Made To Move Barbie and Pullips

If you’re like me, you’ve dabbled in replacing your Pullip‘s stock body with an obitsu body. You’ve probably also wanted to rip your hair out, because of the crazy wobbly head (and/or torso) some Pullips have once you do re-body them. There are other options, like Liv bodies, but they’re not very easy to come by these days.  Now, there’s an option you can find in your local retail store!  Pullip communities over the internet have been buzzing over Mattel‘s new Made To Move Barbie line. The Made To Move line is basic in look and outfit, but offers more articulation than ever before, even double jointed knees and elbows.

Made to Move Barbie

The Barbie herself is a bit plain. She has a pretty, clean face. Her workout outfit includes black leggings and a stretchy short sleeve top that is bright pink and blue. Her joints are on full display in the box, where she sits in a yoga-esc position.

Now, I have to admit, I didn’t buy this Barbie for the actual doll. I only bought her for her body! If there’s any way to get my Pullips into better, less wobbly bodies, I am willing to try! After taking out the insanely long neck knob (which I neglected to take a photo off, but rest assured, it’s over-kill for sure), it was relatively simple to tweak it into something Pullip friendly. Usually, I’m sanding for hours, but, in this case, it took less than 30 minutes. Here’s the result of my little experiment.

Made to Move Barbie on Pullip

I love the proportions of the Made To Move body way more than the obitsu’s, to be quite honest. The size of obitsu’s can be odd sometimes and most of what I dress my Pullips in are Barbie clothes anyways! Using this kind of body might help the clothing fit better! And better still, the head isn’t wobbly! It actually fits really sturdily on the body and doesn’t pull back on the torso joint, either!

Made to Move Barbie on Pullip

Video Tutorial Here:

The color matching isn’t perfect, but I’ll take it! Have you tried to switch out your Pullip stock bodies or obitsu bodies with a Made To Move Barbie body? What do you think of this easy to find replacement body? Share your thoughts in the comment area!

January 3, 2016. Tags: . Uncategorized.

23 Comments

  1. Beatrix replied:

    Good to know the new Barbie is an option, but do you ever find that you miss losing the Pullip smaller scale body in the process? The large head/disproportionately small body is part of the doll’s charm for me. Do you reserve swapping bodies for only some Pullips or would you replace all the bodies on the Pullips you own?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I’ve never really thought of that before. Actually, the bodies were always the let down for me, which is why I rarely bought Pullips before they appeared at Tuesday Morning or in MIO kits. It wasn’t the proportions that I disliked, but the fact that the tiny limbs (to me) looked cheap and didn’t really allow the doll to stand or pose well (especially for the price). The head is still quite large when compared to a Barbie head on the MtM body, so it still has that juxtaposition to me. Thinking about it, I can see how rebodying could change the look, though!

      As far as who I rebody, it totally depends on the doll/character. If I need to wig a doll myself, then I’ll try to rebody her at the same time. But if a stock doll has the perfect look and all I need to do is redress her, then I’ll just leave her on the original body. (Sometimes the wigs are a pain the neck to get back into place.) Like, my Emma Swan custom is on her stock body, b/c her hair was perfect and all I needed was to get an outfit for her. My Jem is on the MtM body, b/c I had to mess around inside her head and wig her, so I thought, why not? Two birds, one stone. (Also, I can’t sew, so any body that can wear Barbie sized clothes is fine by me!)

      • Beatrix replied:

        Interesting. I tend to think of Blythes when i see Pullips,I guess, for which the larger head size is more pronounced and so probably explains why the change in body might not have struck you as that significant… also bc the improvement in articulation always adds so much character, I can see why in certain cases you would want to swap the body out. I hope to get a Pullip MIO kit soon so I can make my own version of Amarri. thanks for your earlier review on that as well…certainly encouraged me to try my hand at it.

  2. Ingrid replied:

    That’s a great idea. Your Pullip looks fantastic. I got two Made to Move Barbies. I used one to replace the pathetic body on my Mc2 doll. I need to get more of them. The price can’t be beat.

    I like the clothes that came with my Pullip doll. I also swap her clothes with my J-doll. I like J-doll clothes the best.

    What do you think of Bobobie dolls? I’m thinking about getting one.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I didn’t know that the Mc2 body was less than stellar. They have pretty faces, but I don’t plan on buying one at full price. People were buying that doll line because the clothing fit Pullips well, from what I heard!

      As far as Bobobie’s go, I own a Bobobie March (tiny, 1/6 scale) and love her! My mom owns a Bobobie Bei (tiny, 1/6 scale) and an MSD Pixie. I think they’re nice dolls for those of us (like me) who can’t or just plain won’t spend $1,000 on a BJD. They do yellow a bit over time, so don’t display them in a place where they get direct sunlight. My Luts Aru, who was way more money than my Bobobie has started to yellow now, too, so yellowing will happen to literally any BJD from any company. We’ve had to re-string our Bobobie’s a good number of times over the years because it is surprisingly thin. I think Bobobie’s are great affordable BJD’s.

