Monster High 2.0?

The Doctor may not be regenerating in 2016, but it looks like Monster High is. The ghouls we’ve grown to love will be losing their edgy look, starting (most likely) in the fall. The dark, gothic look is being replaced with“a fresh new look with new contemporary colors and graphics whilst still incorporating the iconic signatures that make the brand unique and relatable to the core audience of 6-10 year olds.”

MH Reboot Image

Last night, there was a sizzle video posted with the blog entry from an official Mattel News page, Mattel EMEA, that made it seem like the major reason for the change was that people thought Monster High looked “too dark”. (Who are these people calling Monster High too dark? Clearly, they’ve never seen the Living Dead Dolls… And also, why is Mattel posting this info meant for partners on a site anyone can access? If you’re a Mattel rep and would like me to rework this post- ie: remove image or quote, e-mail me at the address on the sidebar.)

The sizzle video is now locked down.  I was surprised to see it posted on the internet, to be honest– it was kind of rough and very much created to be an internal video, not something for us to see. Essentially, though, it was a short announcement about the upcoming changes. Here’s a mirror of the video sizzle.  The mirror was deleted.

It seems these new looks will correspond with new video content featuring monster origin stories and a new campaign, How Do You Boo, which will encourage “consumers to embrace what makes them unique and share how they Boo.”  Read the whole press release here. (The site now re-directs to Mattel.com.)

EAH reboot

Ever After High is getting tweaked here and there, too, though not as much as Monster High, so far as I can tell. According to the Mattel newsletter, “the dolls will feature new face sculpts with a softer more open approach and the content will bring to life the exciting adventures of these powerful princesses!” The 2016 push seems to be around “Ever After High: Where Princesses Are Powerful”. (I don’t think Mattel is over losing the Disney Princesses to Hasbro yet…)

I’m still working through my initial thoughts on this, so I’ll post my opinions on this later. Until then, what do you think of the upcoming changes to Monster High and Ever After High? Let me know in the comment area.

December 27, 2015. Tags: . Uncategorized.

23 Comments

  1. Ingrid replied:

    I really don’t care. I’m bored to death of MH and EAH dolls. I wish they’d release more EAH boys cause I liked those the best. I’m not buying any more of either one. I just got two AI dolls, a Tonner Lizette and my first Pullip. I might get some more J-Dolls. So I’m moving on.

  2. barbielea replied:

    Hi Kewpie, hope your Christmas was good 🙂 actually, I like the new Monster faces. I’ve pretty much stopped buying core characters now as I just have too many, but this has rekindled my interest. To me, the new faces look similar to all those cutesy customs that sell so well – I’ve read a lot of people who are angry because they feel there’s less detail on the new faces, but that’s not what I’m seeing. And I’m glad that they’re staying articulated (for the time being, anyway) too.

    Im not so sure about the EAH faces and I don’t think I’ll be bothering with the revamped dolls from this line. I think you’re right, they’re far too much like the Descendants, and if I wanted Descendants, that’s what I’d be buying.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      It looks like they’re moving away from articulation on some of them. I am falling out of love with EAH faster than I did with MH. The faces are all too alike at the moment…

  3. Marie replied:

    As a collector, I prefer the “old monster high”. As a parent, I prefer the “new monster high” look. So, feeling a bit like…oh, please don’t move away from the older style of MH…but also not totally against the new look! However, just for the record, a six-year MH lover has just informed me that the doll on the RIGHT side looks “very blah”, and she prefers the doll on the LEFT.

    • Anonymous replied:

      Listen to the six-year old Mattel! They ARE the core audience.

  4. Arthur Johnson replied:

    This Monster High news concerns me because it sounds like Mattel is starting to repeat the same mistakes they’ve made with Barbie over the years. Instead of continuing to lead the way with MH’s original mission of being unique they now feel the need to compete with other brands by mimicking them. MH is what made me a doll collector. If I wanted a doll that looked like all the others I would’ve bought the others. True innovation would be to sharpen MH’s edge and resist the urge to dull and dumb it down simply because some people are threatened by it. I truly hope Mattel doesn’t mess up the MH franchise trying to please everyone with a monolithic whitewash, because ultimately the dollars of true MH fans will speak.

