MGA’s Bratzillaz

I’ve never been a huge fan of Bratz dolls.  They’ve always been a bit too extreme for me and most recently have looked pretty poorly made.  Not to mention the whole MyScene debacle…   (Yes, I chose a side-  MyScene all the way!)

This morning, I was looking at a new Toys R Us ad.  One page caught my attention for a few reasons.

TRU Ad

First, I noticed the Ghouls Rule! Monster High dolls.  I always assumed they were Halloween releases.  Looks like I assumed wrong!  To be completely honest, I don’t know how much I care for these four new Monster High dolls.  I love the idea behind this line, but I don’t know so much about the execution of the line.

Second,  I noticed the new Winx Club dolls. I recently saw them in stores and they’re really cute in person!  Needless to say,  I was quite tempted to add a few of them to my collection!

And third?  Third, I noticed the dolls in the center of the page, MGA’s Bratzillaz.  I don’t love that these dolls are branded under the ‘Bratz’ name, but the dolls themselves look promising!  Bratzillaz seem to be MGA’s answer to Mattel’s Monster High line.  Their bodies are jointed and their faces have inset glass eyes.

According to their press release, ” The enchanted good witch cousins of the popular Bratz®, Bratzillaz™takes girls on a supernatural flight of imagination and discovery to reveal their own inner secrets and special powers, including the ability to communicate with animals, fly through the air, see into the future and find true love.  Designed to encourage a girl’s imagination to dream big, the powers of Bratzillaz™ will magically appear in retail toy aisles and young girls’ hearts in July 2012.”

It looks like there are five dolls in the line: Cloetta Spelletta, Jade J’Adore, Yasmina Clairvoya, Sashabella Paws, and Meygana Broomstix.

Bratzillaz Line

It will be interesting to see how Monster High collectors react to this new MGA line.  Will they love it or hate it? There’s no question that the concept  and look is quite similar to Monster High, but will that matter?  Who knows!

Artwork found on Bratzillaz Facebook page

I wonder if these dolls are rooted or wigged.  If these Bratzillaz are wigged dolls, then I can see cusomizers enjoying this line.  Assuming the glass eyes aren’t locked in place with some complicated contraption and that the top of the head is easy to manipulate, it shouldn’t be too hard to change out the eyes.  If they’re rooted, well, it might be a little harder.  (If you own one, feel free to fill me in on this!)

Meygana

Of the five, the one that looks most up my alley is Meygana.  She has a fun steampunky look to her.   The one with purple hair is kind of cute, too.  Of course, I’ll have to see them in person first to see their quality!

Links to Check Out:

Bratzillaz Facebook Page

Flickr Group

So, what do you think of this new line?  Do you think it’s too blatant a rip off of Monster High or just different enough to stand on its own? Share your thoughts below!

June 26, 2012. Uncategorized.

11 Comments

  1. Ada Bogoevici Soci replied:

    When I first saw a picture of them from a toy fair I wasn’t impressed but now I tottaly fell in love with them. Very cute!

  2. Observer replied:

    The dolls quality, from what I’ve seen and read on the internet, is actually terrible. Heads falling off is a common problem and the joints are really loose.

  3. Jordan replied:

    Could you tell me your zip code I want the online version of this ad for the Winx bit. At TRU.com you can download they’re ads but I need the zipcode for the ad or atleast your state. Thanks!

  4. Koneko Izzy replied:

    I have seen the bratzillas in person they look good if left in the box cute I must say, personally I’m waiting for them to go on clearance because I will be buying them strictly to rip out their eyes.
    I’m a ball joint doll collector and I recently tore apart my first liv doll and a monster high doll, back to liv tho… they have “real” eyes too and I’m planning on implanting the bratz thing into them.
    Trying to buy eyes for certain sized dolls like bjd are spendy and well I can happily wait for a price drop or even a finding gold mine at savers.
    I hate bratz they have filled kids with a bad image but this line looks good for gutting so I’m happy.
    They also have extra clothing packs I saw today actually, they were super cute and look like they could fit a few similar sized dolls so I may break down and get one the shoes are cute and they have a teal costume as well and I’m a huge fan of the color teal lol!

  5. Anonymous replied:

    look bratzillaz are just a copy of monster high and i am never ever going to get a bratz doll

    • kewpie83 replied:

      To each their own. I personally don’t see them as copies, so much as a take off of the same concepts.

  6. Malfire replied:

    Monster High is a rip off of the series Gravedale High :s. Besides can’t blame them for trying and let’s not forget Bratz-Myscene?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      You know, I think I remember Gravesdale High, or rather, I think I have one of the McDonalds toys from back in the day! I remember that whole MyScene/Bratz debacle. That ruined the MyScene line here, which sucked because it was one of the better Barbie lines to hit shelves in the past 15 years. My opinion of this whole thing is that much like television and film, there is no such thing as a 100% unique idea. There are just takes off other ideas, which doesn’t bug me as much as some others out there on the world wide web…

      Thanks for commenting!

  7. Anonymous replied:

    to tell you the truth i thought they were copying at first and now i figured that the bratz dollz are not kinda i realize their kind of different.

  8. Angela replied:

    I recently just bought one; Cloetta Spelleta. I really struggled between Bratzillaz and Monster High, with Monster High having so many varieties to choose from, but in the end, the alluring glass eyes won me over.

    When looking for ball-jointed-dolls, the eyes are one of the most important features. Cloetta’s bi-coloured eyes caught me the moment I saw her and before I knew it, I was clutching her box in my hands as I roamed around the Monster High section trying to find any doll that could top Cloetta’s beauty.

    Even out of the box, I would say she is still as beautiful. It really makes a difference on how you care for the doll itself. I can provide a photo of her in the box before I opened it and her after if you’d like. 🙂
    And the hair is sewn in, so no wig customisation is available though.

    It would be unfair to compare these dolls to Monster High, but if one were to do so then I will have to say while Monster High boasts a larger variety of dolls, they do not have glass eyes, and the prices are about the same. Regardless, Bratzillaz definitely look better than their Bratz counterparts and have improved in quality. (Atleast in my point of view. You are free to disagree.)

    All in all, I’m a happy customer (and doll owner) now. ^_^

  9. In Memoriam: Doll Lines We Lost in 2014 | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] of 2014 (see Jan. 17th post) that it was shelving the Bratz line for a year, including the popular Bratzillaz.  Why?  They wanted to put a years worth of effort into rebranding the line.  Me, I’m not […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

