Collector Spotlight- Ashley (aka me!)

Another month, another Collector Spotlight post!  It was always my plan for the second Collector Spotlight to give you a little more insight into myself and my collection.

I’ve been collecting in some way or another my entire life.  It is second nature to collect when you are raised by a collector!  I grew up in a home where the walls were lined with doll cases and honestly, it never bothered me in the least.  You can learn more about that collection in the premiere Collector Spotlight posted last month.  In fact, I grew up in a house that many people had dubbed the ‘creepy’ house because the large windows gave people a good view of the cases.

My collection really developed when I turned 16 and decided that of all the dolls around, I wanted to mainly collect Barbie’s Little Sister Skipper.  I chose Skipper for for a few reasons. First, I had received many Skippers for birthdays and christmas’.  Second, I identified with Skipper and loved the styles they’d put her in.  Looking back at the anime eye style Skipper’s, I still see aspects of my life and style in the 80’s!  Last, I just really loved her design.  And if you’re going to collect something, you should love it, not just like it!  That’s not to say that I don’t collect other dolls.  I do.  I have a lot of other kinds of dolls.  But my ‘showcase’ collection is Skipper’s.

My collection also includes ball jointed dolls, Monster High, Gene, Tonner, Madame Alexander, anime themed items, all things Doctor Who, wall art, My Little Ponies, etc.  When people ask me who I am, I always mention that I’m a collector.  It’s part of my identity now.  It’s who I am.

If I had to instill one thing to other collectors, it is this.  It doesn’t matter what others think of your collection.  If someone puts you down because of your doll collection, or any collection for that matter, don’t let it get you down.  You don’t collect for others, you collect for yourself.   Because it makes you happy.  Because you find joy in it.  That’s all that counts.

For a more in-depth look at my collection, I invite you to look at the gallery of pictures in this post.  I have many more pictures in the video portion of this Collector Spotlight, too!

My Walls of Dolls

My Walls of Dolls

My Skipper Case, Shelf 1

My Skipper Case, Shelf 1

My Skipper Case, shelf 2

My Skipper Case, shelf 2

My Skipper Case, shelf 3

My Skipper Case, shelf 3

My Skipper Case, shelf 4

My Skipper Case, shelf 4

Video Shoot Display

Video Shoot Display

Just Above my Skipper Case

Just Above my Skipper Case

My Madame Alexanders

My Madame Alexanders

More Dolls

More Dolls

High Shelves

High Shelves

My 'Museum' of Wall Art

My ‘Museum’ of Wall Art

Doctor Who

Doctor Who

My 'Victoria'

My ‘Victoria’

A selection of print material in my collection

A selection of print material in my collection

Plush

Plush

Me as a kid opening a Skipper Doll

Me as a kid opening a Skipper Doll

Barbie drives in style!

Barbie drives in style!

 

I did play with my dolls, but I never used marker or scissors on them!!!

I did play with my dolls, but I never used marker or scissors on them!!!

Aren't I cool?  :)

Aren’t I cool? 🙂

Just like last month’s post, this has a video element, too!  (I was a video major in school, so just go with it!)

Because this spotlight is on myself, feel free to post any questions you may have for me in the comment area and I’ll be sure to answer them!!!  I hope enjoyed this month’s Collector Spotlight!

May 18, 2013. Tags: . Uncategorized. 36 comments.