Collection Close Up: Custom Once Upon a Time Inspired Emma Swan Pullip

Once Upon a Time is one of my favorite shows and it has been since the pilot episode.  For those who haven’t heard of it, here’s a quick synopsis.  Once Upon a Time is a fantasy show that follows storybook characters who were taken, memories ripped from them, from their fairytale home to Storybrooke, Maine, USA.

Once Upon a Time poster

Once Upon a Time poster

Emma Swan, one of the leads, is a woman who grew up in the foster care system and one day finds a boy at her door.  This boy brings her to Storybrooke and from there, she learns that not all is what it appears to be.  I’m notoriously bad at describing my favorite tv shows or books, so even if this doesn’t sound appealing, check it out (today, if possible).  It’s a really, really good show.

Jennifer Morrison as Emma Swan in a Once Upon a Time promotional Still

Jennifer Morrison as Emma Swan in a Once Upon a Time promotional Still

Why am I writing about Once Upon a Time here on this doll blog?  Well, it occurred to me that Once Upon a Time is a series I would love to have in doll form.  Unfortunately, as of this post, I haven’t seen any official releases or even any gossip about any doll lines being planned.  I decided a few months back that if there was to be no official line, I would just customize a few dolls myself and create my own personal Once Upon a Time collection!

I have picked up a few Pullips that I thought had the right ‘vibe’ for particular characters.  For example, I purchased a Roman Holiday Pullip because I thought she was a good fit for Mary Margaret, otherwise known as Snow White.  I also picked up a Taeyang Gackt, because he reminded me of the dashing pirate Captain Hook.  (Admittedly, he doesn’t look a lot like Colin O’Donoghue, but until I find the perfect Taeyang, he’ll have to do!  You can’t deny he has a similar vibe with the eye make up and outfit!)

For Emma Swan, I went the extra mile.  After finding the perfect body and face on a Pullip Select Melissa, I sought out some talented folks on Etsy to see if they could help me with getting the outfit right.

Pullip Select Melissa

Pullip Select Melissa

Before I go any further, let me tell you a bit about the Pullip Select line, because I think a few of you might care to know about it.  For years now, you had to buy a factory Pullip with a factory outfit, making the Pullip’s price a bit daunting, especially for those that like to change the dolls outfits or customize certain aspects of the dolls look.  Pullip Selects are basic Pullips, packaged wearing a doll sized towel, with a factory wig (glued on) and factory face up.  Because the factory outfit isn’t included, these Pullip Selects are under $100.  My Pullip Melissa was only $58.00, which I think is a bargain.  It saved me from paying over $150 on a doll that I was going to re-dress anyway!

Back to my Once Upon a Time Pullip story…  Last month, I contacted Lovely Cie on Etsy and asked if she would re-create Emma Swan’s outfit in a Pullip friendly size.  I also contacted custom Pullip shoe crafter Milky Way Blythe to get the proper footwear.  Lovely Cie was a joy to work with.  She kept me updated on everything, sent me photos to show me what she’d done and in the end, she created a great Pullip sized Emma outfit, complete with jeggings, a white tank top and Emma’s token red jacket.

Milky Way Blythe had the perfect pair of shoes on her Etsy already, so I didn’t have to request a custom order.  Shipping for both the outfit and the boots was super quick, which I didn’t expect as the outfit came from France and the shoes from Hong Kong!

Enough back story. Are you ready for the big debut?  Here you go!  Here’s Emma Swan, making her debut in Pullip form!

Emma Swan Pullip

Emma Swan Pullip

Pullip Select Melissa Face aka my new Emma Swan Pullip

Pullip Select Melissa Face aka my new Emma Swan Pullip

Notice the token red jacket Emma's wearing, crafted by LovelyCie on Eetsy

Notice the token red jacket Emma’s wearing, crafted by LovelyCie on Etsy

Boots, crafted by Milky Way Blythe on Etsy

Boots, crafted by Milky Way Blythe on Etsy

And here’s a few with my current Captain Hook…

Custom Emma and Hook (Taeyang Gackt)

Custom Emma and Hook (Taeyang Gackt)

Custom Emma and Hook (Taeyang Gackt)

Custom Emma and Hook (Taeyang Gackt)

Custom Emma and Hook (Taeyang Gackt)

Custom Emma and Hook (Taeyang Gackt)

So, there you have it!  My custom Emma Swan from the fantastic TV show Once Upon a Time.  I’d like to send a huge thank you out to Lovely Cie and Milky Way Blythe.  This Pullip Select Melissa could have never been transformed into Emma Swan without your talents!

Here’s the video reveal!

So, readers, I want to hear from you.  What do you think of Emma?  Is there a TV or movie character that you’d like to see in doll form?  Share your thoughts below!

May 6, 2014. Tags: . Uncategorized.

29 Comments

  1. Fran Daniele replied:

    My dd and I are addicted to Once Upon a Time. We defintely look foward to watching every Sunday! I love your idea of a doll line. The Pullip is beautiful and makes a perfect Emma Swan. I hope you continue customizing dolls for other characters. Can’t wait to see Snow White but now you must create a Prince Charming too! Please keep sharing. My dd is sleeping now but I will definitely show her Emma tomorrow:)

    • kewpie83 replied:

      It is my plan to get more for my collection! Emma was easy, because she doesn’t have two characters… Now, I have to figure out if I want their fairytale look or their Storybrooke look!

