Walking the Toy Aisle

My mom and I went to our usual haunts looking for the new Monster High Frankie/Jackson 2 Pack and Slowmo.  We didn’t find either of those sets, but while shopping, I whipped out my phone to grab a few pictures of what’s currently in the toy aisles.

Look it's Tommy, or rather Darrin.

Look it’s Tommy, or rather Darrin.

Looks like Chelsea, Barbie’s little sister, is now friends with a Tommy clone named Darrin. I’m all for keeping the line fresh, but I would have preferred if Mattel had introduced a boy character that wasn’t a duplicate of Tommy.  The least they could have done was make him a burnette or red head or something like that!

Skipper with Tent

Skipper with Tent

I’ve been looking all over for Safari Skipper’s.  Finally, I found one!  Now, I imagine this is just one of two Skipper releases in this Safari line, as the back of the box showcases a doll that isn’t in her pajamas.  This one is super cute, though!  Needless to say, I picked this girl up for myself.  (Check back later for the review!)

Bedtime Barbie

Bedtime Barbie

Bedtime Barbie’s aren’t new, but this one has a unique body.  Instead of having plush limbs, Barbie has a soft torso.  It’s actually pretty neat.

Style Barbie

Style Barbie

Isn’t Style Barbie cute?  There’s a blonde, but of the two, I thought this brunette was far prettier!  Her outfit is pretty great and her shoes?  Love them!

Molded Hair Ken

Molded Hair Ken

Look who’s got molded hair!  Yep, Ken and Ryan!  A lot of the rooted Ken’s have had some pretty sketchy hair, so this change is A-OK with me.  I must say, I really like Ryan! Now, we need to get him in the Life in the Dreamhouse line!!!

Tinkerbell dolls

Tinkerbell dolls

Disney Pirate Fairies

Disney Pirate Fairies

I don’t know about you, but I love the Tinkerbell movies.  Here are four of the new affordable Disney Fairy dolls, Tink, Rosetta and new character Zarina, decked out in fashions from ‘The Pirate Fairy’.  Disney recently released photos of their special limited release dolls of Tink and Zarina, costing over $60.00.  For me, those a bit pricey and these wide release, less expensive dolls, priced around $20.00, are more than enough!

Woodzeez

Woodzeez

These are Woodzeez.  They look to be close to 5″ or so and are sold at Target.  The reason I took a picture these guys was mostly because of the accessory below.

Woodzeez Playset

Woodzeez General Store Playset

Woodzeez Playset

Woodzeez Bakery Playset

I love these playsets!!!!  They look to be a great size for Nano Freya’s or even Pinky St’s.  I hope this line does well because these little rooms look adorable.

Sofia the First

Sofia the First- Amber

Sofia the First- Sofia

Sofia the First- Sofia

I love this 5″ rooted Princess Amber doll!  Her and the corresponding Sofia are adorable.  This is bigger than the plastic (Pinky St like) mini figures and smaller than the tall 10″ talking dolls.  It’s the perfect size for backpacks or purses.  Plus, I love the rooted hair!

Mini Hello Kitty

Mini Hello Kitty

Mini Hello Kitty

Mini Hello Kitty

These mini Hello Kitty’s seem like the perfect friends for the mini Lalaloopsy and new mini Mooshka’s.

Mini Mooshka

Mini Mooshka

Different from the other mini dolls on the market, these look to be wooden.  They are a little bigger than Lala’s and the new Hello Kitty’s, but are so adorable!  I love how ‘classic’ they look!

Mooshka

Mooshka

From teeny tiny to humungous!  Mooshka seems to be expanding their line pretty quickly!  That makes me happy, as I love the simple aesthetic of this doll line.  These new super large, plush Mooshka’s look so huggable!

New Lalaloopsy Babies

New Lalaloopsy Babies

Ahhhh!  How adorable are these new Lalaloopsy babies?! I especially like the one in the middle!

Birthday Barbie

Birthday Barbie

Birthday Barbie

Birthday Barbie

For the most part, I like where Mattel decided to go here.  However, what’s with this dolls face?!  In person, it looks a bit too small for her body.  Which is strange, as usually, I’m complaining about the oversized heads on the current Barbie line.

That’s it for this Walking the Toy Aisle!  What do you think of these dolls?  Have you seen any new releases out and about?  Share your thoughts below!!!!

