Dolly Review: Monster High Catty Noir (with edits on bottom)

Catty Noir is in the house!

Catty Noir

Catty Noir

For the past few weeks, toy stores have been advertising a new doll to be released on the 13th of September with a graphic that looked like Catty Noir in silhouette.  Turns out that Catty Noir was being put on shelves as early as last week.  So much for the grand unveiling on Friday, September 13th…

Cattie Noir in Box

Cattie Noir in Box

Catty Noir Box

Catty Noir Box

Catty’s back story is that she’s a teenage popstar who is tired of the lime light and ready to experience the normal high school experience at Monster High.  It looks like Catty is also featured in the new Monster High special, 13 Wishes.

Catty Noir

Catty Noir

Catty has charcoal black skin and is decked out with lots of pink.  She has long pink hair styled in a high ponytail.  Her hair looks to be rooted in two different colors, one light pink and one raspberry.

Catty Noir- Hair
Catty Noir- Hair

Her eyes are highlighted with silver and her lips are pink.  Mattel, also, accented the nose to make it look ‘cat-like’.

Catty Noir- Face

Catty Noir- Face

I like the look of Catty’s face.  I think Mattel chose colors that look good on her black body.

Catty’s limbs are black.  Our Catty’s arms don’t have 100% posability, because the rubber bands holding Catty’s necklace on are stuck in her joints.  However, if I have to choose between securing her necklace or moving her arms higher, I’ll take the necklace.

Catty Noir

Catty Noir

Catty’s legs are strange.  They seem really hollow.  They definitely feel different than her arm’s.  I don’t remember other Monster High dolls having hollow feeling legs (maybe the guys?), but I do know that I don’t like it!  The shoes even make a weird clanking sound that I don’t think I’ve heard with other Monster High dolls.  (See EDIT at the bottom of the post for a few more words on the legs.)

Catty Noir- Outfit

Catty Noir- Outfit

Catty Noir- Outfit

Catty Noir- Outfit

Catty Noir- train

Catty Noir- train

Catty Noir- shoes

Catty Noir- shoes

Onto the outfit.  I actually love Catty’s outfit.  It totally fits her character.  It’s not too showy or pageant-like.  It is, however, very pink, which works with this doll.  What I like best about Catty’s outfit is the silver, spiderweb like top.  It looks  great on the black body.  EDIT:  Her hard plastic shoes are removable.  As someone on my YouTube channel described, they come apart like a plastic Easter egg.

Catty Noir- notice her tail

Catty Noir- notice her tail

Catty Noir

Catty Noir

Overall, I like Catty a lot!  She looks so much better in person than in promo shots.  Even my pictures don’t really do her justice.  Putting aside the strange legs, Catty is a doll that has character.

Catty Noir

Catty Noir

For thsoe who like YT videos, here’s a video review of Catty.

Catty Noir- mirror

Catty Noir- mirror

Catty Noir- autograph

Catty Noir- autograph

What do you think of Catty Noir?  Share your thoughts below!

EDIT:  Since posting, people have mentioned that the legs are the same as usual, but the hard plastic shoes Catty wears could make them seem ‘off’ or sound hollow.  I compared Catty to another MH doll and it seems that could very well be the case!  Goes to show how you change one thing and the mind can easily perceive it as something more!  🙂

EDIT 2: Sorry for the typo’s in the original post.  Spotty internet decided to not save the corrections.  

September 2, 2013. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

10 Comments

  1. Sharayah replied:

    Where did you find her? Also have you had a chance to compare her legs to the other dolls you have? Her boots are removable yes?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      We found her at Target. I also saw some at TRU, though, so they seem to be making the rounds. It seems the legs are the same as the Monster Highs that have been released this year, but the hard plastic shoes make her legs ‘sound’ hollower than usual. The boots are removable, you just tear the two sides apart (like an Easter egg).

  2. Anonymous replied:

    Toys R Us had about 20 of her yesterday!

  3. tagidoll replied:

    She’s ok.

    Le Chat Noir meant that to me instead of pink better colours for her would have been yellow or red – but that will have clashed with Wydowna Spider/Webarella.

    I do love her stand, all MH stands should come this way instead of the other type which pull on clothes, and I love the fact her shoes break apart (I didn’t know until I read this). I compared her legs to Catrine’s – they both seem the same…maybe Catrine’s legs are a little thicker?

    I would love her more but I’m never going to be a fun of hot pink so…eh. Yeah, she’s ok.

  4. Once Upon A Doll Collection replied:

    Awesome pictures of Catty! I love the ones that you took of her in the dollhouse scenes!!! I have already found her at Wal-Mart here too. Looks like stores missed the memo about releasing her on the 13th. 🙂

    I also wanted to let you know that you have been awarded the “Elegant Blogger Award”. You can see all the details here:
    http://onceuponadollcollection.blogspot.com/2013/09/elegant-blogger-award.html

  5. Taylor Davis replied:

    I took my niece shopping Wednesday to get her a new Monster High Doll. Not knowing how expensive KMART sells their dolls for, we looked there. Neither my niece, Loralie or I had ever heard of Catty Noir– but she instantly fell in LOVE! (And Im not talking about just ONE, they had at least 10 boxes on display with the other MH merchandise. So, walking up to the cash register, I was feeling like the best aunt in the world for getting my niece this amazingly cool doll! But of course, the feeling didn’t last long. The lady at the registered tried to ring it up and apparently they should NOT have been on display yet.. Loralie was devastated. We checked out the rest of our stuff and walked back to find a different Monster High Doll. At the end of the day, we walked out of KMART with ANOTHER Drauculaura (she already has 4…)

  6. Catty Noir | Pixie Collections replied:

    […] time for another Monster High doll! Id seen a bunch of reviews of her online and was kind of enchanted by her so I thought Id track her down. She came […]

  7. Anonymous replied:

    I like catty noir and I also like almost all of The Monster high Dolls

  8. chloe whitcher replied:

    what do I do if her leg broke this is a child saying this please help bought her just today

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

