Collector Spotlight- Ashley (aka me!)

Another month, another Collector Spotlight post!  It was always my plan for the second Collector Spotlight to give you a little more insight into myself and my collection.

I’ve been collecting in some way or another my entire life.  It is second nature to collect when you are raised by a collector!  I grew up in a home where the walls were lined with doll cases and honestly, it never bothered me in the least.  You can learn more about that collection in the premiere Collector Spotlight posted last month.  In fact, I grew up in a house that many people had dubbed the ‘creepy’ house because the large windows gave people a good view of the cases.

My collection really developed when I turned 16 and decided that of all the dolls around, I wanted to mainly collect Barbie’s Little Sister Skipper.  I chose Skipper for for a few reasons. First, I had received many Skippers for birthdays and christmas’.  Second, I identified with Skipper and loved the styles they’d put her in.  Looking back at the anime eye style Skipper’s, I still see aspects of my life and style in the 80’s!  Last, I just really loved her design.  And if you’re going to collect something, you should love it, not just like it!  That’s not to say that I don’t collect other dolls.  I do.  I have a lot of other kinds of dolls.  But my ‘showcase’ collection is Skipper’s.

My collection also includes ball jointed dolls, Monster High, Gene, Tonner, Madame Alexander, anime themed items, all things Doctor Who, wall art, My Little Ponies, etc.  When people ask me who I am, I always mention that I’m a collector.  It’s part of my identity now.  It’s who I am.

If I had to instill one thing to other collectors, it is this.  It doesn’t matter what others think of your collection.  If someone puts you down because of your doll collection, or any collection for that matter, don’t let it get you down.  You don’t collect for others, you collect for yourself.   Because it makes you happy.  Because you find joy in it.  That’s all that counts.

For a more in-depth look at my collection, I invite you to look at the gallery of pictures in this post.  I have many more pictures in the video portion of this Collector Spotlight, too!

My Walls of Dolls

My Walls of Dolls

My Skipper Case, Shelf 1

My Skipper Case, Shelf 1

My Skipper Case, shelf 2

My Skipper Case, shelf 2

My Skipper Case, shelf 3

My Skipper Case, shelf 3

My Skipper Case, shelf 4

My Skipper Case, shelf 4

Video Shoot Display

Video Shoot Display

Just Above my Skipper Case

Just Above my Skipper Case

My Madame Alexanders

My Madame Alexanders

More Dolls

More Dolls

High Shelves

High Shelves

My 'Museum' of Wall Art

My ‘Museum’ of Wall Art

Doctor Who

Doctor Who

My 'Victoria'

My ‘Victoria’

A selection of print material in my collection

A selection of print material in my collection

Plush

Plush

Me as a kid opening a Skipper Doll

Me as a kid opening a Skipper Doll

Barbie drives in style!

Barbie drives in style!

 

I did play with my dolls, but I never used marker or scissors on them!!!

I did play with my dolls, but I never used marker or scissors on them!!!

Aren't I cool?  :)

Aren’t I cool? 🙂

Just like last month’s post, this has a video element, too!  (I was a video major in school, so just go with it!)

Because this spotlight is on myself, feel free to post any questions you may have for me in the comment area and I’ll be sure to answer them!!!  I hope enjoyed this month’s Collector Spotlight!

May 18, 2013. Tags: . Uncategorized.

33 Comments

  1. barbielea replied:

    Wow, I love seeing collections altogether like this, maybe because mine are mostly packed away (although they do sneak onto shelves and other flat surfaces round the house). It’s nice to see you Genes, and your Skippers are just amazing. I have a question – where did your interest in Dr Who come from? Did you watch the older series, or was it the modern ones that caught your eye first? When I was a kid I used to watch Tom Baker and Peter Davson as the Drs, from behind the sofa like everyone else my age. I’ve been very surprised by how good the modern ones are

    • kewpie83 replied:

