Jem’s Back!

It’s been a long time since the truly outrageous Jem and the Holograms doll line disappeared off store shelves, but look out world, she’s back!

This past week, Integrity and Hasbro announced the creation of a new ‘high end’ Jem and the Holograms line.  Integrity is known for their Dynomite Girls, Poppy Parker, and other high end, high fashion dolls.

Hollywood Jem, the first in a line of new Jem dolls by Integrity.

A special edition Hollywood Jem doll hits the catwalk this July at San Diego Comic Con and is being sold through Hasbro’s booth and post con for a limited time in the Hasbro Toy Shop.  She will retail for $125.00.

Hollywood Jem, close up

Here’s a few stats on this inaugural doll.

  • Fully articulated, highly detailed 12” (30.5 cm) fashion doll with cotton candy pink hair and hand applied eyelashes
  • Screen accurate costume with couture like finish
  • Miniature Jemstar earings
  • Miniature Hollywood Star award plaque
  • Shoes, Bracelets and realistic microphone and stand
  • Doll stand, instructions, souvenir post card and certificate of authenticity included.

It’s Showtime, Synergy!

When I initially heard the news of a new Jem line, I have to admit my heart skipped a beat.  I’ve been waiting for a new line ever since Tonner sent out a survey and included Jem as one of the choices for possible future lines. Fast forward to today, where we learn Hasbro have given the coveted rights to Integrity.

I can’t say I’ve ever been a crazy fan of high end fashion dolls.  A lot of times, they look a bit overdone.  I usually prefer my dolls to look a little more friendly than most high end dolls look, if that makes sense.

I’m torn when it comes to this new Jem doll.  On one hand, it’s Jem, which in my mind equates to awesome!  On the other hand, I don’t think I like her face. The main issue with her face, to me, are her eyes.  They’re too small and squinty for my taste. Everything else, the articulated body, the fashion, the accessories, is great, but the face just doesn’t do much for me.  Which, to be completely honest, makes me a bit sad because I wanted to like whatever came next for Jem and the Holograms.

There was an OOAK Jem doll created by Flutterwing Designs (alternate link) earlier this year that I actually prefer over this official Integrity release.  I, personally, think the OOAK captures just the right amount of realism and nostalgia, where the new Integrity Jem is a little too realistic (in the face), making her look a little less like the Jem I watched on television.  That being said, I don’t think this is too far from what I’d imagine the Misfits to look like in this modern age.

The real make it/break it test will be owner images.  We all know promo shots aren’t always known  for accuracy, so I’m going to hold off on this until I see some actual owner photographs.

Problems aside, I am very happy to see that Jem is back.  I’m sure that Integrity will be keeping a careful eye on collectors feedback and hopefully, that will help mold the line into something awesome.  Keep an eye on the official site for more information on future releases!

What do you think of this new Hollywood Jem?  Share your thoughts!

June 30, 2012. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. RC replied:

    i hate the outfit. isn’t truly outrageous at all

    • kewpie83 replied:

      To be fair, it is screen accurate to what we saw in the Hollywood Jem video. Even so, I can see why it could be a bit disappointing. It isn’t the most glamorous or exciting Jem outfit to showcase on this debut doll.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment! 🙂

  2. Bett replied:

    Thanks for the excellent photos and info about this new Jem doll! I loved the original Jem and related dolls, but have to say I’m totally disappointed with this reincarnation of Jem. 😦 The face looks too old and too harsh. I think Tonner would have captured the innocent, youthful expression of Jem.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I know what you mean about her face. I’m hoping that Integrity tones down her make up and makes her look a little more ‘friendly’ in the future.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

