Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

One of the first booths I visited at Toy Fair was Madame Alexander.  Madame Alexander has a rich history and has made a huge impact on the doll world.  As you know, I am a huge fan of vintage, hard plastic Madame Alexanders, so it was a treat getting to see what was in store for this long-lasting brand in 2015.

Many different items were on display at Toy Fair.  Here are some of my favorite dolls featured at the show.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

Above are the Travel Friends dolls.  These 7″ dolls are so cute.  Notice the joints at the elbows and knees!  The Travel Friends made their debut in 2014.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

New for 2015 is the NASCAR line.  Madame Alexander partnered with superstar Danica Patrick, driver of the No. 10 GoDaddy Chevrolet SS for Stewart-Haas Racing in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. While I’m not a NASCAR fan myself, research shows that one out of three girls ages 6-11 are fans of the sport. With statistics like that, I’m surprised we haven’t seen more NASCAR branded doll lines. These tiny dolls, aimed at 3 and up, will retail for $16.95.  The NASCAR, I Dream and Storybook lines are set to launch in the fall.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

The dolls in the I Dream collection are nice, as well.  The chef is my favorite.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

Above is Beauty from the Storybook collection.  Of all the 7″ dolls featured at the show, Beauty is my pick for prettiest!

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

The dolls pictured above may be my absolute favorite new items in the Madame Alexander booth.  These are prototypes of the new Playline DC Collection.  I hope the actual Wonder Woman and Harley Quinn dolls are as cool looking as these!

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

Also in the DC Collection are three 8″ superheroes: Wonder Woman, Batman and Catwoman. These are set to launch Fall of 2015.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

18″ dolls were on display, as well.  My personal favorites were the Isaac Mizrahi dolls.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

The doll below is based on a picture book.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

Madame Alexander seemed really excited about this new partnership with Crayola.  Pixie Doodles are dolls that come with outfits you can color in.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

And let’s not forget about the collectible dolls on display at Toy Fair.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

The 10″ Snow White below is wearing a historically accurate outfit, circ 16th c. Germany, and is influenced by medieval, gothic and baroque styles. There are other princesses in historically accurate styles, as well.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

The steampunk Little Red Riding Hood was pretty awesome to see, too.

Toy Fair 2015- Madame Alexander

The only disappointment for me in regards to my booth visit was that the rep confirmed that the company showroom/museum, which had beautiful vintage Madame Alexanders on display, had closed its doors and that there were no plans to re-open it at this time.  I visited the showroom when I was in New York a few years back.  It was the highlight of my trip (and I wasn’t even a Madame Alexander collector back then). The showroom, open to the public for viewing and birthday parties, was a great reminder of the vast history of this legendary brand.  Sadly, I doubt this unique showroom will ever return and that’s a major loss to doll collectors who find themselves in the New York City area.

For more images, visit my flickr album.  And don’t forget to check out Madame Alexander online, on youtube, on twitter and on facebook!

What caught your eye in this post? Share your thoughts below!

March 9, 2015. Tags: . Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. 39yearslame replied:

    Those Harley Quinn and Wonder Woman dolls do look really cool. How big are the dolls?

    Those Pixie Doodles look like a lot of fun, too; I probably would have driven my parents crazy begging for one if they’d come out when I was a girl.

  2. Madame Alexander – Crazy Doll Lady replied:

    […] I’d been curious about these since seeing a couple of small shots of them from Toy Fair on Confessions of a Doll Collector’s Daughter.  (They have two things going for them that I like:  fairies and colorful hair. 😛 )  Then on […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback URI