      • Susie replied:

        I love your website will you ever do more reviews on ever after high dolls?

        • kewpie83 replied:

          I try to get as many EAH reviews up as a I can. The problem is that I don’t collect every EAH doll. I really only collect the new characters. When I do eventually find them, I will always post them here! 😉

          • Susie replied:

            Alright ! P.s I love ouat

    • Meaghan replied:

      Is there any chance that you can sell a replica? I have been trying to recreate it but I am having no luck. I am so excited about more in your collection!

  2. Lisa Hailes replied:

    Love Emma. She’s perfect! Hope to see Snow and Charming soon. I’m gonna look at dolls with a new eye now. Yes, I’m a fan of Once Upon a Time since the first episode. Then, OUAT in Wonderland came out. The story lines in both shows are great; you can not guess where they’re going. But it’s the COSTUMES that I watch, thinking, “Oh, I need that as a doll costume and that one and oh, yes..that one!” How can you NOT want dolls to look like this?!? Brilliant blog. It makes me smile.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Thanks! I agree– some of the costumes are fantastic! (Some are a bit out there– like everything Belle wears!) I liked Wonderland, but found that it wasn’t as great as the original for me. I’m SUPER excited about the Knave coming over to OUAT, though!!!

  3. OnceUponADollCollection replied:

    Oh my goodness! Your custom Emma and Hook are wonderful!!! We are huge Once Upon A Time fans. I showed my daughter just one of your pictures of your Pullip versions without telling her what it was, and she immediately said Emma and Hook!!! So you are right on target with perfect doll versions of these characters since she recognized them immediately! I love them both! Great job!!!

    • Teresa B. replied:

      These are great. I love creating dolls out of TV shows and movies (and for me, it’s creating video game characters!) They are perfect!

      • kewpie83 replied:

        I can imagine some pretty awesome video game themed dolls! Some of the character designs in video games are amazing!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Ah! Awesome! I was a little worried that no one would know what I was talking about!!!!

  4. ghouliette replied:

    I love Once Upon A Time too, and I love your custom Emma and Hook dolls. I’ll have to check out the Pullip Select dolls too.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Yeah, I LOVE the Pullip My Select dolls. I hope they continue with different face molds.

  5. Pauline replied:

    I LOVE OUAT!!!! My BFF and I basically live off of it!!!!! Huge fangirl like can’t even!!! I TOTALLY SHIP CAPTAINSWAN I’VE SHIPED IT SINCE THE START OMG!!!! I love your dolls and I am so exited that someone is finally making some!! Emma is so accurate and hook’s outfit is really nice.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Gackt’s jacket (and his angsty eyes) were what drew me to Gackt as Hook. I still need to really customize him, but for now, those two aspects are enough. I’m super excited with how Emma turned out. (Girls are so much easier to customize!)

  6. Lily replied:

    Idk if the dolls our done yet bet honestly that Hook doll looks NOTHING LIKE HIM!!! AND AS A FANGIRL THAT REALLY SUCKS!! So maybe just consider redoing LIKE ALL THE FACE!!! 😑 😱😡😡😡😡

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Hi Lily. As I said in the post, Gackt is standing in as Hook, because I think he has a similar ‘vibe’ to the tv character. I haven’t re-worked him yet at all in terms of looks. One day! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  7. Dolly Review: Groove Make It Own Kit | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] Pullip related products.  The first was the My Select line, which helped me put together my Emma Swan custom.  The second was this Make It Own kit.  This Make It Own kit is pretty neat.  It is an […]

  8. Puddle 2014 | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] pick up a Make It Own or My Select set to customize my own doll or even get a head start on my next Once Upon a Time based doll.  Unfortunately, none of the vendors had those sets.  The backup plan was to find […]

  9. h replied:

    Beautiful custom! Once Upon a Time is a great show. Funny that you post this, because I am considering making a custom pullip of my own using select melissa a a “base”. P.S great post as always, and the custom is going to be Marie Antoinette with full-blown french court undergarments

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Melissa seems like an all purpose kind of Pullip. She fits so many characters! Good luck on your Marie Antoinette!

  10. Nicole Tan replied:

    Pullips are so awesome! 😀

  11. Collection Close-Up: Once Upon a Time Inspired Mary Margaret/Snow Pullip | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] it a goal to create a Once Upon a Time inspired Pullip collection.  Last year, I showcased my Emma Swan. Today, I’d like to introduce you to Mary Margaret aka Snow White. Mary Margaret is played by […]

  12. Puddle 2016 Recap | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] breakout session. Yours truly participated in the Dress Like Your Doll contest as Emma Swan. We (Pullip Emma and I) didn’t win, but it was an interesting experience. A lot of cool Pullip and friends […]

  13. tinadoyle replied:

    Any chance you would sell your Emma Swan Doll? Or know where I could get a similar one? I have a nine year old that has it as her only request on her Christmas letter to Santa.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Unfortunately, my Emma is not for sale. I poked around the internet to see what other Emma Swan doll options were out there. It looks like everything I used to create this custom is now either out of stock or the customizer is on vacation. I suggest looking for a customizer on Etsy who can create the look for you in the size you’d like (Barbie, 18″) and then finding a doll that kind of fits Emma’s look. This looks like a pretty awesome 18″ jacket and the seller has jeans, too! Good luck! I know you’ll be able to pull something together to make this gift happen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

