Dolly Review: Disney Toddler Princess- Prince Eric

For Christmas, I received the Prince Eric doll I mentioned in a past installment of ‘Walking the Toy Aisle’.

The Basics:  Prince Eric is one of three male prince dolls introduced recently in the Disney Princess Toddler line sold in various retail locations.  He’s about 14 inches tall and has molded hair.  Prince Eric, as you know, is the true love to none other than Ariel, the little mermaid.

IMG_0107 copy

Prince Eric Disney Toddler Doll

Articulation:  Prince Eric is a playline doll for the younger set, so his articulation is limited.  His arms and legs move up and down and his head moves left and right.  Prince Eric is is a sturdy doll.  He’s not heavy, but he feels like a doll that’s made to last!

Clothing: Prince Eric is a well dressed toddler!  His clothing fits perfectly and is so cute!  The quality is on par with what I’d expect from a playline toddler doll.

IMG_0106 copy

Prince Eric, Long Shot

What I like:  I was drawn first to these Prince dolls because of their faces.  They’re so cute!  I love Eric’s big grin and his large blue eyes.  He looks so innocent and a lot like I’d picture Prince Eric as a kid.

Another thing to note is his hair.  It’s molded black hair, you say, what’s so special about that?  Well, I have a thing about molded hair.  Some doll lines think molded hair doesn’t need to have any ‘style’.  They think they can just paint the top of a dolls hair in some basic cut and boom, they’re done.

Prince Eric, however, actual has some style in his hair.  You can see where they tried to create parts or waves.  It’s details like that that make me really love this doll’s design.

IMG_0104 copy

True Love- Prince Eric vs Disney Animators Ariel

Toddler Doll Line vs Animator Collection Toddler Doll Line:  One huge draw for me when I added him to my Christmas list was that my Animator Collection Ariel was in need of her prince.  I wasn’t sure if their proportions would be similar, but now that I have both I can tell you that they are slightly different.

My Ariel has a much larger face with larger facial features than Prince Eric.  Their bodies are, for the most part, similar.  Height-wise, they’re nearly the same height.  Ariel may be a twinge taller than Eric.

What I Would Like to See:  Honestly, I’m not sure that I’d improve upon anything on this doll.  This is a playline doll meant for 3 and up, so it doesn’t really need more articulation and in the cuteness department, it’s all there.

True Love

True Love

Overall: While Prince Eric may not be the exact proportions of my Ariel, they really do look good together!  All in all, I think Prince Eric is a winner of a toy.

Feel like video?  Why not check out the video review?

What do you think of Prince Eric?  Share your thoughts below with a comment or two!

January 23, 2013. Tags: . Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Jennifer replied:

    I wanted to buy both prince eric, and the beauty and the beast prince (I don’t know his name), but I am having a hard time finding them, do you know where I could find them? Thanks

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I’ve seen them most at Toys R Us. The only three princes I’ve ever seen are Prince Eric, Prince Philip, and Flynn Rider. No Beast has turned up so far, though I would totally buy one!!!! My Belle needs her Beast!

  2. Dolly Review: Disney’s Frozen Toddler Anna Doll | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] tilts up, down, left and right and is super easy to pose.  Her arms have more movement than the Disney toddler dolls you see in the large retail stores, like Toys R Us.  Anna’s arms move up, down, left and […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

