Dolly Re-Root: Little Miss No Name

At the last Kane County Doll and Toy Show we attended, my mom picked up two sweet Little Miss No Name‘s.  Both needed a little bit of work done in the hair department.  Recently, I finished the first of the two.  Since this Little Miss No Name came with her original tear, my mom wanted her hair color to be pretty similar to the factory color, meaning no chocolate hues or orange tints.

Original Head

Original Head

We searched Dolly Hair for a good color and decided upon White Chocolate.  White Chocolate is a very white blonde.  It’s a little lighter and fresher than what most factory Little Miss No Name’s wear today.  I used the same white blonde on my Young Delancy re-root a while back.

New Little Miss No Name

New Little Miss No Name

Little Miss No Name took roughly 5 hanks of hair, cut long for Barbie.  We only gave her hair a slight trim.  My mom, dolly stylist, decided on a simple hair style for this girl.

Comparision

Comparison- reroot vs factory

I really love how this Little Miss No Name turned out!  She looks so sweet with the long white blonde hair.  I know there are purists out there who probably think cleaning these up and giving them new life is a travesty, but I don’t agree with that at all!  These Little Miss No Name’s get a bad rap because of the poor shape many are in. But with a bit of TLC, they can be so beautiful!

Bye!

A tear of joy!

Have you done a dolly re-root recently?  What do you think of this re-root?  Share your thoughts below!

February 9, 2014. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

14 Comments

  1. Molly replied:

    Those are really interesting dolls, how does the tear stay in place, is it like a bead? The new hair looks great!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      It’s like a peg. You just push it into the hole under her eye and usually you can push it out. Originally, the tear was meant to be removable, but many owners glued it on in the end, which is why you find a lot that have the poor tear glued to their face!

  2. discodiva1979 replied:

    WoW! Impressive-you did an Excellent job. I think she looks great! I can’t believe you found 2 good eye! Aren’t they considered rare, HTF & pricey?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Well, I guess they are considered hard to find and many are pricey. However, if you look hard enough, there are usually a few nicely priced Little Miss No Name’s that just need a little bit of love!

  3. christina such replied:

    I love it! You did a great job. I still need a re-root tool and a place to buy the hair. I have a doll show that I am going to this Saturday and I hope I can find a doll that I can re-root. I would love a project like that to do. Have a great week.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      I highly recommend Dolly Hair. That’s where I get all my re-rooting supplies.

  4. jSarie replied:

    The new hair looks wonderful! And how impressive is it that she has her original tear! That must be incredibly hard to find!

    • kewpie83 replied:

      It definitely helped that we bought her from a vendor who came with a table of ‘boy’ toys that wasn’t exactly sure of her usual price point!

  5. Emily Hall replied:

    Super cute! She looks way better with the new hair. The only thing that I’m afraid of, do vintage dolls smell funny?

    • kewpie83 replied:

      It really depends on where the doll was kept. Some dolls do have a smell to them, especially if they were kept in storage or in a smokers home. It’s hit or miss, really!

  6. Nancyduf replied:

    Thank YOU so much for your tutorial re-root advice! Although too impatient to follow it all… I definitely will do a better & quicker job following you next time 😉

  7. Pattie Koziol replied:

    Were can I purchased this dress, the navy blue and white with anchor, I love it!
    Thank you
    Pattie

  8. Elchen1969 replied:

    Hello!
    Oh, it took me a moment, to find out, how to reply… Sorry!
    I find your stories very inspiring. If my English is bad, I´m sorry, I´m from Germany…
    A few days ago, I was looking around for dolls – I mostly collect dolls from the 60ies till the 70ies and mostly dolls with a function- and found a site, about Little Miss No Name, which told me the little poem, that was written on Little Miss No Names packaging. A while after that, I found you site…
    After owning Little Miss No Name for a few years and thinking, she was supposed to stay as a poor little girl, as she was sold, I was absolutely happy to see, how you gave her a new sense of life.
    Especially the glasses made her look like a little nerd, but not so much more as a very, very poor child.
    So, now I´ve ordered glasses as well, found some new clothes and shoes, styled her hair and I´m a lot happier with her.
    Especially, as, normally I always help dolls in need. Her leg was also broken.
    So, thank you for inspiring me.
    Bye for now,
    Elchen.

    • kewpie83 replied:

      Oh, your comment makes me so happy! I don’t understand why anyone would want to keep Little Miss No Name looking sad or poor. I’m so happy you decided to change her look! Did you see this video? My mom and I did it a few years ago. We show off all of our LMNN’s (though we’ve added a few since then)! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UJLZEZGkjc

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback URI