Dolly Review: Hujoo/Junky Spot Exclusive Nano Freya

Earlier this month, I did a quick write up on the new Nano Freya, the new anthro cat from Hujoo and The Junky Spot.  Here is the review!

Nano Freya

Nano Freya

Let’s start off with the basics.  Nano Freya is 12cm tall and takes 12mm eyes.  While she shares the same name as the 27cm female cat, you can choose to make this little kitty male or female. Nano Freya comes in two colors– white and light grey.  Nano Freya is sold without a face up.  Also, you’ll need to supply your own eyes for these guys.

Nano Freya and Freya

Nano Freya and Freya

I know that some of you aren’t fans of animal dolls.  I, however, am a sucker for most anthro BJD’s and these Nano Freya’s are no exception. Starting from the top, Nano Freya’s face is super cute. She has large, round eyes that fit with the Hujoo aesthetic and cat-like features.  The head is a similar size to the Hujoo Babies that were released a few years back.

Headcap

Headcap

Compared to the 27cm Freya and Freyr, the headcap on these guys is fantastic.  No special tools are required to detach the head from the head cap besides your nail.  And you don’t even have to break that to take it off!  Unlike the 27cm anthro’s, the eyes you use in these must be held in with eye putty.  They do not come with any sort of ring to hold the eyes.  This works in our benefit, I think, because the head is so small that the less you have to jam in there, the better!

Baby Is and Nano Freya

Baby Is and Nano Freya

As always, Nano Freya is made of ABS and is strung.  Her body is almost exactly the same as the Hujoo Babies.  The only difference I can see is that instead of hands and feet, Freya has paws. One thing I really like about this baby body is that it doesn’t have that annoying ‘ring’ around the neck that the 27cm dolls have.  It helps make poses look more natural.

Nano Freya vs Baby Is

Nano Freya vs Baby Is

Nano Freya's paws vs Baby Is's hands

Nano Freya’s paws vs Baby Is’s hands

Nano Freya's paws

Nano Freya’s feet

This tiny Hujoo body has joints on the shoulders, elbows, wrists, thighs, knees and ankles.  While the body is tiny, it poses well.  I was able to put Nano Freya in a bunch of really cute poses.  On top of that, she stands well.

Nano Freya and Is playing

Nano Freya and Is playing

Nano Freya

Nano Freya

Nano Freya

Nano Freya

Aiming High

Aiming High

Playing Together

Playing Together

One thing I really like about these Nano Freya’s is that they are very much ‘pocket pets’.  They’re inexpensive, which means you don’t have to worry too much about traveling with them.  Nano Freya isn’t heavy, but she feels like she has ‘substance’ to her.  These are the perfect size to put in your purse and take with you wherever you go.

Kittens at Play

Kittens at Play

Heart to Heart

Heart to Heart

New Heights

New Heights

Tasty Treats

Tasty Treats

I quite like these Nano Freya’s.  They are a great size and pose well!  Better still, they’re affordable.  My only concern with this line of exclusives is how many anthro cats can you produce until the concept becomes stale.  I’m not sure, but it would be great to enhance this anthro line with a new animal or two.  Nano Freya is exclusive to The Junky Spot.

Nano Freya

Nano Freya

Nano Freya

Nano Freya

Playing Together Separately

Playing Together Separately

For those who care to watch, I put a video review together on Freya, as well!

What do you think of Nano Freya?  Leave a comment down below!

Sample Nano Freya’s were sent to me for a fair and honest review. The opinions stated here (as always) are my own.

September 24, 2013. Tags: . Uncategorized.

21 Comments

  1. Maria Claudia Papi replied:

    HUJOO AND PULLIP DOLLS

    HI, I am a big fan of you and your huge doll collection . I’m brazillian and it’s very difficult to find these dolls in my country. I have a friend who is going to Orlando next month. Would you please could reccomend me a store which sells these dolls?( Pullip And Hujoo/ Nano Freya) I would appreciate your reccomendation. Claudia Papi Date: Tue, 24 Sep 2013 18:33:47 +0000 To: claudiapapi@hotmail.com

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Hi Maria! Thanks for the comment. I found a doll shop near Orlando!!!! It’s website is here: http://www.judysdolls.com/visit-our-Florida-Store.aspx. Now, I am super far away from Orlando, so I haven’t been to the store, but it has a nice selection of dolls. This store is in Deland, FL, http://www.dollsofdeland.com/, and seems to have modern and vintage dolls. I also found a list here, http://collectdolls.about.com/library/bldollshop.htm, of doll shops. None are in Orlando, but maybe some are close? None of these stores look to carry Pullips, but maybe they carry other dolls you will like! Also, the only way to get Hujoo’s here in the States is to order through online vendors like The Junky Spot or to order through Hujoo directly.

