Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Gallery

Monday, I visited the Mattel Gallery at New York Toy Fair.  It was amazing.  Like myself, I think you’ll love what Mattel has in store this year for their fashion doll lines!

Before we get to my favorites, here’s a video!  It will give you an idea of what Mattel has in mind for 2015!

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

Here’s a few highlights from the gallery floor! Starting off with the most exciting reveal, Mattel is planning on releasing more than one 17″ doll!  In the upcoming Freak Du Chic line, we’ll meet Gooliope Jellington, daughter of the blob.  What makes her special?  She’s a whopping 17″ tall!

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

Jointed in all the same locations, she looks amazing.

 Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

One 17″ doll would be great on its own, but Mattel is also creating larger versions of our favorite ghouls, Frankie, Draculaura and Clawdeen!  They look really, really neat in person.  Hopefully, my photos do them a little justice!

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

The Boo York trio is pretty exciting, too.  My favorite is Elle Eedee (center of photo).  The other two are (left) Luna Mothews and (right) Mouscedes King.

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

We’ll be meeting one other new ghoul in the Boo York line and she has a gimmick.  Her name is Astranova and she levitates. The effect is neat, though the price point ($50.00) is a bit much.  I’ve always cared more for the dolls than the gimmicky playsets, myself.

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

There wasn’t much in the Ever After High station that was new.  A lot of what they were showing had been leaked or was already on store shelves.  However, I loved being able to see the new Wonderland dolls, especially Alistair Wonderland (son of Alice)!

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

Bunny Blanc (daughter of the White Rabbit) is pretty neat, too.  I’m not a huge fan of the Charming brothers sister, Darling Charming, though, which is interesting, as I usually like the Rebels.

As far as Barbie, Hello Barbie is the item to check out this year!  Hello Barbie is an interactive, wifi enabled Barbie.  You can actually hold a conversation with her, as opposed to her saying the same stock sayings in a random order.  She was created with technology that will remember what you say, too, which is fantastic.  For example, if you say you like bagels, she’ll remember that and bring it up again in conversation.

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

The downside I see with Hello Barbie is that due to her technology, her clothing is permanently on her.  You can only change her outside jacket.  It would have been nice to be able to change her outfit.

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

It was fantastic being able to see all the new Fashionista faces in person.  There are so many I love, which is strange for me, as I haven’t wanted to buy a Fashionista ever. My favorite is the Barbie with the half flocked/ half rooted style.  I didn’t notice it in the dolls at the show, but the PR rep said they’d have the new ankle joint (which allows them to wear heels and flats).

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

Being a Skipper collector, this caught my eye.  The doll below looks like she could pass for an older Skipper.  Do you see it, too?

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

Barbie and the Royals were on display at the show, as well.  That excited me, too.  One of my side collections is Barbie and her bands and it’s been a while since they’ve done a band!

Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Booth (Barbie, MH, EAH)

So, that’s what I am excited for when it comes to Mattel and their fashion doll lines! For more photos, check out my Flickr album. What are you looking forward to from Mattel in 2015?

 

February 19, 2015. Tags: . Uncategorized.

20 Comments

  1. 39yearslame replied:

    Those new Monster High offerings sound really great. I’m sad they’re ignoring She-Ra’s 30th anniversary, though. They should be sad, too: a beautiful new line of She-Ra dolls would have given Mattel even more of my money than they’re already getting.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Oh, is Matty Collector not doing anything? I would think if Mattel was going to show off a She-Ra, it would be through Matty Collector.

      • 39yearslame replied:

        Well, I sort of assumed that if they were doing anything, it would have been mentioned here. Hopefully I’m wrong, and the collector line will do something. That would be nice. (Personally, I’d settle just for exact recreations of the original dolls.)

  2. barbielea replied:

    Thankyou so much for posting this Kewpie! I really envy you and have SO much to say about it all – going to try very hard to be brief, here goes 🙂

    I LOVE the idea of 17″ MHS, the big new doll looks great but I’m very disappointed there’s no new design for the three existing characters – I’m tired of seeing the first-wave look now. Love the Moth girl too.

