World Doll Day- Word Art

I had an idea for World Doll Day, but it requires YOUR help! I was thinking of making a word art graphic that we could use on a t-shirt or other cool item for World Doll Day. There’s an example below that was created with my blog’s tags to show you what I mean.

Example

Example

What I want to know from you is this: If you had to describe doll collecting and what it means to you in ONE or TWO words, what word(s) would you choose? I want to use those words and see if we can make a cool graphic from them! Mixed in with your words, I want to put names of popular doll lines, like Monster High, Ever After High, Tonner, that sort of thing. Full disclosure, this may not work. It’s really all up to you guys to help me gather enough words to make a neat graphic.

If you’d like to submit a word or two for this little experiment, you can leave it here in the comment area, tweet me a reply @KewpieDoll83 or respond to my facebook post on the subject. Thank you!

April 8, 2016. Tags: . Uncategorized.

23 Comments

  1. dolldimensions replied:

    OOOH! 😀 Sounds fun! The words that come to my mind are “tiny” and “articulation”. Just the first things I thought of! 😀

  2. April Perlowski replied:

    Here are two ideas of mine: childhood memories, and art.

  3. Taswegian1957 replied:

    Obsession is my word.

  4. Cheri replied:

    Play – is my word
    creative – is my second word

  5. Emily replied:

    What a fun idea! My words:
    Sew
    Create
    History

  6. Iphis of Scyros replied:

    Cool idea! I’d say the words would be “fun” and “passion”.

    (Or “obsession” works, instead of “passion.” If you’re looking for numerous people to pick the same word…)

  7. jgirldolls@gmail.com replied:

    Journey Girls! 🙂

    Joy

    Variety (maybe)

    Cool idea, Ashley!

  8. Freja replied:

    The first word that came to my mind was “creativity” but “stories” is allso a big part of my doll hobby.

  9. Blackkitty replied:

    I have “beauty” and “imagination”. I don’t wear T-shirts though.

  10. Beatrix replied:

    I think it’s a great idea, and I’d definitely love a t-shirt like that! My first thought was the word “art” or better, “artistry” because that is what I see when I look at my dolls or judge doll sculpts. It’s what inspires me, when I think of clothing to sew for them or of props to make. But as I thought of this idea I thought I would like even better less abstract words in the graphic, than the names of all the great doll characters so many of us love and have loved in the past. I don’t know if there would be any copyright issues over this (there probably would be) but a t-shirt with a graphic of many of the great doll characters from the past and present–recognizable to doll lovers–would also be cool. Like Sasha, Sindy, Blythe, Barbie, Patsy, Hitty, Edith, Thumbelina, Skipper, Bleuette, Cissette, Lissy, Raggedy Ann, Pitiful Pearl, Miss No Name, and so many others. That would also be a great tribute and probably very popular for collectors to have. Some of the names in that list of course are taken from fiction, some are the names of manufactured doll lines, but all are part of the same doll universe, signs of dolls that were loved and given life. Another way to go would be to have doll types, kachina, nesting doll, topsy-turvy, composition, penny, izannah walker, applehead, peg, bjd, waldorf, lenci, flatsy, cabbage patch,and again, as you well know, so many others to include. But if I had to stick just to personally descriptive words about doll collecting another word I’d choose would probably be “happiness” because that’s what dolls make me feel whenever I look at them.

  11. Riina replied:

    Such a great idea!

    I was thinking of “interesting” and “exciting”.

  12. Shirley replied:

    I have had some of my doll friends for years…..friend, imaginative friend. Those would be my two words. Thank you for sharing your idea! Shirley

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

