So Long, Molly!

Update: Molly’s end date is 12/31/13.  If you are looking to buy Molly merchandise, now is the time!

As long suspected, American Girl is retiring yet another classic historical doll. Being discontinued is none other than my personal favorite, Molly McIntire and her friend Emily.  Molly will be joining Samantha, Kirsten, and Felicity in the American Girl vault.

Molly

Molly

Molly’s story begins in 1944.  Living under the umbrella of World War II, Molly goes through a lot of things that girls today can still relate to.  Molly’s father enlists as an Army medic, her family is strapped for cash and common day items that used to be easy to find are suddenly in short supply.  American Girl put together a pretty nice introduction to Molly for their YouTube channel. You can watch it below.

I love Molly as a character.  In fact, she’s my favorite American Girl doll, hands down.  While I realize that Molly was released way back in 1986 with the Samantha and Kirsten at her side and has been available since then to doll collectors and kids alike, I don’t think Molly should be retired.  I’m not saying that only because she’s my favorite, but also because Molly’s stories take place in 1944, which is a time period that really does mirror a lot of what we in the States (and I’m sure abroad) have had to go through in the past few years.

Not only that and maybe most importantly, many of us still know people who grew up in or around World War II, so Molly’s story gives us a little more insight into what those who are still part of our lives had to to go through back in the 40’s.  My grandparents were born in the 1930’s and grew up in a world very similar to Molly.

Something important to note is that the books will still be available to the general public. Thankfully, Mattel doesn’t take away the book series attached to the dolls they reitre.  Still, I feel sorry for the girl who picks these books up this time next year when there is no dolly counterpart.

Emily

Emily

It occurred to me that once Molly is retired, I won’t actually have many ties left to American Girl.  I still would like to add a Kit or Ruthie to my collection, but I don’t actually like many of the other historical dolls, nor do I want a Just Like Me doll. If you would like to get your hands on a Molly before they are officially retired, check out the American Girl website and order yours now.  I waited and waited until it was too late to get Kirsten and still kick myself!

Molly

Molly

With that, I’ll ask you: what do you think of Mattel retiring Molly and Emily?  Do you have any memories of Molly and Emily that you’d like to share?  Write you thoughts below and share them with the world!

July 4, 2013. Uncategorized.

16 Comments

  1. Molly replied:

    It’s really disappointing that Mattel is retiring Molly, her story is a huge part of American culture. It feels like they’re getting rid of the dolls that had really powerful stories (like Kirsten being a homesteader and Felicity with the Revolutionary war) and adding in new dolls with weak stories.

  2. Teresa B. replied:

    I agree. I didn’t have any American Girl dolls but I had a book about Samantha and I read it over and over. I loved that they depicted a time where people could relate, kind of like grandparents telling their stories to their grandchildren. I’m glad that they are leaving the books though.

    And I loved pouring over the catalogues when I got them in the mail always wishing I had a Samantha. (And Molly! She was my second fav.)

  3. Dollgirl4 replied:

    I was considering getting Emily when I first heard, but have now realized I like Clementine loads better and will instead get her at some point!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I know! I’m VERY tempted to get Clementine, too!!!

  4. Angele replied:

    How much longer will she be available? My daughter is getting Molly from her Aunt for her Birthday and I would like to add Emily for Christmas. I called the store and they could not tell me. I want to make sure we get some accessories and outfits before they are gone forever.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Honestly, I’m not sure. My advice? Order as soon as you can. I’ve always found that when AG sells out an item, they do it really quickly. I’d put my money on these guys being officially retired around or just after Christmas. You may also want to check eBay now, b/c once Molly is gone, the prices her outfits and accessories will go up! 🙂

  5. Anonymous replied:

    when is molly leaving and you can’t get her as a doll anymore

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Not sure. I’d say we only will have her for a few more months. I’m sure by Christmas she’ll be gone. Course, that’s just my guess.

  6. Anonymous replied:

    When they retire a doll, will her clothes be available to buy at AM?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Nope. Get items you want ASAP, as they just sent the ‘farewell’ e-mail announcing the official end date for Molly and her line. We only have until December 31st of this year (or until supplies last) to order Molly stuff from AG.

  7. Meg replied:

    When I was 8 years old I first heard about American Girl at Girl Scout camp. One girl had Kit and said she got Kit cause she looked just like her. I was a baby fat little girl with long brown hair and glasses so I wasn’t thinking I’d be able to find a doll to look like me. But when I saw Molly I was obsessed. I got her for Christmas in 2003 and she quickly became my favorite doll. So naturally I bought Emily when she came out, even though I was in Middle School and way past my dolls days. It broke my heart when I saw them discontinuing my Molly because in my opinion the Molly books are the best written and the most interesting, then probably Samantha and Kit. I don’t understand why they would make a hype and a movie over these dolls just to discontinue them when there are other dolls, no offense if you’re a huge fan, like Josephina or Addy who have no big hype or movies and are less popular. I’ll never know why they did it but I’m so sad to see Molly and Emily go. I have just about every piece of Molly’s clothes and she’s still going to be my favorite no matter what.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Thanks for sharing, Meg! I’m with you– there are other dolls that I would discontinue before Molly, most of which were released after Mattel bought Pleasant Company. Molly will have a special place in my heart, too! 🙂

  8. Anonymous replied:

    I have always wanted a Molly because 1. I am getting glasses like Molly’s 2. I wanted the doll because I already have the first book. But I don’t want to get it on ebay or amazon.com because those Molly’s are used and the hair is messed up. Oh and one more thing Samantha is coming back in fall 2014! We get to see her again after being archived for 6 years! But when will Molly come back? :.[

  9. Dolly Report: American Girl and My Thoughts on BeForever | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] characters (including most of the original Pleasant Company girls– Felicity, Kirsten and Molly and others) and creating new illustrations and outfits for those that have stayed on in the line. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

