Tim Gunn and Barbie? Awesome!

Anyone who follows Project Runway (US) knows who the awesome Tim Gunn is. Tim Gunn, for anyone who doesn’t veg in front of the television during Project Runway marathons, is the mentor for contestants on the popular fashion design show, as well as a published fashion author with three books under his belt.  Tim Gunn describes himself as an “Educator, Author, Fashion Therapist, Mentor” on his facebook page.

Known for his catch phrase ‘make it work’ and his slick way of dressing, I can’t image a better person for Mattel to approach to work on a Barbie!  Now available on Barbie Collector is a Barbie styled by Tim Gunn himself.

Brunette Barbie Styled by Tim Gunn

I’m partial to brunette dolls, so I guess it makes sense that I really like this doll! The face is stunning, the hair is simple, yet sophisticated and the outfit is totally something I would wear.

Barbie Styled by Tim Gunn Accessories

Besides the adorable red purse Barbie carries, this doll styled by the fashion icon comes with some great accessories.  Included with the Barbie is a faux copy of Tim Gunn’s book, a smart phone, and the ever so important cup of coffee (or in my case, tea!).

Blonde Barbie Styled by Tim Gunn

The blonde barbie doesn’t excite me as much.  While I love the outfit, I don’t like the body they stuck this doll on.  If she’s like other ‘model’ bodies, then her leg will be permanently bent and that does not fall on my list of favorite things.  Also, the hair is a bit ‘blah’ on Barbie.  I’ve seen her with long straight blonde hair before.  I wish they would have given her a cute bob or something!

Besides these dressed dolls, Mattel released two accessory packs, as well!  The accessory packs retail for $24.00, a mere $6.00 less than the dressed dolls who start at $29.99.

Accessory Pack

Accessory Pack

My opinion? I think Tim Gunn and Mattel put out a pretty awesome doll line.  I love the brunette Barbie and the extra outfits are really cute!  You can find these on Barbie Collector.

What do you think of this new line?  Share your thoughts below!

August 26, 2012. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. cessi replied:

    I love these!
    I think all ithems are really stylish, reminds me in a way of my mums barbie, from the time before everything became pink and purple and frilly 🙂
    Perfect for doll collectors 🙂

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Totally agree! Very cute set for the price!

  2. Viper replied:

    I wanted to like the brunette, but upon seeing her in person yesterday, I got a different feeling. Just something about the shape of her head; it’s almost as if she has a double chin or something.

    I do love the jacket accessory pack though. I’d have picked it up for one of my Basics, but they want $25 each for them, which seems a bit steep to me.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