      There are certain things that I’ll be introduced to and then become slightly obsessed about in a short period of time. That’s kind of what happened with me and Doctor Who! I’m more ‘new Who’ than ‘original Who’. We had borrowed the 2005 reboot’s first series (with the 9th doctor) from the library and after watching like, 3 episodes I was hooked. Prior to that, I had seen some of the Tom Baker story arcs, but they never really ‘reeled’ me in. I think the improved production quality of the 2005 episodes and the fact that Christopher E. and Billie P. were fantastic had a lot to do with me falling in love with new Who! Then of course, we got the awesome David Tennant… Matt Smith is equally as fantastic, though I don’t exactly agree with the story style the current showrunner is giving us…

      I honestly wish I had watched Who when I was younger, b/c I would have loved to see if it did properly scare me. But as it stands, I was already 25 when I finally got the bug for Who! I’ve watched some of the original Doctor’s… I think of those guys, my favorites would be Jon Pertwee and of course, Tom Baker. I think it might have something to do with them both being paired with Sarah Jane, who I think was fantastic in her own right.

      Now that I’ve written you a book in response, thanks for the comment!!!

      • barbielea replied:

        Lol, no, I like it when people are super-enthusiastic about their interests – hooray for obsessions! Here’s a confession for you – my favourite Dr was probably Sylvester McCoy 🙂 I know everybody says he was rubbish but the episodes he featured in were just so out-there. I remember one where the bad-guy alien was a monster made of giant liquorice allsorts … and one about a post-apocalyptic girl gang … he was ace. I do love David Tennant too, though, I thought that was perfect casting.

        • kewpie83 replied:

          I’ll have to give Sylvestor McCoy a chance. I can honestly say I haven’t watched any of his series!

  2. beastsbelle replied:

    This was such an enjoyable post! 🙂 Thanks for sharing pics of your collection. I always enjoy seeing what others collect. I love your Doctor Who stuff…I just recently was introduced to the series and really enjoyed it overall. The Tenth Doctor is my favorite, followed by the Eleventh. 🙂 Just curious, are you planning on getting the Big Chief Studios Tenth Doctor too? I’d love to see a review (even though he will never be in my budget). :}

    The “anime eye” Skippers were from my era, although I found myself more drawn to her friend Courtney since she had brown hair and green eyes like me. 🙂 That era of Skipper dolls is still my favorite, though. 🙂

    Thanks again for sharing with us! 🙂

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Courtney is my favorite Skipper friend, hands down. She is adorable!

      I was tempted to pick up the Big Chief Tenth Doctor, but already having the Tonner version of him, I decided against it. I’m really, really waiting for the 9th Doctor, as he is ‘my’ Doctor! (This reminds me I never reviewed my 11th… I may have to do that this week!) It just seems to take Big Chief really long to get a doll out to customers. I waited months after the original ‘release date’ to get my 11th Doctor!

      I loved David Tennant’s 10th Doctor and Matt Smith is truly a fantastic Doctor, though I don’t exactly love the showrunners style…

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. Roonen1 replied:

    This was such an enjoyable post. It was so much fun to look over all of your dolls and try to see which one I recognise or have already. I only had one Skipper when I was young and I was delighted to see her front and centre on the second shelf – wearing the pink outfit.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Great shape Skipper is one of the newer dolls to be added to my collection. She has a very cute face! I’ve always found looking at other people’s collections to be great fun, too! Thanks for taking the time to comment!!!

  4. Lisa replied:

    This was such an awesome post! I loved seeing all the dolls in your collection and reading about them and learning about you as a collector. I can relate to not knowing anyone else who collects dolls. It’s nice that you have your mom to share the fun and excitement of doll collecting with.

    I noticed that you have a Maudlynne from Tonner. I’m thinking of adding her to my collection, and I’d love to know what you think about her. I just got my first Tonner doll today actually, the only Little Miss Matched left at the five TRUs that I checked. What’s your thoughts on Little Miss Matched?

    I also noticed that you have a Picocchio Pullip. I recently got my first Pullip too, a Peter Pan. A Tuesday Morning store nearby has 6 different Pullip dolls, and I’m thinking of going back for Pinocchio or Tiger Lily. They’re all so cute, it’s hard to choose, and I’m not much of an impulse shopper, so I have a really difficult time deciding.

