New Historical American Girl- Caroline Abbott, 1812

American Girl debuted their newest historical doll yesterday.  Blonde, steely blue eyed, and bang-less, Caroline Abbott hails from 1812. History was never one of my favorite subjects, so I admit, I had to google the significance of her ‘year’.  It seems Caroline will be witnessing first hand the events of the ‘War of 1812’.  The war was fought on land and sea and lasted until 1815.

According to the American Girl website, “As the War of 1812 begins, so does the story of Caroline Abbott’s bravery. She loves sailing with her father, but when he’s captured, Caroline must help keep the family’s shipyard running. When she sees a chance to rescue her father, Caroline discovers that she must use her mind and heart to guide her decisions.”

Caroline

Like other historical dolls, Caroline stars in a series of five book (Meet Caroline, Caroline’s Secret Message, A Surprise for Caroline, Caroline Takes a Chance, Caroline’s Battle, and Changes for Caroline). 

Meet Caroline, book 1

As far as Caroline’s look, I don’t find it very exciting. I saw her in person at my local bookstore and I just don’t find her as pretty as the other historical dolls.  At first, I thought it was because she lacked bangs and had a lot of forehead showing, but I think Felicity is darling and she doesn’t have  fringe, either.  I think the thing that is stopping me from loving this doll is the hair color.  It’s very blonde and with her pale skin, it just is a weird mix. Looking at my American Girl collection, I’ve always leaned towards dolls with hair colors other than blonde, so it’s not surprising, I guess!

Caroline’s table

While I’m not a fan of any of Caroline’s outfits, I do like her furniture!  Her table and chair set is so pretty.  And her boat?  What doll doesn’t need or want their own sailboat for goodness sake?

Caroline’s Boat

And a very cool accessory is Caroline’s room.  If I had room to display something like it, I totally would.

Caroline’s Room

You can purchase Caroline at your local American Girl Store or online.  Her books should be available anywhere books are sold.  And for a short time, visit your local Barnes and Noble and enter to win this American Girl doll!

What do you think of Caroline?  Are you planning on picking her up?  Share your thoughts!

September 5, 2012. Tags: . Uncategorized.

6 Comments

  1. Dollgirl4 replied:

    I agree, her blond hair is a bit overused, but I love her gray eyes! I did a post on Caroline, too. Also, I love her cat!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Are they really gray? *looks online for user photos* You’re totally right! Whoops. I’ll be changing that then. 🙂 I’ll head over to your blog later today and check your post!

  2. Amy replied:

    I find Caroline a little blah, too, but I like almost everything in her collection. Her room is gorgeous, but I’m not sure I could justify that price.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Agreed on the price thing– I just hope her items find their way into a Christmas sale!

  3. George Ferret replied:

    I think she’s super cute! 🙂 but Kirsten was Sweedish, right? I would have expected that dool to be the brightest blonde, hmm…

  4. Corey replied:

    It’s not Caroline’s room, it’s her parlor set.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

