Tomorrow They May Wrap Fishes In It…

Exciting news!  An editor from Complete Wellbeing, an english language magazine published in print in India and digitally worldwide, contacted me in December about my collection.  She asked if I would be interested in writing an article about the hobby, a confession of sorts.  Of course, I jumped at the chance.  A byline with my name on it? I’ve tried to get that for years now!

So, I sat down for about two and a half hours and went to it, writing 1200 words about doll collecting and this little blog.  I’ve had close calls before, where media have asked me about certain projects and then dropped out, so I wanted to wait until I could confirm that this article was in print before letting everyone know.  Well, it’s confirmed!

My Article!!!!  (Pages 1 and 2)

My Article!!!! (Pages 1 and 2)

My Article (Page 3)

My Article (Page 3)

Because the magazine isn’t widely available, I took some screen captures of my article for you guys to view.  They’re not great quality, but they’ll have to do until I get my copy of the physical magazine.  This article could never have happened without you guys!  Thank you for inspiring and encouraging me over the years! Hopefully, this means 2015 will be another amazing year of reviewing and collecting!

Readers can find this article in the January issue of Complete Wellbeing in the ‘Confession Booth’ section. (By the way, if you didn’t catch it, the title of this post is a reference to one of my favorite movies, Newsies, where they sing, “Tomorrow they may wrap fishes in it, but I was a star for one whole minute!”) Here’s to a fantastic 2015!

January 7, 2015. Tags: , . Articles and Doll Histories, Spotlight Posts, Uncategorized.

22 Comments

  1. Yvette replied:

    Excellent article! I enjoyed reading it a lot. “Doll collectors are just people who were able to save a bit of ‘childhood magic’ as they grew” – very nicely said, and I agree!!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Thanks! I wasn’t sure if that line would come across well, but I liked it, too.

  2. discodiva1979 replied:

    WoW! You Go! Congratulations! You & your lovely mother so deserve it! I would love a hard copy for myself too!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I put a call out to fans in India on my FB page for hard copies. I want to get one to keep pristine and one to frame. And I need one for my mom, since she’s featured in a photo.

  3. barbielea replied:

    That is marvellous news! Congratulations 🙂

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I’m very excited about it! (Just wish it was more accessible!)

  4. ghoulia13 replied:

    Congratulations on being a published author! e doll collectors are no different than, say, model train hobbyists. 🙂 That’s why I like watching shows like The Toy Hunter. We are not alone!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I was a Toy Hunter fan, too. Whenever my mom and I see a Mego doll, we go into his spiel! (And thanks!)

  5. Linda replied:

    Congratulations! A great start of the new year.

  6. Sarah Sequins replied:

    Wow, that’s exciting!!! I can’t wait to have a read.

    Also, that photo of your doll room is amazing. I love how the displays go almost all the way up to the ceiling! I’m going to be a total dork and say… nice use of vertical space. 🙂

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I’ll pass it along to my mom. Those are actually her dolls in the background of the group photo! Mine are all over the place. Not very easy to photograph!

  7. Scraps replied:

    Congratulations on the byline! International at that!

    • Barbara replied:

      Congratulations on being selected and then having it published. What a great way to start the New Year

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Thanks!

  8. Teresa B. replied:

    Congrats! That is awesome news. Having a published article…so exciting! I had to giggle because your mom and mine taught us the same things about our dolls when we were little. Every piece of clothing had it’s place in the “barbie closet”, all dolls were dressed when stored, and never ever cut the hair! (Mine never went in the bathtub either, I was afraid of messing up some of their beautiful curls!)

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Same here. I only had one or two Skippers that found there way into the bath and they were bathing suit ones with color changing suits. 🙂

  9. Blackkitty replied:

    Wonderful article, very well written and interesting! I can connect to many of the things you said. Congratulations on getting published!

  10. A Doll Blogger at Toy Fair | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] The article below was originally written as a spec article for Dolls Magazine. Spec articles are essentially writing samples that you hope will entice an editor enough to give you a chance at getting an article in their magazine. I gave them a few weeks to get back to me. After receiving no response at all regarding my submission, I decided it was best just to post it here on the blog. Some of what is stated here is repetitive for long time readers, but there may be some fun facts in this article for you to enjoy! (And for those who missed it, be sure to check out my article in the January 2015 issue of Complete Wellbeing!) […]

  11. The Liebster Award, Tagged by BlackKitty | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] I am very proud of. Also, because of this blog, I was able to pen an article on the hobby for Complete Wellbeing back in January. Without a blog, the magazine would have never been able to find […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