    I’d also love to hear your thoughts on the modern Madame Alexander 8″ Wendy dolls like this one:
    http://www.amazon.com/Madame-Alexander-Collection-Americana-Series/dp/B001T4XT68/ref=sr_1_fkmr1_1?s=toys-and-games&ie=UTF8&qid=1369031750&sr=1-1-fkmr1&keywords=madame+alexander+care+bear+dolls+8+inch
    I keep seeing them in stores, but can’t find any info, blogs, reviews, or anything about them online.

    Thanks so much for sharing your collection!

  5. Andi B. Goode replied:

    Love this post! It’s really great to see collections all together. Your Skippers are amazing. She’s a really lovely doll. I like the ‘anime eye’ Skipper a lot, too. Super cute. I never had one as a child though – I only had the Skipper that came straight after.

    I keep meaning to photograph all of my own collection(s) to see how much I’ve gathered in the relatively short time I’ve been actively collecting.

    Oh, and I spied a Supernatural poster on your wall – I’ve just been re-watching all the early seasons! (And catching up on S8.)

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Yay for another Supernatural fan! My plan is to eventually get that print autographed, even if it means paying an arm and a leg. Isn’t it weird watching those early seasons? Sam is so baby faced and Dean doesn’t put on his ‘man’ voice that we’ve gotten so used to! Do you love Cas? Coz, I do!

      The Skipper you mentioned (after the anime eyed Skipper) was cute, too. I have very few of those, but am trying to get more. Slow and steady, b/c they’ve outgrown my case!

      • Andi B. Goode replied:

        😀 It is weird! And, yes, it’s funny how Dean’s voice gets deeper. Oh, I do love Cas! He’s the best 😀 Apparently he’s meant to be in S9 more?

        Haha, yes, that’s understandable! 🙂

        • kewpie83 replied:

          Yes! Totally excited about Cas being a season regular now!

  6. Teresa B. replied:

    I love the Skippers! So cute! I too love the “80’s anime style” Skippers, they are my favorite. And you are so right about collecting for you. My husband doesn’t care one way or another if I collect but he knows it makes me happy so he goes with it. 🙂 I too have a huge collection of My Little Pony including some of the houses like the “Poof and Puff Perfume Palace” and the “Satin Slipper Sweet Shoppe.” I can’t bear to part with them. So fun!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Do you have Paradise Estate or the Dream Castle b/c if so, I’m totally jealous. I wanted those as a kid so bad. (Well, that and a My Pet Monster, which I still look for new in box with chains!) I’m loving all the love for the 80’s Skipper’s I’ve heard here and on the video comments. They may not have ever been included in any price guide (grrr), but it looks like they are loved! Thanks sooo much for your comment!

  7. Taswegian1957 replied:

    I love your Skippers, she does have some lovely outfits. I spied a few that I really wanted for mine back in the day. Your Victoria is lovely too, such a pretty face and you have got a pretty good Doctor Who collection going there. It’s been interesting to see all the responses to that too.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Thanks for your comments! It seems Doctor Who, like doll collecting, is something that brings us all together! 🙂

  8. Lisa replied:

    This was such an awesome post! I loved seeing all the dolls in your collection and reading about them and learning about you as a collector. I can relate to not knowing anyone else who collects dolls. It’s nice that you have your mom to share the fun and excitement of doll collecting with.

    I noticed that you have a Maudlynne from Tonner. I’m thinking of adding her to my collection, and I’d love to know what you think about her. I just got my first Tonner doll this past weekend actually, the only Little Miss Matched left at the five TRUs that I checked. What’s your thoughts on Little Miss Matched?

    I also noticed that you have a Picocchio Pullip. I recently got my first Pullip too, a Peter Pan. A Tuesday Morning store nearby has 6 different Pullip dolls, and I’m thinking of going back for Pinocchio or Tiger Lily. They’re all so cute, it’s hard to choose, and I’m not much of an impulse shopper, so I have a really difficult time deciding.

