Oh, Mattel… What’s Up With Skipper?

As many of you know, I collect Skipper dolls.  Skipper, Barbie’s little sister, has been around almost as long as Barbie. She’s had quite a few face lifts over the years.  Take a peek at most of them below… (As always, photos are mine and are not to be used by others without permission.  You can fave them on flickr if you’d like to reference them.)

I was super excited when Mattel brought out the 2010 Camping Skipper.  Blonde with funky highlights, she was an adorable re-introduction to Barbie’s Little Sister.

Now a year into the new Skipper line and I’m slightly less enthusiastic about the line.  The brunette Skippers have a slightly different head mold than the original 2010 release.  The most noticeable differences are that the original release has an open mouth smile, side glancing eyes, and blonde hair with brown and pink highlights.  The new mold, which has been used on the past five releases, has a closed mouth smile, a straight gaze, and brown hair with purple or pink highlights.

As far as hair color, I love the brown.  I’ve always been partial to brunette dolls, probably because I, myself, am brunette!  I take issue with the fact that if you look at the current Skippers together, they all look the same.  Their make up and hair are the same across the board  and the outfits are pretty similar doll to doll.  Take a look at the picture for a moment.

Do you see what I mean?  They’re all very similar looking.  While I understand it’s cheaper for companies to re-dress the same factory face/body, I really wish they would change the make up or hair styling a little.  It was rare to see the 90’s anime eye (or big eyed) Skipper in the same hair style twice in a row and she had a great deal of make up changes during her time on store shelves, so why can’t we get some with this new line of dolls?

While I will still continue to buy these new Skippers (b/c I wouldn’t be a collector if  I didn’t!), I really hope Mattel breaks the current cycle.  I love the facemold–it’s adorable–, but let’s give it a refresh!  (And yes, I will be telling Mattel this via e-mail…  Sometimes they need to know the consumers opinions!)  🙂

Leave a comment and let me know what you think?  Am I just being too picky about this?  Do you see the similarities between the line?  Does it bother you?  Let me know!

August 9, 2011. Tags: . Uncategorized.

24 Comments

  1. Mary Wernke replied:

    Oooh, goody! Another Skipper fan! There aren’t that many of us.
    I’ve been mentioning a lot of Skipper and friends trivia over the past year on Twitter. Would you mind if I mentioned your page on my Twitter page?
    http://twitter.com/#!/skippercollecto

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Always nice to meet another Skipper fan! You’re part of the Skipper Yahoo group, right? If so, I am, too! I’m working on a Skipper related reference site that, once completed should be kind of neat. Course, I still have a ways to go on it! No problem regarding Twitter. Go for it!

  2. DIana replied:

    Which one is the 7th one, left of the mickey mouse hat? She is so cute!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      The Skipper with the Mickey ears is Horse Loving Skipper from 1982. I re-dressed her b/c her outfit was deteriorating. I don’t remember what the actual name of her outfit is, but I believe it is from the 90’s.

      There were very few Skippers made with the head mold used for Horse Loving Skipper, but you can still find her all over ebay.

      Thanks for commenting!!!

      • DIana replied:

        What is the skipper to the left of horse lovin’ skipper?

        • DIana replied:

          Quick curl skipper?

          • kewpie83 replied:

            Oh, I’m sorry! Misread your comment! You’re right, Quick Curl. 🙂 She’s just redressed. I adore her, too.

  3. KoraSewings replied:

    I love the new line Skippers, though agree Mattel should make a change in the makeup and hairstyles. I’m planing to buy one for my birthday soon. Sadly there’s only one edition of Skipper in my local toy store – don’t like the idea that together with Skipper I’ll get Chelsea and some extra accessories I don’t really need, but seems there’s no other choice for me at the moment 🙂
    Glad to see other Skipper fans, though 😉

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I’m getting sick of always having to buy a Kelly, Chelsea with Skipper, too. I don’t need tons of accessories or an extra doll– just Skipper! If I remember correctly, they’ve only released two of the new Skippers without a Chelsea. (I might be wrong, since they all look so alike, I get them confused…)

      Glad to meet another Skipper person! Thanks for stopping by to comment!

  4. KoraSewings replied:

    Maybe even three. I think one came with a bathroom set, another with beach accessories and I remember seeing one dressed for the birthday party perhaps?

  5. Rebecca replied:

    They are all very similar. We have a couple… And we like diversity in our dolls… Even their clothes are too similar. If they want us to buy multiple incarnations, they should make it where, we don’t have several of the almost exact same doll. Also, where are the fashion and accessories sets for the sisters?

  6. Laura Ostermeyer replied:

    I agree. I don’t know about you but I really miss all the neat packs of clothes and shoes they once had. I have some thrift store Skipper that need clothes and shoes and it’s a challenge to fill this void .

  7. Thomas Kinch replied:

    Regarding clothes for Skipper. I use clothes from the High School Musical and Hannah Montana dolls as they share the same body. I think you can find the dressed dolls cheap often at flea markets.

  8. Todo sobre mi barbie replied:

    Hola, estoy de acuerdo contigo, creo que se han quedado estancandos con Skipper, no hay nada nuevo hace mucho tiempo y las últimas son todas casi idénticas.
    Me ha encantado tu colección.
    Un saludo,

  9. Juan replied:

    Hi! You are right about Skipper, she have a very diferent look respect to other ones made before, but now she looks soooo the same. It’s so sad about her, becouse she is one of my favourite dolls. You are a Skipper collector so I wanna suggest you a challenge, change yourself a cheaper skipper making a custom doll 😀 You’ll do it great!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I have one or two Skipper’s that have been given re-roots. I do want to do more of them, though!

      • Juan replied:

        I wanna see them! haha I found a custom Skipper that you probably like 😉 I also have seen a skipper that has been rebodied with a fashionistas body and she looks great! I’ll give you the url of the first photo but when you click it it doesn’t work 😦

        • kewpie83 replied:

          Oh, I wonder what Skipper you saw! Now, I’m intrigued!

          • Juan replied:

            Hahaha I know a new way, the easier way I found to see it is writing in google image search ”custom skipper barbie ooak” and the second photo 😉 wish you like it!!!

  10. Nina harris replied:

    I wonder why Skipper is not a blonde anymore?

  11. majormanafemale replied:

    I find modern Skipper fine but not Skipper to me. It seems to much like her friend Courtney. One thing I loved about mid to late 90’s Roberts sisters they all had blonde hair and blue eyes but managed to look slightly different. It’s just how my brain likes it.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I agree. I loved the variety of the pink box releases in the 90’s.

  12. Teri replied:

    I enjoyed your article. I have a few Skippers that I got at a thrift store. On your photo that shows how similar the current Skippers are, do you recall the name of the doll that is second from the left? She has a striped shirt and headphones. I can’t seem to find her online. Thank you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback URI