  5. Marie replied:

    FYI…I left out the word OLD…as in six-year OLD MH lover. 🙂

  6. Troy replied:

    My first reaction is not terribly positive. The reason I like MH dolls is that they are not your normal cute dolls. That’s why I don’t buy EAH. I’ll reserve judgment until I see the production dolls, but this may be a good jumping off place. We’ll see.

  7. Iphis of Scyros replied:

    Well, the text in the video is certainly absurd: “we’re going to be different” by making our dolls look just like all the others! Ugh. Maybe in person they won’t look so generic, but if they really do this, and if they really look like those early shots, then I guess Mattel won’t be getting so much of my money anymore.

    The new faces remind me too much of Ever After High, which I never liked because they looked too much like Moxie Girls.

    I wonder if they’re trying to shake things up because they feel stung by the loss of aisle space due to the Bratz relaunch? In all my local stores, they made space for Bratz to come back by taking space away from Monster High, which had already lost space to Ever After High.

    No matter the reason, it’s definitely depressing. Why fix what isn’t broken? This isn’t going to change the reactions of those who complain about it being “dark” or “scary”: those are parents who don’t want their little kids playing with vampires, werewolves, et cetera. As you said, they should take a look at Living Dead Dolls to see something that’s *really* “dark” and “scary.”

    Honestly, looking at the pictured new dolls, this feels like a cost-cutting measure to me. The ones they show have simple outfits and minimal accessories; they would cost a lot less to produce than the increasingly elaborate dolls they’ve been making up until now, but presumably will retail for the same amount. (Even if we assume these are $14.99 level dolls, they still look cheaper to make than the $14.99 level dolls on the market right now.)

  8. Debbie Miller replied:

    Well said Arthur Johnson. Monster High was different & now they won’t be, I hope Mattel is ready for an early retirement of these OOAK dolls.

  9. pvgcadmin replied:

    I can’t imagine how this can be good for Mattel in the long run… The new doll honestly looked like a cheap Chinese knock-off to me when I first saw it. But mattel seems to be into the revamp thing right now (Like all of AG got revamped in the course of 12 months…)
    ~Willow~

  10. Mandy replied:

    My daughter, who is 10 LOVES monster high. When she heard this news you would have thought her favorite pet died! I’ve literally spent at least $500 on Monster High dolls and accessories in the last year, and I’m on a limited budget. She likes them because they’re NOT Barbie, ever after, brats, etc.why turn them into what’s already marketed by so many? These girls love MH because they are different, they are MONSTERS! They’re not frightening looking,they’re pretty, stylish dolls that are not all cutesy/cheesy like All the others… why “fix” something that’s not broken? They definitely won’t be getting any more of my hard earned money after the change!

  11. Blackkitty replied:

    I’m not happy with this change. But I already decided I don’t want to buy new Mattel dolls unless they are absolutely outstanding, so whatever they do from now on doesn’t interest me much. They are already going down the drain because of the glue in the dolls’ heads, If collectors are willing to let it slide or reroot, I don’t know any parent of the “target audience” who would give their child a doll with sticky goo leaking out of their ears. Mattel completely ignores this huge problem and instead tries to fix what isn’t broken 😦