    I’d also love to hear your thoughts on the modern Madame Alexander 8″ Wendy dolls. I really like Wendy Loves Wish Bear and Wendy as the Big Bad Wolf (actually she looks like a cat to me instead of a wolf). I keep seeing those in stores like Tuesday Morning for a great price too, but can’t find any info, blogs, reviews, or anything about them online.

    Thanks so much for sharing your collection!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Hi Lisa! I’ve been meaning to do a review on Maudlynn since I bought her and have procrastinated. However, that’s on my agenda for today, so I’ll have a review up next week for her! On Maudlynne, I really like her. I wish I could say I had a Little Miss Matched doll to comment on, but I never bought one of those. I always found them too expensive. I only bought Maudlynne b/c she was on sale and had a more appropriate price. One of my BJD’s is wearing LMM clothing, though! Wish I could say more, but alas, LMM is one of the dolls I don’t have at the moment. Was she on sale at TRU? I would have picked one up if she were!!!

      Oh, your Tuesday Mornings had the Pullips, too? I found my Pinocchio there and snagged it up as quickly as possible. At $40, I would have picked up the whole crew if they had had them. (They only had Pinocchio by the time I got there!) The Peter Pan pullip is super cute. So is Tiger Lily. One of the readers here has a Tinkerbell that is adorable, too. You may want to go back soon– my Tuesday Mornings haven’t had them in a LONG time.

      I’ll look into doing more on Madame Alexander in general. I think there are a lot of readers, like you, that may be interested. I’m not very big into collecting the 8″ MA’s, but there are some cute one’s! I have a few of them, but their strings have gotten so loose that their limbs dont’ hold positions anymore.

      Thanks for your comment!

  9. EDT replied:

    I love that you have a Furskins bear. I was born in December ’83 so the Barbies and Skippers of the 80s and 90s are the ones I identify with the most. I see a few Skippers here that I used to have and even Kevin. You have quite a collection.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      We’re practically the same age then. I was born right around Christmas in 1983! I was wondering if anyone would comment on my Furskin, since she’s hard to miss!

  10. Doll Diaries Picks of the Week Ending May 25 — Doll Diaries replied:

    […] have to go see all the amazing photos of Confessions of a Doll Collector’s Daughter’s own collection and her story – did I say […]

  11. Bernitta replied:

    Thanks for sharing your doll collection, I’m a doll collector too, for the past 7 years I’ve collected Barbie and princess dolls, stuff animals and salt n pepper shakers, people don’t understand collecting. Anyway my daughter Bella and I love your blog.

  12. Lady Camellia replied:

    I love the pics of your doll collection! It’s nice to see such variety, including vintage.

  13. Dolly Review: Maudlynne Macabre by Tonner Toys | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter... replied:

    […] a review on her.  Many people commented on Maudlynne after I featured her as set decoration in my Collector Spotlight, so I think the time to talk about her is […]

  14. molekiss replied:

    Wow big collection, their are few young doll collector it was amazing you start at very young ages I start collecting barbie at the ages 27 but I already love barbie at a very young ages. I LOVE READING YOUR BLOG, but this is the first time I posted comment, well happy collecting yeah you need to attend a barbie convention they will amazed how young are you!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      It sounds like you’ve been to a Barbie Convention, then? Lucky! Thanks for your comments! I love hearing from readers, especially lurkers! (I lurk a bunch of websites myself!)

  15. Lisette replied:

    Hi, I’m 28 and I still love my dolls! You’re totally correct about there not being that many people in our age group who collect. My favorite dolls are American girl, Monster high, and Barbie. I’ve become a little more interested in the Ever After High dolls and plan to buy a set for Valentine’s Day. Thanks for doing this blog and showing a video of your collection.

  16. Jennifer replied:

    What is the name of the dolls that you have that you showed in your video, one has teal hair and the other has grey hair and their eyes are real big and they are very pretty?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

