Collection Close Up: All American Barbie, Christie (1991)

Months back, I won a lot of Pink Box Barbie’s.  This is Christie from the All American Barbie line. This series came out around 1991.  Besides Christie, this line featured Barbie, Ken, Kira and Teresa. A unique characteristic of this line is that Mattel had partnered with Reebok, a popular shoe brand. Christie, for examples, came with two pairs of colorful hi-top sneakers!

All American Barbie, Christie

90’s pink box Barbie’s are essentially my youth. I love everything about them, like their crimped hair, large bangs and high ponytails, cool makeup and bright outfits. They remind me of the popular trends that I lived through in the 1990’s.

All American Barbie, Christie

In Christie’s case, she has some fantastic eye colors– brown and green. I also love the big baggy jean jacket that covers the crop top/short skirt outfit underneath.

All American Barbie, Christie

The Reeboks are neat, as well. The actual Reebok branding is fabric that slips over a white plastic shoes. You get two pairs with Christie. Christie also wears fluorescent tie-dye socks. They’re so 90’s!

All American Barbie, Christie

See the video here:

So that’s a quick look at All American Barbie, Christie.  Do you remember when this line hit store shelves? What’s your favorite pink box Barbie? Let me know in the comment area!

January 18, 2016. Tags: . Uncategorized.

7 Comments

  1. Jen replied:

    Great eyes! I feel like she should be Tina Turner dancing with David Bowie to “Let’s Dance”!

  2. Taswegian1957 replied:

    These dolls came out a few years before I started to collect so there were still a lot of them around on the secondary market in the late 90s. This is a really pretty Christy.

  3. Trisha Andrews replied:

    Like Taswegian 1957, I began collecting Barbie and friend dolls a few years after the All American line came out. The doll is totally early ’90s and I would like to get Christie as well as my favorite Barbie friend, Teresa. I’ll look them up on Ebay and see how much they cost.

  4. Teresa B. replied:

    I love this Christie, I have the Barbie. The socks are just the best!!

    My favorite pink box Barbie is Totally Hair Barbie. Don’t you just love her psychedelic mini dress? 🙂

  5. Sunny replied:

    Those are some crazy (but cool!) rainbow neon socks.
    No, I don’t remember when these dolls came out—this was WAYYY before I was born. 😉 In fact, I missed the whole “pink Barbie box” era…which is a shame because all of those dolls look really cool. 😉
    *Sunny

  6. Khadijah replied:

    I’m a young collector but I have those tie-dye socks from my mom’s old collection. (The actual doll and everything else must have gone off track after all these years.)

  7. Shannon (@shannonkay) replied:

    I had the blonde version of the All American Barbie as a kid. She was my “best Barbie” until my little sister drew on jewelry with a permanent marker and cut off all her hair.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

