New Re-Root: Little Miss No Name

A while back, I purchased a lot of two dolls.  One of the dolls was a Suzie Sad Eyes and the other was a Little Miss No Name.  Both needed a little TLC, especially in the hair department.  I showed off Suzie’s new hairdo a few months back.  Now, it’s time to reveal Little Miss No Name’s transformation!

If you’re unfamiliar with this doll, I suggest checking out my Dolly Report.  Here’s the quick run through– Little Miss No Name was produced by Hasbro back in 1965.  She wasn’t the most popular doll on the market.  You either loved her or hated her.  Because of her lack of popularity, she was only out for a year.  There are a few different versions of this doll.  Some came with a tear.  Some came without a tear.  They were all, however, decked out with short, blonde hair.

My Little Miss No Name was pretty short on hair when she arrived at my doorstep.  I wasted very little time in ordering a few hanks of hair from Dollyhair.  Taking out her original hair plugs was a bit of a hassle, but isn’t it always?

LMNN without hair

I definitely didn’t want to re-root her as a blonde, but, also, didn’t want to go too dark.  Since her eyes are so big, I thought it would make them pop even more with a similar hair color.  I decided on ‘Pumpkin Spice’ Nylon hair for this girl.  It’s an auburn color very similar to pumpkin pie filling.  (One of my favorite deserts, btw!)  Little Miss No Name has a great deal of hair plugs, so the re-root took a few days to get through.

In the end, I used at least 5 hanks of hair on her.  I, of course, had to re-order midway through the re-root because I underestimated the amount of hair I needed. That’s turned into a bit of a running gag for me and my re-roots!

LMNN, Pre-styling

Here’s a look at the final product!

Ta Da! The finished product.

Her head is a bit more wobbly since putting her back together, but I love how she turned out!  I’ve wanted a Little Miss No Name of my own for a while now and this was the perfect way to get one, I think!  I’m still on the look out for one I can keep mint, but if I were to stumble upon another inexpensive Little Miss No Name who just needed hair, I’d buy her in a heartbeat.  Since finishing her, I’ve decided my next Little Miss No Name will have two colors in her hair.  She has enough hair plugs to totally pull it off!

my LMNN (left) plays with my mothers LMNN (right)

Truth be told, I actually finished this re-root a while back, but I wanted to wait till the perfect outfit found its way into my hands.  This jean jacket/sundress outfit is a ‘Miss Corolle’ fashion for dolls 14″-15″ tall.  I found it in a European toy shop we visited today. The length is perfect and it looks adorable on her!  Now, she just needs shoes!

my re-root vs the original release

The dolls aren’t very posable, but they are eye-catching!

The Re-Root club!

Little Miss No Name is the fourth ‘big’ doll I’ve re-rooted.  While they take a little longer than Barbie’s or smaller dolls and need more hanks of hair, I have to say, I LOVE re-rooting these taller dolls.  There’s such a feeling of accomplishment when you finish these that the extra time and extra hair are totally worth it!

fun in the garden

Are you a fan of Little Miss No Name? Have you re-rooted a Little Miss No Name? Share your thoughts!

July 1, 2012. Tags: . Uncategorized.

22 Comments

  1. discodiva79 replied:

    WOW! You did an excellent job-so incredible-I am so impressed with the before and after pics. Was it hard to do? How did you learn to reroot? Thank you so much for sharing!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Re-rooting is actually pretty easy. My history with re-rooting is fairly recent. I’ve only been doing it for the past few years. It all came about because I was bored and needed something to do. Originally, I tried the knot method, but it was not my cup of tea. Then I noticed that there was a tool out there. I ordered the tool and some hair, and boom, had a doll done in a day. I’ve been doing it ever since!

      There are two ways to do it. I prefer to use a re-rooting tool (found here: http://www.dollyhair.com/reroottool.htm ). With the tool, a Barbie head can take as little as 3 hours to root and large dolls usually don’t take anymore than a week or so. I’m going to post a tutorial on the tool method sometime soon.

      You can also re-root the ‘longhand’ knot way. It takes a lot longer, but some swear by this method. I wrote a tutorial on that method (found here: https://dollyconfessions.wordpress.com/2010/02/21/my-guide-to-re-rooting/) a while back.

      I highly recommend trying re-rooting if you are at all interested. The tool is the way to go, hands down. There are some more examples of my re-roots on my flickr, if you haven’t seen those (found here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kewpie83/sets/72157621770699220/) The album will give you an idea of the different sorts of dolls you can re-root.

      Thanks SO much for comment!

      • Pattie Koziol replied:

        Hi when you rebooted the LMNN doll with purple hair you said you used 5 hanks, how much did each hank weight? Pattie

  2. zoe replied:

    They are kind of cute, but the red eyes creep me out (O.o) As usual, great job on the re-root!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Thanks, Zoe! The eyes are really more of a soft brown color, but they do photograph a little odd sometimes.

  3. Cindy Sims replied:

    If you don’t mind plastic shoes, I’ve found the Madame Alexander doll shoes sold at Wal Mart fit my LMNN very well!! The boots are especially cute on her !!!

  4. Li replied:

    I am planning on getting a LMNN but I just started collecting dolls. If I do get one can I send it to you and you can reroot it? I will pay.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Sorry, I only re-root for myself and my family. I can try to walk you through re-rooting yourself, though! It’s easy!

  5. Anonymous replied:

    I want it!!!!!!

  6. Dolly Re-Root: Little Miss No Name | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] Cake.  Carrot Cake is a very strange color.  Dollyhair describes it as, “More muted than pumpkin spice, but it is still an auburn color. It is more red than amaretto.”  The thing I love about […]

  7. Ally replied:

    I really love this doll and would pay for it but I doubt you would do that tbh I’ve never been interested in dolls nor owned one but I love her (pumpkin spice) I’m only 14 but wish you sold them 😔

    • Ally replied:

      And very great job re rooting ☺️

  8. Cal Mer replied:

    i really want a lmnn cuz they are soooo cute, i like the rerooted red hair bttr than blonde

  9. Stefan Terhorst replied:

    This pretyes dolls are perfekt for my dadill daugter i love my daughter but she will this doll but nobody will bis doll give my but i will this doll by for my daughter

  10. L replied:

    I really want a little miss no name,but I can’t find any.Do you know where I can find them?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      You will probably have the best luck on eBay or at your local doll show. 🙂

  11. 10 Terrifying Toys From The Past – Viral Feed replied:

    […] Photo credit: Confessions Of A Doll Collector’s Daughter […]

  12. Gerry Donadio replied:

    Oh my goodness I have been looking for this Doll for years. When my parents bought her for me,I was told she was an orphan and she needed a home. I loved this doll❤️But when our house caught on fire,she was inside,the one and only time I left her home. I cried for months. So wonderful to see someone other than me has so much love for this doll, almost as much as me. Thank you ❤️

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Oh my! Such a sad story! Sorry you had to go through that. 😦 Your LMNN seems like she was very well loved.

  13. 30 Mainan Anak-Anak Paling Nyeremin Yang Mungkin Ngga Pernah Kamu Lihat Sebelumnya - Cerioo replied:

    […] via dolly confessions […]

  14. JoAnn Shufelt replied:

    LitLittle miss no name was actually my favorite doll growing up. She had a tear and wore a burlap dress. Never knew what became of her. I would love to have another one.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

