New Re-Roots: Early My Scene dolls Chelsea and Barbie

I’ve found Tuesday mornings to be quite productive recently.  If I’m not editing a new anime music video, I’ve been re-rooting dolls.  Realistically, I should probably be doing something a little more ‘career’ productive with my Tuesday mornings, like writing the next  great American novel or something, but you know what?  I’m having a ton of fun with my ‘hobby’ Tuesdays!

First off, let me introduce you to what I’ve deemed my candy wrapper My Scene Chelsea.  Chelsea has five different bright, bold colors in her hair: Passion Fruit, Old Bubblegum, Hot Lips, Key Lime, and Sour Grapes.

Early My Scene Chelsea with multi-colored hair

This Chelsea came about because I realized recently that I have a lot of left over hair from past re-roots.  Before I can order shiny, new hair, I have to use the hair I currently own.  The task is running a bit slow, though, as I have yet to re-root through any of my old hanks.

Early My Scene Chelsea with multi-colored hair

I think the colors look great with Chelsea’s big brown eyes and shimmery make up. For the re-rooting process, I decided on a color pattern and just went around the head, rooting two hair plugs per color. The light pink hair was much longer than the rest, so when styling, we kept that longer, which made the hair color look more like a gradient than five random colors!

Early My Scene Chelsea with multi-colored hair

Early My Scene Chelsea with multi-colored hair

Just the other day, I decided to start working on another My Scene doll.  This time, I used an early My Scene Barbie.  She looks to be from the same line as Chelsea. Barbie has the same shimmery make up, but the colors are toned down a bit.  For Barbie, I decided why not use the silver hair I purchased last year and highlight it with some pastel colors.

Early My Scene Barbie with multi-colored hair

Instead of going around the hair plugs in an even pattern, I used double the white in Barbie’s re-root. I wanted Barbie’s look to be a little less ‘clean cut’ than Chelsea’s.

Early My Scene Barbie with multi-colored hair

Compared to Chelsea, Barbie has a much lighter look.  She’s like the ‘day’ to Chelsea’s ‘night’.  Barbie is re-rooted with Old Bubblegum, Key Lime, Great Grape, Lagoon Blue, and Moonlight.  She took 5 hours to re-root.

Early My Scene Barbie with multi-colored hair

Here’s the two girls together.

The girls together!

Don’t they look cute together?!  I am loving how these two dolls turned out.

Early My Scene Barbie with multi-colored hair

Next up on my re-rooting docket is an early My Scene Madison.  I want to re-root Madison in a similar fashion, though I don’t have any idea of the colors I’m going to use yet!  I think I’ll leave that decision off until next Tuesday!

August 8, 2012. Tags: . Uncategorized.

7 Comments

  1. barbielea replied:

    Wow, I absolutely love them! What a great project. Sigh, I just wish I was half as motivated …

  2. discodiva79 replied:

    WoW! They turned out so Beautiful-I wish you could teach me how to do that!

  3. Tracie replied:

    Love love love, wish I had the time and patience to do this!

  4. New Re-Roots: My Scene Madison, Crissy, and Stacie | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter... replied:

    […] This Madison re-root is the third in ‘series’ or sorts.  To clear out my dollyhair box, I started re-rooting a handful of My Scene dolls with lots of different colors, as you’ve seen on Barbie and Chelsea. […]

  5. Nicole Tan replied:

    Wow! Barbie is really pretty. The colours go well with her clothes and eyes.

  6. Marlene fabela replied:

    Where do i find one to buy?!! Are these multi colored early set scene chelsea dolls for sale?? They are hard to find..

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I re-rooted these. The Chelsea is an early Chelsea, though. She had normal hair until I gave her multicolored hair. 🙂 I don’t sell them, but if you want to learn to re-root, there’s a tool that makes it super easy that you can buy from Dollyhair.com. After that, my YouTube channel, http://www.youtube.com/user/kewpie83, has a tutorial on how to re-root. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

