Ken Doll Updates

Mattel announced today that Ken was getting a little makeover. Joining the female Fashionista dolls, who were given unique body types over the past few years, as well as new and exciting hairstyles and skin tones, is Ken, who was just given two new body types! Ken is now available in three different body types: Original, Broad and Slim.

New Ken (Mattel Promo Photos)

There will also be more variety in hairstyles, faces and skin tones, as you can see in the promo pic above.

New Ken (Mattel Promo Photos)

New Ken (Mattel Promo Photos)

New Ken (Mattel Promo Photos)

In total, we’ll be seeing 15 new Ken dolls. 10 are apparently available now, with five more coming later. While I’m glad they are expanding on the Ken brand, I am a little disappointed that they have yet to release a Made to Move Ken. I want some articulation in my Ken dolls. (Or some bodies for some Taeyangs, assuming they would be as interchangeable as the Made to Move Barbie bodies are with Pullips!)

According to the GQ article linked in the first paragraph, the Ken packaging won’t be marked Broad, Slim or Original, so you’ll have to guess when browsing the toy aisles. Hopefully, the differences of each are more visible in person. I personally don’t see much difference (based on the photos) between Original or Broad. Online, you’ll see dolls listed by their body type.

For more details on how to pre-order the new Ken, check out the Barbie website! What do you think of the update to Ken? Leave your thoughts below!

June 20, 2017. Tags: . Uncategorized.

10 Comments

  1. Marie Rodd replied:

    It should be interesting to see Ken Broad. The 4 in my collection alreadt strain the pre-made clothes that are sold

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Oh, the clothing stains the dolls? Not good. I am hoping to pick up some of the ‘slim’ outfits for my Pullip dolls. I think they may fit Taeyang better than ‘original’ Ken clothing.

  2. wendydirks replied:

    I am not impressed with most of the ones I have seen. I don’t really like Ken dolls with plastic hair, I don’t like dolls that aren’t articulated and so I am probably not going to buy most of these. I like the guy in the white shirt and tie – Doll 10. That’s about it.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Yep. I think the whole fan base wants articulation on their Kens.

  3. Anonymous replied:

    I want all of the broad Kens, already. Each has a unique look. And the cornrow Ken, So adorable. Now I ask for a broad, blond, rooted, curly in a ponytail Ken with MTM joints. Is that asking for too much?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      He doesn’t look very broad from the images. I need to see him in person. I want a M2M Ken, too. It can’t be that hard!

  4. Taswegian1957 replied:

    I applaud the diversity but going on these pictures I don’t care for the dolls much. I was hoping they would go back to rooted hair and I would like some articulation. I’d also like to see what they mean by a wardrobe revamp as these Kens are dressed in the usual mis matched colours and patterns Ken has been stuck with for decades.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Agreed. I don’t plan on buying any of them. For me to buy a Ken, I need articulation. I’m hoping the different sized outfits will help me find clothing for Taeyangs, to be honest!

  5. Kay replied:

    I’m glad they finally gave Ken an upgrade. He needed one. These dolls are much nicer than the ones I grew up with!

  6. Blackkitty replied:

    One of my Barbies has shorts made from the same fabric as the third Ken. I always knew those were man trunks 😀 The new bodies are a good idea, but if they have plastic hair, I’m out.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

