New Re-Root: Little Miss No Name

I didn’t do much re-rooting these past few months.  It wasn’t so much from lack of supplies, but from lack of time!  I personally prefer to have an entire day free for a re-root, which with the holidays and hecticness that is January, I didn’t get many of those!

Why do I like an entire day?  Well, I don’t have a doll room or office I can re-root in.  If I did, I could easily just put my tools down and not have to worry about moving/storing the half done doll head.  Since I don’t have any sort of room like that, I alway worry about the hair accidentally getting pulled out as I move the doll here to there  (b/c the tool holds doll hair in with tension, not knots, until it’s glued in).

We picked this Little Miss No Name up a while back at the Kane County Doll and Toy Show.  While her body and face were in great shape, her hair was a mess! The prized ‘tear’ that is usually lost to vacuum cleaners or couch cushions was included.  My mom isn’t quite sure if this is the real tear or not.  There are many imitation tears out there, believe it or not!  But this tear looks much better than some I have seen on Little Miss No Name, so even if it isn’t 100% real (which it still could be!), I think it looks great on her!

Before Her Re-Root

Before Her Re-Root

My mom requested a color that was similar to the pale blonde Little Miss No Name was manufactured with, yet different.  We settled on Nylon Butterscotch from Dollyhair.  Little Miss No Name took a total of four large Barbie hanks.  And in line with my other re-roots, required two orders of hair!  (One day, I’ll figure out how to order enough hair the first time!)

Almost There!

Almost There!

Here’s Little Miss No Name after the re-rooting was done and before the final come out and styling.

After the Re-Root

After the Re-Root

After the Re-Root, Close Up

After the Re-Root, Close Up

After the Re-Root- Medium

After the Re-Root- Medium

I really love how Little Miss No Name turned out!  The hair color works really well with her skin tone and lightens up her face a bit.  (We’ll be seeing more dolls with this, as I over ordered the color by 2 whole hanks!) The outfit was originally created for the BFC dolls, but fits Little Miss No Name very well!

Feel free to leave comments below!  I’d love to hear what you think of Little Miss No Name or this newest re-root!

February 17, 2013. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

17 Comments

  1. discodiva79 replied:

    WoW! That is AWESOME! You really did a great job-impressive. She is a keeper. Fake tear or not, she is shedding one because she is happy with her new do!!!!!!

  2. Maxine replied:

    Good job! It’s great on her and you’ve styled it waifish-urchin like which is so in keeping with her- ‘please take care of me’ original look. She’s ready to win hearts again.

  3. tinacrone replied:

    I got Little Miss No Name for Christmas when I was 5. I was upset that I didn’t get a cuddly, cute doll. She was scary and not exactly the doll I would carry around with me. She turned out to be the doll that all my other dolls teased and made fun of. I still have her and she is still wearing the original burlap dress. I lost the tear years ago.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Well, you must love her very much to have kept her all these years! 🙂

  4. Anonymous replied:

    Hate this doll! Gt it for a Christmas gift… Cruel thing to do to an orphan kid! I’m 50 yrs old and still hate that damn doll!

  5. gabby replied:

    I LOVE this doll!!! I’m obsessed with anything creepy and or scary and I just got into the whole doll thing. These are so cute and I want one so badly! Do you know where I could get one?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Ebay or doll shows are the best place to find Little Miss No Name. Keep in mind, they all have a short blonde bob. If you want her to have different hair, you’ll have to re-root her like I did on this one. 🙂

  6. Nancy Dufrenne replied:

    Hello there,

    would love to know HOW to re root Little Miss No Name- I have several with very bad hair. Can you help?
    Thanks bunches, Nancy

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I put together a video on how I re-root. You can find it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yNmfIRyC80 I find using the tool is the easiest method of re-rooting. If you’d prefer the more time consuming method (which some people swear by), read this: https://dollyconfessions.wordpress.com/2010/02/21/my-guide-to-re-rooting/

      If you have any questions, drop me a line at taps1223(at)sbcglobal(dot)net.

      • Anonymous replied:

        Thanks so much! I plan to buy from dolly hair the color ‘blueberry muffin’ 🙂 I think the color will show off her lovely eye lid color blue and her original tear. What do you think?

      • nancy dufrenne replied:

        Thank you so much for your help! And detailed tutorial. I plan to buy from dolly hair the re root tool and hair color ‘Blueberry Muffin’. Let’s wait & see how it works out. Cheers, Nancy

        • kewpie83 replied:

          Great choice! Re-rooting is easy. I’m sure she’ll turn out great!

  7. Beth Oeth replied:

    What length of hair do I order to reroo a LMNN

    • kewpie83 replied:

      For my re-roots, I only order the Barbie long length hank from Dollyhair. It’s easier to cut hair off than grow it! 😉

  8. Angele Ropp replied:

    I looked over some thing related to this post while browsing google news I became interested and started searching around, and then landed at this page anyway, I believe that I agree with what you cover here. However Im going to go check what additional information I can lookup too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback URI