Mattel Announces BTS Dolls

Heads up, K-Pop fans! Mattel recently announced that the incredibly popular world-renowned boy band BTS is headed to toy shelves this summer!

Per the official press release, “Under this multi-category license with BTS under its label, Big Hit Entertainment, Mattel will create dolls, collectible figures, games, and more. In the wake of sold out tours across the globe, the collaboration launches this summer with a first-ever BTS-inspired toy line created around the likenesses of the band’s seven members: RM, Jin, SUGA, j-hope, Jimin, V and Jung Kook. The dolls will be fashioned in the looks from the BTS’ iconic and YouTube record-breaking “IDOL” music video.” Note, the image below is just an image of BTS that I thought looked cool and may not reflect what they wear in IDOL. (I’m more of a k-drama fan than a k-pop fan!)

According to Billboard, Mattel stock increased by 8.26% following the announcement of this new line. Mattel VP and global brand general manager Sejal Shah Miller had this to say, “The cornerstone of our strategy is to partner with established franchises that have global appeal, and we believe that Mattel’s creative expertise will create a product that properly celebrates BTS.”

What do you think of this brand new collaboration? Are you excited?  Let us know in the comment area!

January 7, 2019. Tags: . Uncategorized.

10 Comments

  1. Taswegian1957 replied:

    Oh dear, I am getting old. I’ve never heard of them. However, if Mattel makes them in 1:6 scale and reproduce their likenesses well I think it will be a good thing both for collectors of celebrity dolls and for fashion doll collectors to have some decent looking male dolls. I’d be wishing for real hair not painted and articulation of course. Previous attempts at boy band dolls have not been that great but they have produced some good likenesses to movie stars in recent times.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I only know who they are b/c of my cousin who’s obsessed with them. 😉

  2. wendydirks replied:

    I’m excited! I know nothing about K-anything except I bought the new Asian male fashionista, dressed him in an outrageous suit and named him Jin. Just please, Mattel – don’t give them plastic hair!

  3. Valerie Ottley replied:

    Truly excited with this news. Good for Mattel’s stock. Let us know when they are ready to go. Looking forward to purchasing the dolls and figures. Thanks for the info.

  4. Holly replied:

    Awesome! I’m not a ~huge stan~ of BTS but I like their music well enough. It’s good that something exciting is happening! I’ll definitely be keeping a close eye on this.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Yes. The Barbie line definitely needs to amp up the excitement.

  5. Blackkitty replied:

    I have never heard of these guys but if they have real hair it will be a dream! I like the one with pink hair most of all.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback URI