Introducing Island Doll Artemis

This Christmas, I received a gift card for Denver Doll Emporium.  I held off on spending it until I found an affordable, in stock BJD.  Finally, a few weeks ago, I found the doll and ordered.  I’d like to introduce you to Island Doll Artemis. (Facebook fans, you’ve already seen some of these photos!)

This post is VERY picture heavy!  You’ve been warned!

Island Doll Artemis Promo Shot

Island Doll Artemis Promo Shot

My Artemis arrived only with eyes, not all the bells and whistles you see above.  She’s my first Yo-SD sized doll.  Her eye lashes were falling off when she arrived, hence the one on/one off state you see in this picture.  I’m not a huge fan of eye lashes on BJD’s to begin with, so it was no big deal!

Artemis- Front

Artemis- Front

Artemis- Side

Artemis- Side

Artemis- With lashes

Artemis- With lashes

Artemis- headcap

Artemis- headcap

Artemis‘s eyes were held in with tons of putty!  Also, it seems that one of the magnets unglued in transit.  Like the eye lashes, not a huge deal.  I can just glue it back in!  To save money, I decided to not buy an outfit or wig for her until convention season (this summer).  In the following pictures, she’s wearing the only dress I have that fits Yo-SD’s and the only wig I found that fits!  I hope to pick up more for her during ACEN 2013 this summer.

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!

Artemis- All Dolled Up!  (Alongside the 11th Doctor)

Artemis- All Dolled Up! (Alongside the 11th Doctor)

I plan on doing a full review on her when I get more accessories for her, but here’s a quick rundown on my thoughts.  I love her size!  I didn’t really know what ‘Yo-SD’ meant when I ordered her, but I really, really love it!  Artemis has weight to her, which I like.  She seems like a great value for her price! Artemis holds poses and stands very well. I’m very happy with her.

As I mentioned before,  I’ll do a full blown review once I get more for her (outfits, wigs, shoes, etc!  Maybe even a new name?).  Until then, why not watch the video I did for her box opening?


Have questions? Comments?  Don’t be shy!  Leave a comment below!

February 19, 2013. Tags: . Uncategorized.

7 Comments

  1. Natasha Rooney replied:

    Oh I just love deboxing videos. Seeing the new dolls is great but the best bit is watching the excitement of the person with the new doll 🙂 I don’t know much about BJDs. Are they primarily for customization and come naked and without wigs? Are the eyes always attached with putty?! I can’t wait to see what you do with her. The promo picture is beautiful. I agree that it is very pleasing when a doll has weight to it. Enjoy! Looking forward to your next post on her…. or anything else for that matter 🙂

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Asian Ball Jointed Dolls tend to in various ways. They are very customizable, which is what I find most fun about them! You can usually get a full set for lots of money that would include everything from clothes to wigs to eyes, to shoes. Literally, everything. Those can get pretty pricey, though. I prefer buying the doll, usually with a face up (factory painted face) naked and then experimenting with different outfits and wigs.

      You do have to buy pretty much everything separately for BJD’s, which is a blessing and curse. 1/6th Bobobie’s, for example, are so easy outfit. They fit Barbie clothing, which is cheap and easy to find. Yo-SD’s like Artemis, however, I’m not sure what exactly will fit her!!! I have yet to find anything in actual stores that I can put on her.

      Traditionally, all BJD’s eyes are held in with putty. It’s just regular putty, nothing special. You just put it around the eyes and they stay! (Hujoo’s have special rubber stoppers to hold the eyes, which requires no putty.) Since it doesn’t harden or anything, it doesn’t really hurt them. Plus, it’s inside the headcap, which no one ever really see’s!

      Personally, I think BJD’s are tons of fun. 🙂

  2. discodiva79 replied:

    Very interesting doll. Do you have the option of getting one with clothes, wigs? or is everything sold separately? Are the accessories pricey? Looking forward to your next post!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I believe Artemis was sold as a full set (with everything), but I decided to just get the doll with a face up. I like seeing what kind of character the doll is and usually full sets are way out of my price range!

      The accessories (outfits, wigs, etc) can go from affordable to very expensive. For example, my Bobobie March fits Barbie clothes, so her clothing is pretty easy to find and cheap! Course, if you sew and can make clothes, then you’re pretty much set! (I, unfortunately, just can’t sew!)

      The eyes usually cost $12 and up, depending on what you like. And wigs, well, they vary a lot. My wigs have all cost around $20, I believe.

      Some collectors spend lots and lots on their BJD’s, but I try to go the ‘affordable’ route! 🙂

  3. Maxine replied:

    I love love love photo 3! Aww, her cute little jointed body all unclothed and gorgeous in the full length profile photo- so so sweet. Her body reminds me of the Happy Kidz jointed bodies with the little hollow in the back- just so sweet too. Also loved the fun pic of her(you really!) playing about on the sofa!!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I really am liking the toddler sized proportions of Artemis. It surprised me, because all the other BJD’s I have in her size are skinny like Bobobie’s and Hujoo’s. I’ll have to look up these Happy Kidz you mention. I’ve never heard of them!

  4. Nella replied:

    Congratulations! Aw, she is so cute! IslandDolls are heavier than most YOSD-sized BJDs but it’s a nice weight. I don’t know if what dolls outside of BJDs are close in size with Artemis but the toddler-like body is the more common 1/6 scale body type with BJDs. Finding clothes online for her should be very easy.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

