Dolly Review: Ever After High Cerise Hood

Mattel is cranking out Ever After High dolls at an extremely fast rate.  Not only do they keep releasing their core dolls, but they have two additional lines, Legacy Day and Getting Fairest on store shelves. Today, I’d like to showcase Cerise Hood.

Apparently, Cerise means cherry in french (thanks, YouTuber’s!).  Honestly, though, I don’t particularly like Cerise as a name.   (No offense if that’s your name!)   It just doesn’t seem to fit the character (for me, at least!)

Ever After High Cerise and Blondie

Ever After High Blondie and Cerise

I’ve been a fan of Cerise since Ever After High was introduced.  The daughter of Little Red Riding Hood and the big, bad wolf, Cerise  has, by far, the coolest look in the Ever After High line.  Her webisode character has a mysterious past and you can clearly see that in her doll design.

Cerise

Cerise

Cerise

Cerise

While Cerise has the same round, flat face we’ve seen on the other dolls in the line, it seems to fit her better than some.  Her large grey eyes, accented with shades of dark grey, look great on her tan skin.  She has very minimal make up, which works with her character.  She doesn’t seem like the type that would go all out with her make up to me.

When her character hit the web, many people were wondering about her ears. Would she have wolf ears like Monster High’s Clawdeen or human ears?  Inside her hood is a plastic piece to help the hood keep its shape.  For that reason, I don’t have a photo. Her ears are placed where you’d expect a humans ears to be.  However, instead of being round at the top, they have a small point at their tip.

Cerise

Cerise

Cerise

Cerise

I admit, I should have been slightly more observant while watching the webseries, because I thought she’d have a shorter hair do.  I really wanted her to have a bob.  As it stands, she has very long, straight, black hair with white highlights.  A small chunk of hair is packaged outside the cape and attached to her arm in the packaging, but the rest is under her hood and weaved through a hole in her hood.  Her long hair is fine, but I still think she’d be cuter with a bob!

Cerise

Cerise

Cerise

Cerise

Cerise has the coolest outfit of the Ever After High dolls.  Unlike the short dresses we’ve seen on many of the dolls, Cerise has a red and black checkered shirt dress and shiny grey leggings. Her outfit has a stylish punk vibe to it, which I love.  To top it off, Cerise wears a rounded red cape.  I love the details Mattel put into the outfit.  The cape, for example, is lined with a fun red fabric and is meant to have a rounded look to it.

Cerise

Cerise

One big problem I have with the outfit deals with quality control.  Cerise’s hood was held onto the box with two tabs and most likely a small amount of glue.  After taking her out of the box, I noticed two really large stains centered around where those tabs were.  I feel like Mattel should have thought ahead about the fabric of the cape and how the tabs/glue would affect it.

Cerise

Cerise

As usual, Cerise models some fantastic boots.  Seriously, these are some awesome shoes!

Cerise

Cerise

Cerise

Cerise

Cerise with Blondie

Cerise with Blondie

Cerise

Cerise

As far as her joints, Cerise poses well and her limbs are tight.

Cerise with Blondie and Robecca

Cerise with Blondie and Robecca

Cerise and Blondie

Cerise and Blondie

Of all the dolls in the Ever After High line, Cerise is one of my favorites.  I love her look and think she has the most character out of all the dolls produced so far.  That being said, I hope they don’t over produce her.  I love the vibe she gives off and I would hate to see that diminish into something more generic.

What do you think of Cerise?  Share your thoughts below!

January 5, 2014. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

18 Comments

  1. Liz F. replied:

    I agree with the bob-hair thing for her. I have heard that her belt makes it difficult to put her in the stand, what are your thoughts? I love that ever afters’ have such tight joints, it makes posing them really fun.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I haven’t had much trouble with many Ever After High stands. Cerise’s seemed fine to me. 🙂

  2. Judy Rankine replied:

    She is really cute. I have been waiting for her! I just ordered 2 of these from Walmart….one to open and one to keep intact. The packaging is really great.

  3. pixiecollections replied:

    Ahhhh whaaat she dosnt have wolf ears??? Major disappointment.

  4. Taswegian1957 replied:

    She is very pretty and I love the outfit.

  5. Ruby replied:

    I love the look of Cerise and I’m excited for her to come to the UK

  6. barbielea replied:

    Agree with you on every point – I love this doll too, and like you I think she’s a great interpretation, nicely designed, and she suits the headmold well. She’s not available over here yet but I’m dying to get my hands on her. There’s a couple of other new characters I’m interested in (Blondie for one!) but I’m not interested in anything from Legacy Day or Getting Fairest, which I think have been released too quickly with too little thought put into them, and for me they’re too similar to the first-wave dolls, I would have preferred to see both these waves come out as fashion packs … anyway, thanks for another great review – I love your pictures.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I’m working on Blondie’s review next week. I like her, but I don’t know if I like her as much as the other dolls so far…

  7. Littlebearries replied:

    Does she have the same face mold as the other girls… Or did they finally make a new mold?

  8. Catherine replied:

    I would have liked EAH if the dolls smiled. MH the same, though I did see a smiling Clawdia, might check that out again.

  9. sailingmartha replied:

    Thanks for your terrific review; love the video too. I agree, Cerise is not the greatest name, I think they could have chosen something more edgy. Otherwise I love her!

  10. Doll Diaries Picks for the Week Ending January 11 — Doll Diaries replied:

    […] Ever After High line, stop by Confessions of a Doll Collector’s Daughter to read more about Little Red Riding Hood’s daughter – Cerise Hood. Lovely […]

  11. Bluebelle replied:

    The glue on her cape is not from the packaging, it is from her head. Mattel uses glue inside the heads and it often seeps out into the hair making a sticky mess 😦

    • avilajanssen901 replied:

      Does anyone know how to get the glue out of the hair? Some of my dolls have greasy hair that doesn’t clean up…

      • avilajanssen901 replied:

        I just bought Cerise btw 😉

  12. Lauren Jur replied:

    that’s awesome! I love her too! I can’t wait until Mattel does show the real ears!

  13. Anonymous replied:

    they need a doll with a bob

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback URI