Bye, La Dee Da!

Sadly, another toy line bites the dust.  La Dee Da dolls are officially discontinued.  Apparently, 2013 was not a good year for new toy lines, with new comers Pinkie Cooper also being discontinued.  Now is the time to pick these guys up!  Who knows how easy they’ll be to find when they’re no longer on toy shelves.

Sad News

Sad News

I’m quite sad about this!  I loved the look of these dolls and thought they added color to the toy aisles.  What do you think of this news?  Share your thoughts below!

April 14, 2014. Uncategorized.

11 Comments

  1. sailingmartha replied:

    Yeah, I have a love/hate relationship with these dolls. I liked the concept of them, and some of them are absolutely lovely. But I am frustrated that they have limited articulation, and many of them have those bent frozen arms – hate!!! Also, they seemed to randomly come with/without stands – why??? I bought two originally, decided I didn’t like them enough to keep them, and sold them, then I bought two more on clearance and still have them. I’ve seen others on clearance and been tempted, but for the dang arms. I’d like to know if anyone has had success rebodying them.

  2. barbielea replied:

    Yes, that’s made me sad, although I thought it might be coming as they are only sold in discount shops over here (I might try and pick up a few more before they vanish, along with a Pinkie Cooper or two – love them). They are both beautifully designed ranges, just goes to show how tough the toy market is these days. I’d agree with sailingmartha that more articulation would have been better on the La Dee Das, but I don’t know if it would have saved them. Personally, I think they looked great but they were a little too concept-driven – dolls dressed like pineapples and bumblebees are great to look at, but are they as great to play with? Similarly with Pinkie Cooper, I think they might have done better if they’d included some other breeds of dog – and cats – as their base animals, and widened the appeal a little. Still, I did like both these lines as they were. Such a shame, I hope this doesn’t put toy developers off funding innovative doll ranges in the future …

  3. Pinkie Cooper and La Dee Da on Clearance | Dollsville, USA replied:

    […] #2: La Dee Da dolls have been discontinued. Kewpie from Confessions of a Doll Collector’s Daughter emailed Spin Master, who confirmed that the dolls will no longer be […]

  4. rainbow pallette replied:

    That’s to bad I really wanted pinkie cooper

  5. Bette replied:

    that’s too bad about these dolls, they were cute, but the only negative thing was that you couldn’t really do anything with them other than put them on a doll stand, so they wouldn’t appeal to the young children. Most children like to pose their dolls.
    What a shame 😦

  6. Dawn Walters replied:

    Wow just last year I wrote them about making a doll house for them. I think they got away from their theme and Le bun. They geared tword Fairy tales and Princesses with the Fairy Tale Dance line. the market is flooded with fairy tale and princess dolls and did away with the stands. They had something but they blew it by getting lazy and cutting corners.

  7. CypressDoll replied:

    I loved the imagination in their outfits and was really attracted to their bright colors, but I just couldn’t get past their limited mobility. I never bought one, despite how much I admired their style. I like to be able to pose my dolls.

  8. Spin Master's La Dee Da doll are no more | My Dolls :: A Blog About Barbie and Other Fashion Dolls replied:

    […] Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter and Dollie News I’ve found out that the La Dee Da dolls have been […]

  9. Paige replied:

    La dee da was creative, and I for one will miss that.

  10. Walking the Toy Aisle | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] to my surprise.  Think about the number of doll lines we lost this past year– Pinkie Cooper, La Dee Da, Liv (though it seems they were officially discontinued back in 2012!) to name a few.  The fact […]

  11. In Memoriam: Doll Lines We Lost in 2014 | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] to the sale shelves.  It was confirmed early 2014 that Dee and her friends were being put into the Spin Master vault.  It’s kind of sad.  I was a huge fan of this line.  Yes, they needed to work on the […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