      Good luck!!!! (I’ll send these via e-mail, too!)

  2. Once Upon A Doll Collection replied:

    Awesome review! Your Nano Freyas are adorable. I love all your cute pictures of them, especially the ones with them playing with the mini Lalaloopsys in the doll house. The picture of the little white one posed on his back is precious too. You did a beautiful job on their face ups!!! I’d love to know more about what you used to do their face ups. I’d like do get a Nano Freya, but don’t have any experience doing face ups, and don’t know what I would need to use. I’m trying to decide on my first bjd right now. Have you ever heard of Doll Love? They have a really cute one called Yoyo that I like.
    Thanks for another great review!
    Lisa

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Thanks, Lisa!

      I hadn’t heard of Doll Love before you mentioned it! They do look cute. They remind me of my Island Doll BJD. I pretty much limit my BJD’s to companies that I can get through US distributors, though I’ve made exceptions. (Like my Luts, which I got through a group order on Den of Angels.) Because of that, I miss seeing dolls from other companies! (I’ll have to fix that…)

      I’ve held off on doing any face up how to’s because I feel like I’m still learning how to do them myself! I can say that doing face up’s is super easy when you have an idea and you really don’t need much in terms of supplies! It’s always been my plan to do a write up one day on face up’s, though… So keep an eye out!!!

  3. magpiecrafter replied:

    I was on the fence until you photographed them using mini lalaloopsys as dolls–adorable! I love the doll furniture you used in the pictures, who makes it? Is it Barbie?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Aren’t the Mini Lala’s the perfect size for these guys?! All the furniture came with the newest Barbie Dreamhouse. I was pleasantly surprised with how well the furniture worked for Freya’s little bitty body!

  4. Ellie replied:

    Why isn’t a face up offered with either of these dolls?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I wish I had an answer, but I don’t! I think it has something to do with the fact that it’s an exclusive to The Junky Spot and not a wide-release. However, If you search Hujoo commissions, you might be able to find a good face up artist to do up your Hujoo! (Or, why not take the opportunity to try your hand on your own face up!)

  5. Freja replied:

    Thank you so much for introducing me to these dolls, I love everything about them! I was surprised to see that these dolls share my name (Its pronounced the same way) I wonder why they are named that.. Im a fairly new doll collector but Freya, Freyr and Nano Freya is definitely on my whant list.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      You’re welcome! The first few years of collecting are so much fun! Enjoy them!

  6. cd replied:

    Fun photos! Just love them on this and your other entries!

    Please, can you tell me what ‘doll house’ or furnishings are in the one photo above — all PINK and filigree with closets? I adore it, and would like to know what it is. Thank you.

    Happy season of cheer!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      All of those photos were taken in the 2013 Barbie Dreamhouse with the accessories that came with it. I found one really, really cheap, which is the only reason I have it! Thanks for commenting!

  7. Dolly Review: Hujoo Nano Rabi | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] Rabi’s body is the same body used for the Nano Freya, right down to the clawed hands and […]

  8. Sharayah replied:

    I recently won a nano rabi hujoo from junky spot and I love it. I do have a question tho. Do you know what size clothes fit the nano body? I checked etsy and only found crochet dresses (meh). Any suggestions?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Did you try Kelly clothing yet? I’ve had good luck with that. Stay away from sleeve’s, though, b/c of her paws. 🙂

  9. Cathy L replied:

    Just bought the gray and the same day I got it ordered the white one. I have the same question.
    Where can I get clothes?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I’ve had good luck with Kelly clothes, though stay away from sleeves. The paws don’t always go through tight sleeve holes. Sleeveless dresses, though, have fit (for the most part).

  10. Dolly Review: Junky Spot Exclusive Hujoo Phoebe | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] of the past few years, namely cat anthro’s Freya and Freyr (as well as their tiny Nano line).  Just when I thought they’d cornered the market on cuteness, they go and release […]

  11. Saila replied:

    They’re so cute! My favorite pics are aiming high, new heights and kittens at play!

  12. Sheryl replied:

    I love this review and cannot wait to get one of these tiny kitties. Now, pink or grey?

  13. The Ins and Outs of Ball Jointed Dolls | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] one is Anthro. Anthro’s are animal and human hybrids, like the Junky Spot/Hujoo Freyr and Fraya‘s I’ve reviewed in the […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