      • Robotica replied:

        Thanks. Now I really want a bobobie. Mc2 clothes for Barbie as well.

  3. Taswegian1957 replied:

    I just saw the Made To Move Barbie in the shops here but did not stop to do a price check. I like the body which looks sturdier than the Fashionista body but thought she was let down by the very ordinary face on the blonde and brunette dolls. I’d consider a Barbie head transplant if these turn out not to be too expensive as I have some prettier dolls that are on older bodies that I’d consider swapping. I personally think that your Pullip looks better with this body too but as Beatrix mentioned it does change the scale of the doll. The Pullip is a bit too out of scale for my taste anyway which is probably why I like the change but I guess the big head on a skinny body is what they are meant to be about.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I wish Mattel would just give this body to all their dolls, instead of making this a ‘special’ body for this line.

      • Taswegian1957 replied:

        Me too. I saw about four different body types when I was out the other day and most of the dolls looked very cheap, not in a good way either.

  4. Anonymous replied:

    I like it! I’ve been thinking about making the body swap with the Made to Move Barbie, but I’m worried about the Pullip head melting. I read that the Pullip heads melt when they’re in contact with other plastics over time. Have you had any issues with it?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      If you wrap teflon tape around the neck knob, then secure the head, you should be fine. That way, you won’t have to worry about the vinyl touching. I have seen Pullips with this problem before. None of mine have melted, but I tried my best to cover the neck knobs with tape; you can see it on the obitsu in the photos.

  5. Trisha Andrews replied:

    I haven’t seen the Made to Move Barbie dolls yet, but if I do, I’ll probably see and think about them before I buy. If it’s true that the faces are very ordinary, I’ll probably buy a couple (one to keep NRFB, the other to take out of the box and replant my favorite Barbie or friend doll head on the body). This reminds me of buying such dolls as Fashion Photo Kayla and American Idol Tori from the 2000s. I had to get donor dolls with the belly button bodies to replant the heads on because they were totally gimmicky.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Good plan! Color matching shouldn’t be too hard if you’re using Mattel heads. 🙂

  6. Iphis of Scyros replied:

    Since getting a Made to Move last week, I’ve been thinking they’d probably be great for head transplants, so it’s great to see they really are! Maybe I should use a Made to Move to re-body Rena (Brand New Purezza), since her older body is pretty bad, and her wrist joints seem to have melted or something. (She *did* spend a good many years sitting in a warehouse, after all.)

    Now they just need to do the equivalent of Made to Move for Ken and Skipper! (I bet a Skipper-sized Made to Move would be perfect for a body swap for a Yeolume…)

  7. Nadine replied:

    Thank you for this tutorial! I put my Pullip Papin on a made to move body after seeing it and wow, I LOVE it so much more than the obitsu or the stock. I like that you can change the obitsu hands and take them off to dress the doll but pretty much hate everything else about it. I have a little question: do you think I could get away with putting Tokidoki Luna on the lightest mtm body?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Congrats on your first MTM body switch! It is amazing how much better they pose. I noticed that some of my pullip clothing now won’t fit my new MTM hybrids, but that’s the worst thing that has happened so far for me. It’s hard to tell if a body will work on a Pullip without owning that particular Pullip. Since I don’t own Luna, I can’t really say how good of a match she’d be to the pale body. My suggestion would be to bring Luna with you to Target, TRU, Walmart, etc and just look at it and the MTM body together. The palest body is probably the one you want, though!

      • Nadine replied:

        Thank you SO much – you are very generous with your knowledge. I will wait until Luna arrives then!

  8. Carleesi Crochets replied:

    I love this idea! I truly hate my Pullip’s obitsu (and it’s an HB, so it has super wobbly chest to boot…) and I am currently trying to sell it. I was hoping to either put her on a Pure Neemo, or now, after seeing your tutorial, the Barbie MtM body! I really like the proportions of this body, it looks really nice! Thanks for sharing this! 😉

  9. Jane replied:

    You didn’t say anything here about having to sand open the Pullip neck hole, nor is it mentioned in the video. After wrestling Barbie’s head off and sanding down the neck peg, I found the MTM neck is too wide for the Pullip neck hole, it doesn’t go all the way in, and the head won’t close.
    What the heck? What is everyone else doing??

    • kewpie83 replied:

      My MTM body didn’t require any sanding. It fit in fine. I wonder if your body had a neck peg that was cut just a little differently?

      • Jane replied:

        😦 It’s the Asian MTM, and a 2009 type 4 Pullip. Some people have suggested that if I put the screws in, they will pull the head closed, but if I can’t push it closed with a lot of pressure by hand, I would expect the screws to strip the plastic threads under pressure.
        So disappointing… but thanks for replying.

  10. Walking the Toy Aisle | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] expanding on the line. The red-head is adorable. I would probably feel bad if I bought her just for body swapping. The standout doll here, though, is the skater who is packaged in an upside down skateboarding […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

