies, Hasbro decided to stick with releasing mostly the ‘core’ ponies (Pinkie Pie, Applejack, Fluttershy, Rarity, Rainbow Dash, and Twilight Sparkle) with a select number of ‘general’ ponies.  Hasbro succeeded in making  these G4 ponies look almost exactly like their cartoon alter ego’s.

I don’t have much to say about this line of ponies.  Personally, I don’t like them as much as the other lines.  I purchased a Fluttershy when they first hit shelves, but that was solely because I love the Fluttershy character.  I don’t think the G4 ponies are worth the price Hasbro asks.  These ponies have decal eyes, from what I can tell, and that has always been a turnoff for me.  It also doesn’t help that one Fluttershy figure looks like every other Fluttershy figure.   I may be biased, but even G1 ponies that were re-hashed during the original years had a bit of uniqueness to them.  These G4 ponies just all look the same.

There are some bright spots in this latest line.  I like the ‘big’ G4’s Hasbro released (as seen in the above commercial), as well as the large Princess Celestia.  If anything, what I’ll take away most from the entire G4 era is the cartoon because, between you and me, the toys are just not all that exciting.

I look forward to seeing the future happenings in the My Little Pony universe.  Who knows what Hasbro will do with them next?  Now it’s your turn.  What are your thoughts on this G4 line?  Share your thoughts!

Links You Might Want to Check Out:

Strawberry Reef G4 Reference

MLP:FIM Wiki

MLP G4 Fan Site

G4 Checklist

May 30, 2012. Tags: . Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Dollgirl4 replied:

    When watching the episodes, have you seen the Docter Who Pony? He’s in some of the episodes; I can’t think of their names right now. He always looks like he does on the Docter Whooves tee shirt you have.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I’ve noticed Doctor Whooves once or twice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