February 3, 2014. Tags: . Uncategorized.

9 Comments

  1. barbielea replied:

    I love these posts! As I read them, I’m always checking the side bar on my browser, hoping I’ve not got to the bottom yet 🙂 Princess Amber is my favourite, I think she has a really appealing little face. However, I think Sofia could be better, she looks overly made up. If they are 5 inches, would they fit in the Woodzeez playsets shown above?

    I have seen those Tinkerbell fairies before – while they are very nice they are not my kind of thing and I was wondering if they might be a possible body donors for my poor old broken-necked 1987 Skippers as I’ve heard that they are a similar height … I think they might be just a little bit too tall, though 😦

    I am really excited about these new Barbie Style dolls. I love this one’s Summer face and as you say, her fantastic boots, but I’m not too sure about that dress with the big lace. I’m going to hang on for the Raquelle to get released I think!

  2. Taswegian1957 replied:

    Thanks for sharing, not many of these doll have turned up here in Tasmania as yet. I have seen the molded hair Ken and Ryan and to be honest I don’t really care for them that much. I like the rooted hair ones better although I agree some of the “do’s” have been pretty odd of late. I lke the Style Barbie, the fashion booklet with her reminds me of the illustrations of earlier Fashion Fever dolls. Skipper is cute, I’ve seen a few of the new Skipper sets but not that one. I haven’t seen Darrin and Chelsea. Yes, they could have made him dark or redheaded. I’d love a ginger! I’m interested by the soft Barbie, is her torso rubbery like the Jewel Girl dolls? It’s always great fun to have a walk through the toy aisle isn’t it?

  3. AJ replied:

    I like this post!

    Lil’ Woodzeez have actually been out for awhile, though this is the first I’ve seen them expanding on the little animals you can put in the playsets. I actually bought the General Store one myself last year because it’s a great fit for G4 My Little Ponies.

    Is Slo-Mo still coming out? I’ve heard he is, that he isn’t, and then he is again… I can’t even keep track anymore.

  4. Mary Wernke replied:

    Darrin was originally one of the Heart Family Neighborhood Kids in the 1980s, and he was blond.

  5. Lori L replied:

    Love the mini Mooshkas! I’d never seen them before, but now I’ll be on the lookout when I’m shopping. Thanks for a fun post!

  6. Shannon (@shannonkay) replied:

    I’m excited to see the boy Chelsea size doll, even if he is a not-Tommy. My little girl is just getting into these kinds of things. I haven’t seen these in stores yet, are you at Target, or elsewhere?

    We’ve had a 5″ Sofia doll for a while and I snatched up an Amber the minute I saw it. My daughter loves the show and I’m glad they’re going with more of this kind of doll. The little plastic ones’ heads fall off. These can play with Chelsea.

    I saw those mini mooshka at Target last week or so and I thought they were so cute, I had to strongly restrain myself from buying about three of them.

    I like the new Barbie safari dolls, but I’m sad that the Pony Tale toys seem to have gone away really quickly. My daughter loves the movie.

  7. EDT replied:

    I have two of these new Littles though all four of their big sisters. They are cute to death, but they really went cheap with the boxes this time. I saw the new large Lalaloopsy dolls in TRU today and had to get the Japanese doll, Yuki Kimono. She’s so wonderfully unique.

    Lil Woodzeez seems to be a low cost version of Sylvanian Families/Calico Critters. Though suspiciously similar, I can’t be mad because the quality seems okay and they are half the price, $10 for a family instead of $20. I wonder how the lines compare.

    I like the new style Barbie outfits. Teresa’s my favorite that I’ve seen in person, but I like Raquelle the most. I think the Dream House series has made me a Raquelle fan girl.

  8. karinasophia replied:

    Hello!

    I’ve been looking for a Darrin doll for a friend’s daughter (lives outside the country).

    When shopping online, I noticed a huge difference in price between Darrin ($40-$80) and the other friends ($16-$20).

    Can anyone tell me why this is? Ashley- I would also love to know in what store you spotted Darrin. I would imagine that stores are not price gouging the way online retailers can.

    Thank you in advance!
    Karina

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I usually shop at Toys R Us, Walmart and Target, so I saw his Darrin at one of those three places. It was a while ago, though. My guess is that Darrin is more money b/c he’s a boy. Also, because he was a re-branded Tommy.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

