Estrela’s 80th Anniversary Giggles/Boneca Gui Gui Reproduction Doll

Brazilian doll company Estrela is celebrating 80 years in business. In honor of this great achievement, they’re releasing some of their classic toys. Included in their offerings is a reproduction Boneca Gui Gui (known as Giggles in the United States) doll!

Boneca Gui Gui (Estella Exclusive))

Boneca Gui Gui (Estella Exclusive))

Boneca Gui Gui (Estella Exclusive))

Also on sale is a reproduction Tippy and Brazil’s version of the classic GI JOE.

If you’re a long time readers, you’ll know that Giggles has made a few appearances here on the blog. She also happens to be one of my mother’s favorite dolls (Barbee0913 on YouTube). That’s why, I’d really like your help! Are there any Brazilians out there who might be able to help me in bringing one of these dolls to the US? It seems you need a special citizen number to order from the Estrela site, which, clearly we don’t have. I’d really like to be able to add one of these to my mom’s Giggles collection and hope one of you can help! If you can, please e-mail me at taps1223(at)sbcglobal(dot)net, Subject: Giggles.

What do YOU think of this reproduction or the other two made in celebration of the companies 80 years? Share your thoughts in the comment area.

July 18, 2017. Tags: . Uncategorized.

8 Comments

  1. Taswegian1957 replied:

    This is a very pretty doll. I love Giggles too, I finally got one a few months ago, the US version of course. Estrela make very pretty dolls so I like this take on Giggles.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Me, too. I like her long wavy hair. It’s a cute look.

  2. Tammy Colvin Sedam replied:

    Did you manage to translate the page? I can’t see where to do it. How much does Giggles cost in dollars?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      If you put the link into Google Translate, it will translate the page (a bit). Basically, it says she’s a reproduction of the 1984 version of Gui Gui. The USD price of Giggles is about $50.00 (159.99 Brazilian Reals), not too bad, in my opinion! I checked with the company and they won’t allow for orders outside of Brazil. I think it has a lot to do with the rights to produce the doll. Someone has to own the US production rights to Ideal products, even if they don’t actively make them today. There was one on eBay, but they wanted over 250 bucks for her! Outrageous, in my opinion.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I had trouble getting my browser to automatically translate the page, too. 🙂

  3. MY DOLL BEST FRIEND replied:

    I would never have known about the reproduction Giggles doll had it not been for you – so thank you for this post! Good to hear you’ve located your Giggles doll now. We’re rather excited to be having Gui Gui arriving in Europe very soon. 🙂

    • kewpie83 replied:

      It’s a shame sales are restricted to Brazil, though I understand why. Good to hear you found a way to get one, too!!!

  4. Collection Close Up: Estrela’s 80th Anniversary Gui-Gui Reproduction | Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter replied:

    […] while back, I asked readers to help me purchase the reproduction Gui-Gui doll from Estrela, produced in honor of the company’s 80th anniversary. (Also reproduced for this anniversary […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