    EAH is just amazing right now and I have so many of these dolls on my wish list, including all the Wonderlandians. Shame that Mattel don’t distribute sufficiently to other countries and the prices are so high over here, I just can’t afford to purchase as much as I’d like.

    New Barbies! I see 7 or 8 I absolutely love – design-wise, I think they’ve turned a corner. However, I’m bitterly disappointed that these dolls aren’t pivotal. I really don’t care about the ankle joint, if the rest of them is stiff it’s no good to me. I’ve actually considered stopping collecting Barbies, I am so annoyed about this – it’s not even like Barbie Style is readily available in my country now, so I’m running out of affordable rebodying options too.

    Lastly – the blue-haired doll with the pink piano guitar <3!!!!

    Haha I tried!! Thanks again, hope you're having a great time 🙂

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I actually told the rep that I was having a lot of trouble finding the new EAH releases. She reacted like it was a surprise to her that they were so hard to find. -_- Right. I don’t quite get the lack of proper jointing in the fashionista’s, either. I thought that was their thing– that they were jointed more than usual dolls. (Course, like I said, I don’t actually own any, so I could be totally wrong.)

      Oh! I thought of you this weekend. You collect So In Style, right? Do you own any One World Doll Project dolls? It’s the same designer of the SOS dolls. (http://oneworlddolls.com/)

  3. Bad touch Bear replied:

    http://www.amazon.com/Monster-High-Amanita-Nightshade-Doll/dp/B00MZ6OA62/ref=sr_1_1?s=toys-and-games&ie=UTF8&qid=1424366955&sr=1-1&keywords=monster+high+dolls

    I’m a little confused, they didn’t talk about Amanita Nightshade but they had the daughter of big foot and Nessie.

    I cant wait to see the Circus dolls and the giant blob doll!

    I had just watched on Netflix ‘Spring unsprung’ for EAH so I had a clue about what new dolls were coming out for their line and I have to say although the faces I were never too fond of – I’m considering buying the female gingerbread doll and blanc.

    Thanks for sharing this, although I live in NYC I’m not one to visit such events.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I was kind of surprised they showed the Exchange line, too. That’s been out forever.

      • Bad touch Bear replied:

        I JUST realized this a little earlier but they actually have a big variety in dolls. I had totally forgotten about the pirate/styxx/Japanese ghost dolls. What did you think of the talk back Barbie?

        I didn’t think much on personality.

        • kewpie83 replied:

          Gimmicky Barbie’s aren’t really my thing, but I’m keeping an open mind. I don’t like that she can’t change her outfit, but at least she has a pretty face. I could see a young kid being really excited.

  4. sondrabj replied:

    I bought two Monster High dolls from a young collector at a doll show last year. I confess to not know much about the line but now I want to know more! Sani Doll Face

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Oh, Monster High is tons of fun to collect!

  5. Taswegian1957 replied:

    No male dolls? That’s disappointing.

  6. aggeliki replied:

    Thank you so much for showing us all these great pictures. I am so excited to see the new Barbie band, it will definetely be on my shopping list. You should a review for Barbie and her bands. Rockers is my favorite doll line. Do you know the price for the dolls of the band?

  7. Andi B. Goode replied:

    I’ve been drooling over the half flocked/half rooted Barbie for so long! I can’t wait to be able to get her.

  8. Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Gallery | Chrysalis Creation replied:

    […] Toy Fair 2015- Mattel Gallery. […]

  9. A Doll Blogger at Toy Fair | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] This new element adds extra dimension to conversational play. With these elements, which in most cases allow the dolls to connect to secure databases, dolls can understand what you’re saying, retain it and respond appropriately. Dolls with this technology will be seen later this year in My Friend Cayla and Hello Barbie. […]

  10. Cerise replied:

    Darling Charming is a Rebel 😄 She wants to be a knight instead of a damsel!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

