$4.00? Why Not!

A few months ago, my mom and I discovered a store called ‘Savers‘.  ‘Savers’ is a resale shop where you can find everything from kitchen items to used books to toys.  I’ve seen mint Re-Boot action figures, precious moments, trading cards, Barbies, and a whole slew of other items on the shelves of ‘Savers’.  If you have the perfect timing, you really can find a treasure for a fantastic price.

On a recent trip to Savers, we stumbled upon one such item.  Being a product of the 80’s, I’m a Jem and the Holograms fan.  I don’t have everything, but I do have a good amount of Jem dolls.  Color me shocked when low and behold, sitting in a plastic bag turned out to be a dressed ‘Rock and Curl’ Jem.  Her hair was in dire need of a wash and, like all my other Jem dolls, she was shoeless , but other than that, she was pretty darn mint!  Her price?  $4.00.  At that price, she was mine.

Rock N’ Curl Jem

Would I go out of my way to purchase this doll mint in box for a crazy amount of money?  No.  In my opinion, she doesn’t come at all close to the original first edition Jem.  But for $4.00, why not add her to my small collection!

Rock N’ Curl Jem

Her hair has been re-styled into a side pony tail.  Ironically, I already have a Jem doll in this outfit.  I must have picked it up at a JemCon.  Still, finding this doll gives me hope that other Jem dolls might find their way into ‘Savers’  plastic bags and into my hands!

Have you ever found something unexpected while shopping in a resale shop or yard sale?  Share your thoughts!

July 18, 2012. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. discodiva79 replied:

    You did so GOOD! YEA! why not. We have Savers here too-love it-you never know what you are going to find. Timing is everything-Do you have 99cent Mondays? One of my best treasures I found there were 6 Moondreamers one had the original outfit all in EXC cond. My Best find at a yard sale for $7 was a 1976 my size Barbie-complete steal!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      We don’t have 99cent Mondays! Is that a Savers thing or a store front? Whatever it is, I want it! 🙂 Oh, Moondreamers! I would have picked those up, too. A My Size Barbie under $10 is totally a steal. I want to pick one of those up one day and do a re-root on it. I think it would be pretty cool! Thanks for the comment!

      • Debbie replied:

        Its a Savers thing-they have it every Monday here. People are lined up at 0800 just fighting to get in. I have never been there that early, I have a friend that works there & he tells me all about it. I did find the Sunshine Family playset still in box with the dolls in it. I also found the entire Star Spangled dolls in the Sunshine famil Mint in boxes. I had to get them-they’re from the 70’s!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

