Dolly Review: Four Season Fairy ‘Spring’ Kurhn 1128

This Christmas, I received a new Kurhn to add to my growing collection.  I’d like to introduce you to the Spring fairy from the Four Season Fairy collection.  For those who are new to the line, here’s some background for you.  Kurhn‘s are Chinese fashion dolls.

Spring

Spring

They are, apparently, made in the same factories Mattel uses for their Barbie line. They are 11″ or so tall and are known for their clean, innocent faces and pretty fashions.

Spring

Spring

Kurhn

Spring

Cutting right to the chase, Spring Kurhn is gorgeous.  She has the simple, elegant face we’ve grown accustomed to, with large brown eyes and minimal cheek and lip color.

Spring

Spring

Spring

Spring

This Kurhn’s hair is more detailed than any of the other dolls I own.  She has two braided buns, one on each side of her head. A small section hangs loose in front of her and is attached (loosely) to her dress.  Placed near her right bun is a small, white flower.

Spring

Spring

Spring

Spring

Spring

Spring

And her dress?  So pretty!  Spring Kurhn wears a beautiful outfit with a few pieces.  First, she has a shawl made of rainbow ribbons.

Spring

Spring

Her strapless dress is very elegant with a white bodice that moves into a flowy pastel aqua print that features white flowers with red accents.  To me, the fabric is reminiscent of a water color painting.

Spring

Spring

Her dress goes all the way past her feet by a good two inches, where we see the second layer of the dress, a solid pastel yellow.

Spring

Spring

She also wears a short jacket with long flowy, sleeves in he same aqua color as her dress. Interestingly enough, my Spring Kurhn didn’t have any shoes.

Spring

Spring

Spring Kurhn is the first Kurhn in my collection to have joined elbows and knees.  It’s impossible to take her dress off without ruing the outfit on this particular doll, so forgive me not having a full photo of this new body type.

Spring

Spring

The jointed bodies feel different than the non-jointed ones, but they don’t feel cheap. The best way to describe the difference is that the non-jointed bodies feel lighter than the vinyl ones, but not hollow or cheap.

Spring

Spring

With each Kurhn I add to my collection, I am more and more impressed.  This is a quality doll line and I really, really hope to add more to my collection in 2015!  You can find Kurhn’s most easily on eBay.  For those in the States (and possibly elsewhere), you can also buy them via China Sprout.

Kurhn and 11th Doctor

Kurhn and 11th Doctor

Spring

Spring

Did you receive a Kurhn this Christmas?  Do you want a Kurhn this year?  Share your thoughts below!

January 20, 2015. Tags: . Uncategorized.

11 Comments

  1. aggeliki replied:

    I own two kurhn dolls and I absolutely love them. Very pretty is also another smaller version of the kurhn doll which is sold with sets like a grocery shop.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I may have that version, too. One of mine came with a sofa and a chair. She seemed a little more basic, but just as high quality.

  2. TSMBarbie replied:

    Beautifull doll and very nice dress, I love it!

  3. Barbara Forde replied:

    How does one order?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      The best route is to try eBay. If you’re in the States, China Sprout sells them, too.

  4. barbielea replied:

    Great pictures – the Dr seems very pleased with his new friend 🙂 as you know, I LOVE Kurhns (you should know, as it was you that got me hooked). I only have two so far, and I must do something about it this year but the only place I can easily source them in this country is from AliExpress and I don’t quite dare, as I’ve heard bad things. I think your spring Kurhn is wonderful. I actually like that she comes without shoes. I don’t feel much like wearing shoes in the springtime either ….

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I cannot apologize for getting you hooked on these! 🙂 Everyone should be!!! I’m actually super surprised at how difficult it is to get these, even in the States. AliExpress scares me, too. China Sprout ships abroad, I think, but import feels are probably really, really high!

  5. ghouliette replied:

    She’s so pretty! She and The Doctor make a cute couple.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      They do make a cute couple! I don’t know what it is, but I LOVE Kurhns with my Doctor!!!!

  6. Staff Picks / January 2015 | Doll Mag replied:

    […] Our backyard is currently covered in snow, so the Confessions of a Doll Collector’s Daughter review of the Kurhn Spring doll is definitely a welcome reminder of the upcoming warmer months. The lovely photography makes this […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

