Dolly Re-Root: Little Miss No Name

Last week, I finished a new re-root. Surprise, surprise, it’s a Little Miss No Name!  While not in horrible shape, this particular Little Miss No Name had very dry hair.

Before

Before (Actual before shot disappeared, so but this is close!)

For her re-root, I used nylon Carrot Cake.  Carrot Cake is a very strange color.  Dollyhair describes it as, “More muted than pumpkin spice, but it is still an auburn color. It is more red than amaretto.”  The thing I love about Carrot Cake is that it seems to change color in different lights.  It’s redder than it looks in these photos and sometimes has a bit of a muted pink hue to it.

After

After

After

After

This Little Miss No Name received a shorter do than the usual.  I think it looks great!  Have you re-rooted any dolls recently? Share your thoughts below!

February 2, 2015. Tags: . Uncategorized.

16 Comments

  1. Emma replied:

    I love her new wig! It looks great on her!:)
    -Emma-

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Thanks! Actually, it’s a re-root. Not a wig. I put new hair in her hair plugs. 🙂

  2. Shirley replied:

    I really like the color and the length you chose for her hair. She looks adorable!

  3. Bad touch Bear replied:

    Wouldn’t it have been cheaper for you to buy a wig (on eBay) and use that to re-root?

    Also would you happen to know any sites that sell doll hair that is ‘sparkly’ or have those little strands of tinsel?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      LMNN took around 5 hanks, so $60. It may be cheaper to buy a wig, but it would be a lot more work. Cutting the hair, sorting it by length, trying to keep it from getting tangled… Too much prep for me! As far as sparkly hair, that’s a great question. I don’t recall seeing any on Dollyhair. Maybe http://www.restoredoll.com/ has some?

      • Bad touch Bear replied:

        WOW 60 dollars…That’s a lot; then again I don’t know much about making re-rooting and normal costs.

        After I asked you that question about tinsel hair I looked around and mailed a person from retro something. I visited restoredoll and didn’t see anything. I think I might end up buying something strange off of eBay.

        Thanks for the information!

  4. Sarah Sequins replied:

    What a great re-root! And an awesome color.

    I’ve been finishing off a few projects here and there. I re-rooted a reproduction Black Barbie with long saran hair, and she looks adorable. I also re-rooted a So In Style Trichelle with black orchid saran and some maroon highlights. I’m in the middle of turning a Barbie into Duchess Swan from Ever After High. If only there were more hours in the day!

    — Sarah ❤

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Wow! So many re-roots. I’m so horrible at putting re-roots aside for other things. My next project is a Giggles I bought back in October. Not sure what color I want to make her yet!

  5. Debbie Miller replied:

    WoW! so nice! She looks gorgeous-did you teach yourself to re-root? Do you have a video of doing one? It’s very impressive

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Thanks! I re-root using the tool method and have been doing it for a few years now. I learned through the instructions on the dollyhair site and youtube videos.

      I just put together a re-rooting tutorial. It doesn’t show the entire head getting done, but it gives you an idea of what I do. 🙂

      • Genny replied:

        Interesting. I’ve always been scared to use the glue method on vintage or expensive dolls. I worry about ruining the inside of the doll. I’d love to hear what glues you use and what its like after they dry in terms of styling. Have you ever you ever used the knitted or lock and loop method? The lock and loop method seems to be easier with dolls that have caps and such like Blythe. Or for creating wigs.

        Loved seeing the video! (I love all your videos and the large variety of dolls in your collection.)

  6. kristoffsanna replied:

    Very nice! Me like, me like!

  7. Genny replied:

    Oh, and I love the colour you chose. Such a perfect colour to match her eyes.

  8. Teri Meyer replied:

    Do you sell any of these?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

