Introducing Maudlynne Macabre by Tonner Toys

I am loving the promo shots of Tonner Toys newest doll, Maudlynne MacabreMaudlynne has so many attributes that I’m drawn to, namely big, round, over-sized eyes and a fun, macabre Addams Family feeling to her!

Maudlynne Macabre

Maudlynne Macabre

Maudlynne is a whopping 15″ tall and has ten points of articulation.  She has rooted saran hair and was sculpted by the man himself, Robert Tonner.  As always, she is dressed to impress in another high quality outfit, featuring a “Victorian goth chic dress”, a headband, fingerless gloves, tights, and a pair of Mary Janes.

Maudlynne Macabre

Maudlynne Macabre

I love her face.  It is Wednesday Addams mixed with a little Susie Sad Eyes (or Lonely Lisa).  From the large eyes to the round cheeks, her features are placed perfectly. Another great aspect of her face paint is that you can truly tell the ‘character’ of the doll.  Even without the outfit, Maudlynne gives off a slightly macabre vibe from her face paint/hairstyling alone!

Unlike the affordable Little Miss Matched line also by Tonner Toys, Maudlynne is $59.99 and currently sold on Tonner Direct. Personally, I do think she’s a little expensive for a doll they call a ‘beginning collector’ doll.  Even if the quality was cut a little, I would have preferred a lower price point on her.  Plus, with a lower price point, we’d see her on store shelves like the current Little Miss Matched line. I don’t see Maudlynne popping up on Toys R Us shelves any time soon.

That being said,  I’m looking forward to seeing owner images of this Tonner Toys release because even if she’s out of my price range right now, she’s super cute (or ‘bitter sweet, as they say!)

What do you think of Madulynne? Do you think her price point is too high for the casual collector or young collector?  Do you like her style?  Share your thoughts in the comment section below!

December 19, 2012. Tags: . Uncategorized.

10 Comments

  1. Tiffani replied:

    I love this doll, and yeah, $60 is a lot, I’ll have to think long and hard before getting. I think $45 would have been a nice price point.

  2. Molly replied:

    I agree, I thought she would be closer in price the the LMM dolls. The only thing I could think of as to why she’s more expensive is maybe her face is painted instead of screened like LMM dolls. I definitely want to get Maudlynne, but I’ll probably wait and save up a little.

  3. discodiva1979 replied:

    I agree with the “Adams Family” feel -she also has the “Cutie Pop” pigeon toes. She is a cutie however-the price is up there-if she came with clothes & some accessories the $60.00 price would be more fitting.

  4. mizzmoxie replied:

    I immediately fell in love with this cute as soon as I saw your post! I know this because last night I actually dreamt I went to the store specifically to buy her!! I want her even more now!

    I love her Adams Family look too and her body is awesome, her outift is PERFECT and I love her hair. I wonder if I could carve out her eyes though and replace them with glass ones….

  5. Tiffani replied:

    I got her on sale this weekend!!! $35 on the Tonner site, I am supposed to get her tomorrow!!!! SOOOooo excited!!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I bought her this week, too, during the Toy Fair sale! Great minds think a like! 🙂

  6. Pipp Gerl replied:

    Are the plastic tags on headband removable? Are they holding her headpiece on?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I believe they hold her headband on. I wouldn’t remove them unless you don’t care if the headband stays on. Enjoy your doll! I love Maudlynne!

  7. Pipp Gerl replied:

    I want more dolls like this! Do other companies have her friends? Were they ever made? I am just getting her today and I adore her!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Maudlynne was the only one from Tonner Toys to be made for the line. For years, Tonner mentioned that her ghost friend was going to be produced, along with outfits, but alas, they never saw the light of day. Little Miss Matched (also from Tonner Toys) and Prettie Girls: Tween Scene (One World Doll) use the same body. They would make great friends for Maudlynne! You can see some comparisons in the video linked below.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