  12. Beatrix replied:

    I’m not surprised Monster High has hit a creative wall. The product line has
    gone about as far as one could go: so many new characters, different sizes, the sets,the cross-country approach, the lab, the fusion of aspects of characters, the mood monsters, ever more elaborate costumes and then the wonderful circus have already been done. Hard to imagine what would be next for a consumer that is ever hungry for something new and yet somehow the same. I think the line is the inevitable victim of its own success. Barbie remains new to new generations and older consumers make up an important part of her devoted following. So I’d think higher quality, improvements on their older MH models might spur collectors’ interest. Trying a historical route could be interesting. I liked the old Hollywood feel I sensed in Draculaura’s bathtub and bought that set right away, wanting more glam of that type from Draculaura– more fully exploring certain time periods could provide inspiration; a steampunk/Sherlock Holmesian time period focus always interests consumers. As a big fan of the original Ghoulia Yelps, I was really pleased when her scooter came out–it seemed so true an accessory for that funky/nerdy character. She, like Clawdeen, had a 60s/70s feel. I often think of Phoebe from the sitcom Friends, when I think of Ghoulia. If the artists think again about what these characters represented (not just as monsters) or why they appealed to consumers in the beginning they might be able to come up with more pieces/outfits/versions that express or capture that character and allow collectors to round out their collections. It would be an extraordinary 6 year old who was aware of the reference to Catherine de Neuve in the Catherine de Mew character, another favorite of mine. This makes me feel that if six year olds really are the target audience then they might not be as demanding when it comes to the direction of Mattel’s changes.. I suspect that younger niche just responded to the edginess older consumers liked about the dolls. Slightly scary is interpreted by the younger niche as cool..A motorcycle for some of the fellows….hasn’t been done yet, right? A yearly limited edition has worked like a charm for American Girl. (That’s the lifespan of a character’s version anyway, why not promote a version that way?) And don’t saturate the market. Also, quality comic books to support the characters a la AG’s books is something to think about. Maybe that isn’t possible given the production budget for toys of this type and price range. Hmm…thinking about this question has made me think maybe there’s still some life left in the artists behind Monster High. They are a talented group and I think they may still surprise us yet.

  13. Poor collector replied:

    I don’t mind it very much. The last monster high I bought made me want to puke; I have 17 monster high dolls, I found it to be too much since they’re no big difference between one another and they’re are quite big. I wanted to buy Elle Eedee but I know it would make puke. I hope mattel will keep the original look and the appeal to adult collector in the form of the 40cm double jointed dolls, I want Spectra, Holt Hyde and Elle Eedee in this size.

  14. StarwberryCream replied:

    Nooooooo…….EAH looks like it for four year old now! I like EAH but srsly softer look. They soft enough now the logo looks cheesy….ugh mattel why do you always mess stuff up?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      It will be an interesting year for Mattel, that’s for sure!

  15. vampette replied:

    I’m upset about this. I hate what Mattel has done to the barbie line over the past years. I used to collect barbies, but quit around the same time that MH came out because the dolls look too cheaply made. Now if they do that to MH I will stop buying them also. I adore them and I’m 42 years old. I own over 40 and also have been buying them for my daughter since she was 3 and is now 5. She has about 6 of the MH dolls. I like that they are not as dark as the Living dead dolls which I find too creepy (the doll, not the outfits). There was a line called Bleeding Edge Dolls that I also used to collect, but they no longer are in production. I just don’t understand why people think they’re too dark?! They’re a great alternative to the princessy, PG style of the other dolls. Heck that’s practically all I got for christmas this year, was MH dolls!

  16. mangusta replied:

    They were sweet and now it looks like too sweat.

  17. Kate replied:

    Do you think this trend in softening the makeup and outfits is in response to the popularity of doll artists removing these to do touch-ups for sale and collecting? Perhaps Mattel is “placing their ear to the ground”, so to speak?

  18. loobop replied:

    I saw a how do you boo phrase on the bootique frankie advert today on uk tv.fierce rockers sadly looks to be the last dolls we’ll get before the reboot. I am an adult collector and have over 250 monster high dolls so this has made it easier to call it a day.Once monster high 2.0 is in i’m gone. Ever after high characters are too dull lately i used to collect maddies and 1st editions now i think i’ll just stick to Maddie from now on to get my doll collecting kick.Bye Monster High we loved you.(great dolls,great fans,great times)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

